We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer-Brined Pork Chops... Amazing”

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Ranked #18 of 1,240 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Downey, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beer-Brined Pork Chops... Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The pork chops are a MUST TRY... the service was great. Loved the beer sampler flight that accompanied the meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CycoPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    161
    41
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice bar and bartender”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Bartender very helpful with other beer places to visit. Had a good shrimp sandwich, beer, and my wife liked the sparkling wine splits.
Delicious beers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nasty Appetizers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

After eating some seriously gross appetizers and one round of drinks, we hit the road. The fondue was not fondue. It was a small cast iron pot filled with some sort of cheese dip that wasn't very fondue like at all. The carne asada fries were pretty gross, too. Way way way too spicy and that was coming from a guy who loves to turn up the heat. The drinks were great though. My man loved the beer he got, and my vodka cocktail was made just how I like it. I liked that they bring put beer samples with the food you choose though, that was cool. Even though the food wasn't good, the beer did pair well. I wouldn't say don't go here, just try something else!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlittaShimma00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Flat iron delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Best I've had in a long time. Mashed potatoes and gravy make this my all time favorite. When asked where I wanted to go for a mother's day meal,I never hesitated a moment. Strauss always has something for everyone and pleasant staff as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhaley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location in La Jolla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great place to have a beer and a delicious meal. Staff is very friendly. Loved the Nacho Stack! We always come back when we are in SD...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bijoux83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing