We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“....and I almost didn't stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“....and I almost didn't stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We arrived at this pretty, not large motel. The desk clerk was not very happy to see us, though. We were clearly interrupting her reading. That was a big disappointment and a worry. I want people to be happy to see me when I am giving them my money! But after a long trip, we decided to take a room at least for the night.
The room was in the courtyard of a very inviting pool area. Nice landscaping, plenty of attractive pool side furniture. The room itself was spacious, had microwave and refrigerator. The décor was low key and calming. Nice window treatments without fabric. I like that. The shower was really nice, like a spa, natural colored tiles, glass panel. No shower curtain to worry about, and we all know how grody they get! Room very clean. Bed linens were fresh and did not smell like tobacco smoke as they often do. Downside, the lighting was very dim.
The beds were firm, I was at first put off by that, but slept very well for the entire stay.
The breakfast was adequate, but skip the "eggs".
Everyone else, succeeding desk clerks, maintenance, housekeeping, breakfast room lady so pleasant and helpful. Always had a greeting and a smile. No request was too much.
We were treated very well in a very nice place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junezelno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear junezeino,

Thank you the review. We are so glad you decided to stay. Your account of the accommodations, facilities and our team, save reception, describe perfectly what we offer and attempt to accomplish every day. Please accept my sincere apology for the unwelcoming behavior you encountered at reception. I am grateful that you shared this experience because I may now correct the behavior and eliminate the disappointment you encountered for our future guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again during your next visit to La Jolla.
Best regards,
Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
102
89
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Its a run down hotel right at the other end of La Jolla. Very small and basic rooms, low lighting and very few restaurants around. Its a long walk to La Jolla cove and the lively stretch of restaurants, bars and shops. Its almost impossible to get cabs around though there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. The swimming pool is small, breakfast was average and on the whole not a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear sk18,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. I apologize that our quaint hotel located 2 blocks from one of the most beautiful beaches in San Diego did not meet your expectations for location. We continually maintain the property ensuring that everything is fresh, clean and in working order. I would like to learn more regarding the condition you reported so that it may be corrected immediately.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
858.454.7101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday and had a great experience. Zakia at the front desk was very sweet and helpful, since it was my husband's birthday she offered us a complimentary suite upgrade which we really appreciated :) (and gave us a late check out).
We had a great time staying at this property, the location was great, especially since it is within walking distance to the beach, and the staff was very helpful. Zakia made our stay even better by recomending good places to visit and overall being very friendly and genuinely pleasant.
We will definetly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenoritaSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear SenoritaSully,
Thank you very much for sharing your Great Stay experience and for acknowledging the service you received from Zakia at the front desk. We take great pride in assuring our guests comfort and satisfaction. I know Zakia will be delighted to hear how her effort had such an impact on your visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Best regards,
Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Room was small. The most disappointing thing was the pillows. I have never seen such terrible pillows. I am glad we at lest had our own pillow cases with us. Lighting in the bathroom was weird. It was like a night lamp. Location was good. Very close to the beach. There is one catch though, you have to imagine the street noise as it was the waves from the ocean in order to be able to sleep. Breakfast was average, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NefiseYavuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear NefiseYavuzer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. It is good to hear that your enjoyed our location near the beach. We certainly do not strive to be average. I am very sorry that this was your experience. I’ve taken serious note of comment regarding the pillows and we are inspecting the condition of each.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was slightly disappointing. We requested two beds, but when we arrived early, we were told they only had a room with one bed. The room was small. The bed was not comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom was not sufficient. The breakfast was standard; coffee, eggs, bacon, biscuits/gravy.

On the other hand, the location is great. Its very close to downtown La Jolla; shopping, eating, drinking. Its about 2-3 blocks away from the ocean. The Point Loma Lighthouse and Cabrillo National Monument is about a 30 minute drive.

If you can handle an uncomfortable bed, the location makes up for the rest.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Megnolia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Megnolia07,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment. From what I gather, you did not reserve a room with two beds. Please know that we attempt to honor every request. We had many families visit over the holidays enjoying our great weather and the two bedded rooms were a hit. I’d love to discus this with you further so that I may address the room issues you described as well as my assumption. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and hope that we have an opportunity to serve you in the future.
Best regards,
Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We recently arrived at this property from Palm Springs to be told rudely by Zakia at the front desk that she had cancelled our confirmed reservation and that the hotel was "sold out". I was shocked and asked for an explanation. She alternated stories between an allegation that our credit card hadn't gone through (why it would have been run before we arrived is not clear) and that we arrived too late (7pm). Our credit card is and was in fine working order. I asked why I wasn't called about any alleged issue before cancelling the reservation and Zakia stated that she had called me earlier that day on my cell phone (she had correct number). I hadn't received any calls. Still stunned as we soon had dinner reservations and no where to stay I asked for the manager's number and help finding another hotel--Zakia refused saying "we don't do that". I told her that I had never been treated like this at a Holiday Inn and then went out to the car and confirmed that my cell phone had received no calls from the hotel.

I further went online and found that there were rooms still available that night--at a much higher rate than I had booked (after being expressly told they were sold out)! I immediately called Zakia back (I had the manager's card) and said no one had called my phone and demanded to know when she had called me and then she stated that in fact she hadn't called "personally" but allegedly another staff member had. As my phone showed this was not true. Then as I started to raise the issue about rooms available she rudely hung up on me. This was outrageous as I had remained calm and polite in the manner of my interaction with her.

I believe this hotel may have a practice of cancelling reservations confirmed at lower rates (we had ours for weeks in advance) when they are close to selling out in order to maximize profit from latecomers who pay much higher rates. Buyer (or in this case Holiday Inn Express La Jolla guests) beware. Beyond this, Zakia was so incredibly rude I was left in a stunned state when I left the hotel, having never been treated so badly (including being lied to) by a front-desk attendant before. Very disappointing experience as we were looking forward to a visit to La Jolla and could only find accommodations (fortunately) elsewhere before returning home. Our short vacation was ruined.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foliesdecognac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear foliesdecognac,

As a fellow IHG Employee, there are many avenues available to you to voice and correct any perceived service or reservation inadequacies. Choosing a public forum to raise these issues is disappointing. However, I am grateful for the opportunity to address your warning to our future guests. It is absurd to cancel a reservation, including an employee rate, in order to resell the accommodation. We have a reservation guarantee and had we not been able to honor your reservation, we provide a complimentary night at a nearby hotel. Not only does this not increase profit, it hurts it in the future. After we sell our last room, we authorize the credit cards on the day of arrival that are used to confirm the reservations. If the credit card can not be charged, it is not reasonable to expect us to hold a room. It is our practice during this extremely rare situation to phone, assist with alternate accommodations and to remain friendly and helpful throughout. I apologize that this did not occur, and I am very disappointed with the lack of care and courtesy you received. I would love the opportunity to discuss this situation with you further and can be reached at 858.454.7101.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

On a business trip and stayed in the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Beach. I arrived very late on a Sunday evening but no problem with check in and given water, crisps and cereal bar on arrive...which oddly after a days travel was very welcome. Room was OK in size, desk, fridge, iron etc. Bathroom had a great shower but no bath in my room.....not sure if that is common throughout hotel. There's a pool on site.....outside and small but looked OK. Breakfast was coffee and help yourself with cereal and bread etc.....nothing fancy but sets you up for the rest of the day. Hotel location was very close to the beach 5 min walk which I did in the morning before 07:00AM......and it looked fab. Big waves, surfers already out and sandy beaches. A little different to home! I paid $50 in a taxi from airport to hotel...possibly over the odds but $40 - $50 sound OK.

Room Tip: I guess some rooms might back onto the road....or you might before a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJ262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear SJ262013,
Thank you for being an IHG Elite Rewards member (we provide a welcome amenity to all elite members upon arrival). I believe we have the perfect location for a business trip. We are centrally located with a short drive time to any San Diego location and a short walk to the beach which is great when you find a few minutes away from work. We eliminated our tubs during our last renovation. However, added a whirlpool tub to our largest suite. Your taxi fare is in line with the current average.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast, bath and location. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla and for choosing to stay with us during your visit. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to our area.
Best regards,
Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing