We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch spectacular!”
Review of Osteria Romantica

Osteria Romantica
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Romantica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,242 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch spectacular!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I can't wait to go back for a full dinner and wine. Great, great, great food and service! Love the outdoor seating, perfect in San Diego summertime!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    83
    24
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My fiance and I ate here on a short vacation. It was very busy, and we were very hungry. It looked good, so we waited about 20-25 minutes for a table. We sat outside. First, the hostess was not very warm. She was also dressed kind of questionable-- VERY short shorts, showing the bottom of her butt! Our table had previously been occupied by a family with a baby who had thrown food everywhere, and it was not cleaned very well for us after they had left. There was still food the chairs and on the floor all underneath. There was also still sauce on our table, so I asked the hostess if she would wipe out table again. She walked away, but came back to clean it without saying anything. We were given waters and bread quickly, but had to wait quite a bit for a server to come by and take our order. Our food took a long time to come out. Other tables were getting very upset over how long their food was taking. Luckily, we ordered a few quick appetizers, like calamari, so ours did not take so long. But, it definitely should not have taken that long for any of the food. We ordered quite a bit of food, but it taste just ok. The potatoes and vegetables for our dinners were cold/luke warm. Servers did not come by and check on us regularly, luckily we are not the type to complain. Actually, we are not sure who our server was. He kept disappearing. Actually, more of the staff kept disappearing somewhere. Regardless, we tipped the one server/busser? who seemed to help us most, and made sure he got the money for his service. No one else deserved it. My fiance was very disappointed. I didn't want it to ruin our wonderful day, so I tried to keep in from being upset over our dinner. Sadly, we felt our experience was a waste of a dinner and money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinuko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abita Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentically Italian”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stopped here for dinner on a Sunday, during our California trip. What a wonderful surprise to find an Authentic Italian place with great service and great food at a moderate price! We sat outside enjoying the sunset ting as we sipped our Pinot noir and dined on delicious lasagna and eggplant Parmesan. The server offered additional grated Italian cheeses for our dishes. The food was excellent and tasted freshly made, the bread and marinara sauce brought to your table immediately upon arrival was delicious as well. The menu is moderately priced butI wouldn't recommend this for families with young kids as many of the patrons are couples trying to enjoy a romantic dining experience but it offers a most enjoyable evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EVENING MEAL”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Friendly Italian waiter. Eating outside on the pavement. Great menu. Lovely food. Good prices. Magic

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank djt12488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place with very nice people!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Having dinner tonight with my girlfrend and the people are really nice, food is great And the ambience was great. Prices are normal and not only tourists.

If you like italian food, go!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Romantica also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Osteria Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing