We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It is by no means a very high end hotel but the comfort level, cleanliness and general state of the hotel is very nice. Currently the hotel is going through major renovations to its parking area but they are offering free valet parking or you can park on the road anywhere around the hotel for free (an easier option we chose). It was a pleasant change to stay in this hotel from the usual boxxy hotels one stays in. La Jolla is a very nice area with beaches and the ocean next to it. The hotel is walking distance to the beach and ocean. Only complaint would be that the room we were in didn't have a desk even though the room could have accommodated one. Overall, very happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear kraver,

Thank you so very much for the excellent review and visitor tips. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and uniqueness. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
lclark@pacificahost.com
858.454.7101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
104
89
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I visited about a month ago. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was small but decorated nicely. My room was quiet, it was on the courtyard. I enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard each day. The parking lot was under construction, valet was easy to use.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Jauna,

Thanks so much for the delightfully pleasant comments about the hotel. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
lclark@pacificahost.com
858.454.7101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

it was my first time there and I am real very satisfied from the whole experience. All the staff trying to help and eventhough they renovate the parking the valet parking was exceptional. Congradulations to every body. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi le048,

We hope it's the first of many! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the very nice review. We are all delighted to read about your experience.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
858.454.7101
lclark@pacificahost.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was clean, breakfast was great every morning, and the pool area was very nice. We also enjoyed the bottled water that was available to guests in the courtyard! Walking distance to Wind and Sea Beach and only a short drive to downtown La Jolla.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear ketadog,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the great review. I love reading that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
lclark@pacificahost.com
858.454.7101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel during one week. At the beginning our room was too noisy (near the road) but we changed for a room much more quite. All the Staff is very helpful and friendly. Pool is very nice and complimentary breakfast is delicious.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: those on the right aisle (inside) are much better, less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLANCHE1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Blanche1984,

Thank you for the recommendation and for choosing to stay with us while on holiday.
We are all very happy that you were able to get comfortable and that you enjoyed the staff, breakfast and pool. We look forward to welcoming you back when your journeys bring you to this area again.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
858.454.7101
lclark@pacificahost.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno valley
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First off, their parking lot is under construction and we had to park in this ghetto alley or valet said they would park our car arcoss the street in a dirt field...so we just took our chances with the alley. they didn't even bother telling us about this while making reservations. we get to our room. Everything is dirty. The floor is filthy the couch and the chairs were so disgussing I had to lay a blanket over them to sit down. There's rips all throughout the furniture. Our room was a "suite" and it came with a little kitchenette. And the refrigerator didn't even work. Then I'm wanting to shower and see the shower head is covered in green water build up. It doesn't look like it's ever been cleaned! I was so disgusted to even touch the floor I layed towels down in the shower. And to top it off, this place is on one of the busiest streets so we could barely sleep because of all the traffic. The location is great but I would NEVER stay here again. I bet motel 6 is cleaner that this place. Service was great but that doesn't make up for the fact that is place is a ghetto version of motel 6. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommaBear18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear MommaBear18,

It was nice speaking to you moments ago while you were departing. Again, I thank you for the opportunity to make things right and to have any deficiencies corrected prior to releasing the room again.

I immediately inspected the Studio Suite you occupied and would be remiss if I did not mention that I did not find the room in the condition you indicated except for the leak under the kitchenette sink. The plumbing was tightened to eliminate the leak.

Please accept my renewed apology for not meeting your expectations.

Best regards,


Larry Clark
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
858.454.7101
lclark@pacificahost.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice hotel 1 block from the beach. Very clean rooms and convenient location. Breakfast was great in their courtyard. Staff was also very friendly and nice. Parking was easy. WIll definetly stay again when in La Jolla.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanmanjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear TanManJT,

The weather has been terrific. Sure makes for great beach weather at WindanSea beach and relaxing breakfasts in the courtyard. We are all delighted that you had and enjoyable stay and look forward to your return.

Best regards,


Larry Clark
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
858.454.7101
lclark@pacificahost.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing