We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Dining and so much more!”

Karl Strauss Brewing Company
Ranked #20 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pub Dining and so much more!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visited Karl Strauss on June 13, 2014 and had an amazing meal. Flat Iron steak was excellent, you could cut it with a fork! Blackened Salmon was mouth watering. Presentation of dishes was excellent, and service was spot on! Waiter made beer and wine pairing suggestions for our meals, took his suggestion and was so glad I did. Excellent time here; with lots going on, made for a fun evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveF9587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    169
    43
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Beer & Great Family Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ended up at this place twice on our last trip to La Jolla. The beer was good and the food/beer parings were very nice. The kids loved the burgers, Mac & Cheese and the pizza. It was definitely a restaurant that everyone could agree on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beer-Brined Pork Chops... Amazing”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The pork chops are a MUST TRY... the service was great. Loved the beer sampler flight that accompanied the meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CycoPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice bar and bartender”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Bartender very helpful with other beer places to visit. Had a good shrimp sandwich, beer, and my wife liked the sparkling wine splits.
Delicious beers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nasty Appetizers”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

After eating some seriously gross appetizers and one round of drinks, we hit the road. The fondue was not fondue. It was a small cast iron pot filled with some sort of cheese dip that wasn't very fondue like at all. The carne asada fries were pretty gross, too. Way way way too spicy and that was coming from a guy who loves to turn up the heat. The drinks were great though. My man loved the beer he got, and my vodka cocktail was made just how I like it. I liked that they bring put beer samples with the food you choose though, that was cool. Even though the food wasn't good, the beer did pair well. I wouldn't say don't go here, just try something else!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlittaShimma00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewing Company also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing