We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee shop in La Jolla” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brick & Bell Cafe

Brick & Bell Cafe
Ranked #49 of 1,238 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop in La Jolla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Peter the owner begins each day baking everything fresh. So go early when everything is just out of the oven, The Brazilian crew is lively and lovely. They have an excellent açaì bowl- real Brazialian açaì - and the granola they bake and add to it -- is amazing. The best granola ever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    37
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Cranberry Scones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I went to high school down the street from Brick & Bell and I used to stop here to get coffee and breakfast before class. They make very good flavored lattes such as vanilla lattes or gingerbread lattes. They make the drinks very quick. I could be in and out in 5-7 minutes.
My absolute favorite thing about Brick & Bell is their scones. All the flavors are wonderful but cranberry is the best.
The salads and sandwiches are really good too.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

An early riser, it is great to get good coffee and freshly baked scones at 6 a.m. Peter is always the genial and helpful host, the young staff hardworking and cheerful. Lunch sandwiches and soups are very good. The patio is a great place to sit and enjoy the Village. Great place as a more than once a day stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wess19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We recently visited family in La Jolla and as we were walking the ocean beach, they asked what we wanted for breakfast! They pulled out their phone and placed the order. We finished our walk and drove to the cutest cafe where our order was waiting for us! The Acai Bowls were amazing! The scones were so delicious (especially the caramel or blueberry ones-but I had no favorite- they were all delicious! The coffee smelled and tasted great! We ordered breakfast everyday after our walk on the beach-and each time it was ready for us and amazingly delicious! You can't go to La Jolla without checking out the Brick and Bell Cafe! We took it to go, but you can eat in with a wonderful atmosphere! A must do!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved Brick & Bell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently visited La Jolla. We found Brick & Bell cafe & decided to give it a try for breakfast. So glad we did!! The coffee is wonderful, scones are outstanding & very friendly staff as well!! The maple scones were my favorite!! We liked it so much we went there every morning of our trip & even took some goodies for the plane ride home!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvFoodFunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brick & Bell Cafe also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Brick & Bell Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing