We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in pricey La Jolla”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford on Avon
2 reviews
“Good value for money in pricey La Jolla”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was a very pleasant 2 night stay en Route LA to San Diego late Aug 2013 for our family of 4( 2 adults, 1 x 17 year old and 1 x 12 year old).We chose the hotel for its competitive price, inclusive breakfast, and proximity to Windansea beach, and were not disappointed.

The breakfast was as described in previous posts and a good start to the day. The beach was a 5 min walk over the road and the manager lent us beach chairs and other beach equipment. The room was adjacent to the pool and had a clean Mediterranean feel to it, with a small but very pleasant pool area overlooked by the pleasant breakfast area. The cleaning staff were extremely friendly and willing to help.

The only slight negatives were a shortage of power points in the room, and a fairly helpful, but difficult to understand receptionist.

The online price booked in advance was around $160 per night, which was actually good for pricey La Jolla. It's nearest competitor is literally over the road for a very similar price but we were most pleased that we had chosen the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordonAvonGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear BradfordonAvonGary,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our value breakfast and location. Thank you for sharing your experience, we are very grateful for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to La Jolla.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
104
90
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were delighted to find this hotel just a short walk from the beautiful La Jolla coast. Our room was enormous, especially for California, and it was quite reasonable. We had a little kitchen, and it felt like a large studio apartment. We were there during cool weather, so we didn't try the pool. The breakfast room was large; there was good variety in the breakfast which included delicious cinnamon rolls. The colors and landscaping gave the whole place a great Southern California flavor that we wanted to savor as long as possible. Across the street is an excellent high-end consignment shop owned by a British couple. I would love to shop there again.

Room Tip: If you are on the top floor you can see the ocean from the landing. If you are on the ground floor y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Loricapress,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your family vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and location. Take 2 across the street is great. Hopefully you had an opportunity to shop at the boutiques in Downtown La Jolla while you were here. If not, I’m sure you’d enjoy them too.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife had recently stayed at HIE with my daughter and granddaughters. She had 1st book a room at the establishment across the street but it was dirty and had a really bad smell to it and then she had seen the Holiday Inn Express. When she came to the front desk at the hotel (Lanie) had greeted her with such hospitality and was very understanding of the situation. As I am a platinum member of HIE my wife was immediately upgraded. She said that the room was absolutely perfect for what she needed as far as the beds the foldout couch and the cleanliness. Before she had a chance to carry her things to the room (Arnulfo-Edward) was on hand to help get all the things upstairs.
I would like to thank Holiday Inn express for being so friendly and hospitable and taking care of my girls in such a professional manner. It seems that anywhere we've gone in the country the Holiday Inn express has always been one of the most reliable in price, cleanliness of your rooms with some of the friendliest and professional personnel. Thank you Holiday Inn express you always go above and beyond.

Room Tip: The room was absolutely perfect for what was needed as far as the beds and the foldout couch also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Ralph,

Thank for the wonderful review. Lanie and Edward strive to make a positive impact to our guest experience. I know they will be excited and delighted that their efforts put you at ease and made such a difference. Thank you so very much for sharing this experience and for your loyalty as an IHG Platinum Rewards member. Maybe you’ll have an opportunity to join the girls next time.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here in the mid week so is was not that busy. BF was ok, probably is better on the weekend. We had room 131 near the pool it was nice, but the bed was small for 2 people( we are petite). The toilet was so stink from the sewage and they used a lot of cleaning product when we first enter the room so we had to open the door and window for fresh air. The pool is small( if you expect to have a big pool go somewhere else). The people work here were nice and location near the beach. If you are tight on the budget it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Mr. T,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting La Jolla and for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room, cleanliness, location and value. I'll be sure to check and correct the smells you encountered in room 131.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here for 11 days days beginning the end of July with my husband and two sons who are 10 and 14. We really enjoyed ourselves. We had a room facing the pool and used the pool and hot tub almost every day we were there. Breakfast was included and it was just a basic breakfast. Breakfast would have been better if there was more than just bananas for the fruit choice. The staff are super nice. From the front desk ladies, cleaning staff and all the maintenance gentlemen. I can not fault them on anything. I had a room with two double beds. It was big enough for our needs. It had a separate fridge and microwave area, which I liked. The only downside was the bathroom. The handle on the toilet was cracked and I looked like it was going to break, we had to be super careful. The shower has a half glass pane and does not close. This was the only downside. It was hard to keep the shower water from splattering everywhere and the bathroom floor would end up wet :( There was also a frequent clicking noise or some noise from the fridge area or a possible a vent, which at times I found irritating. The location is great as it only a few minutes walk to the beach or a twenty minute walk to the seals. Leaving the parking lot, please be careful when you turn left as it is a very sharp left and people do not slow down there. The laundry room came in very handy, especially after a day at the beach. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again!

Room Tip: The cinnamon buns at breakfast are really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Penelope,

Thank you so very much for great review, we sure appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, service and cleanliness. Thank you for letting me know about the handle and the click. I apologize for not catching it before you. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us during your holiday. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our room smelled like sweaty socks, it was the worst....so I told the front desk, they apologized and gave me a spray bottle of vanilla Febreze, I had to sleep with windows open as the smell was terrible. The couch also had some stains on it, so that with the smell, just didn't make me feel very comfortable at all, after that everything just felt dirty. After the 2nd day, having the windows open, the smell wasn't as strong, but it was still there near the bathroom. Half of the electric outlets didn't work in the bedroom, but the ones worked in living room. The bath had been updated & it was nice & I liked the kitchenette, too but I never got over the initial sweaty smell, I think it was the carpet as it felt damp near the bathroom. Don't plan on using pool or spa after dark, they do not turn on the lights to the pool & they start taking the cushions away early, around 8-8:30 pm, and towels were always gone, so bring a room towel or your own with you to pool. If they had new flooring & if the room smelled as good as the front office, it would have been a good value for price paid, but it was hard to get over a sweaty smell. Ask to smell the room before you check in. Breakfast was awesome & the grounds were very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Sheryl,
I am very happy we were able to communicate via email. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is not a typical Holiday Inn. The property is older. Our room could use fresh paint as there were many spots where the paint had been scraped. We had a suite which was everything we liked but pretty small. It was hard to get around sofabed once opened. The sofabed matress was really sagging and the sheets looked really worn. Our room had a queen bed and 2 night stands. Nothing else would fit I suppose. For the whole suite there was one dresser and a really small closet. For us four, we had stuff everywhere. The bathroom was odd with a shower with a window right next to it. Yes, it had privacy glass, but the window faces a walkway. Felt weird.
Now, if you are still reading, it's greatest asset is location!!!! My husband was soooo happy about the Mexican food restaurant across the street and the beach just a block away. It is more of a surfing beach, but we often strolled with kids after dinner. Downtown La Jolla is super close and our favorite thing to do was visit Kellogg Park for its beach (perfect for younger kids).
Housekeeping seemed to be spotty, sadly. Everyday they left us with no more than 3 bath towels, sometimes 2. One day they left no washcloths at all or tissue box. Twice they didn't clean our coffeemaker. I hated having to come back to the room, check for towels and call the front desk EVERYDAY. Front desk was always apologetic and sent some up. Room keys sometime work, but if you take them to front desk they will get u new ones.
If you can get beyond all that, it is a really nice place to stay. Pool and courtyard are very charming. Nice, newer tvs. Decent breakfast too! Bargain for La Jolla!

Room Tip: Rooms not around the pool may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank All4TheKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear All4TheKids,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and grateful for the recommendation. Please accept my apology for our housekeeping shortcomings; we’ll get to work on that right away.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
834 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
877 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing