We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A (Decent)Last Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Inn La Mesa
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A (Decent)Last Resort”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Clean rooms with fresh paint. Dated furnishings from the '80's. Rooms open into the noisy parking lots with multi-cultural arguments extending into the wee hours. People sleeping in cars because their debit cards were refused. If it hadn't been 2am this would never have been on my radar.

Room Tip: Right off the interstate. Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyBoyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
First I would like to thank you for providing us with a review. The staff and management regret not completely fulfilling your expectations, but we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With regard to the noise, some customers unfortunately do not consider the impact they have on the comfort of other guests and we apologize for the disruption. As result we are currently in the process of expanding the hours of our security service and our staff is always available to respond to noise complaints.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Connie Flores
General Manager
Heritage Inn, La Mesa
cflores@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    7
    16
    31
See reviews for
21
14
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What an awful experience - my daughter & I arrived around 8pm to check in & got served through a bullet-proof window because they would not let anyone in the reception area. Judging by the other guests I could see why-it was just like a shady motel you see in the movies where there are ladies-of-the-night, junkies & people selling drugs. After seeing our grubby, smelly room located at the back of the hotel with badly lit, stained corridors we told the people at the front desk we could not stay & were going to find something else. They told us that we would still have to pay for a nights stay. They then moved us to a ground floor office right next to reception & opposite the pool where we figured as long as there were people around we would be safe. The room was a bit cleaner - thank goodness we had our own water because we had visions of dead bodies or other horrible things in the ice-maker machine
Got the giggles when we saw that they offered room service..........if you phoned Dominos :0)
We also got the giggles wondering if the Breakfast Included would mean a Pop-Tart being shoved under the bullet-proof window by the unfriendly clerk
Did not venture out of the room till day break and hightailed out of there before 6.30am
Would never recommend this place to anyone, not even my worst enemy

Room Tip: If you have to stay there get a room close to the parking lot so you can make a fast escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. Please accept my apologies for having taken so long to email you back. The housekeeping staff is committed to continuously increasing the standards of cleanliness to match and exceed the expectations of our valued guests. In addition, our complimentary fresh-brewed coffee/tea and pastries are available in the lobby during the morning hours for your enjoyment. I can assure you that the property location is safe and the hotel is properly secured. The staff and management regret not having completely fulfilled your expectations and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Connie Flores
General Manager
Heritage Inn, La Mesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Shady clientele, had to call 2 early mornings (2 am) due to next door had several people 'visiting' the room, they also had 2 little toddlers and a dog, was approached for solicitation, police called to premises almost every night of our 17 night stay, 3 available outlets in room, fluctuation of water temperature for shower, noisy, over priced for what you get. Continental breakfast - nothing to write home about :( Pool and hot tub shut down due to state law for ADA compliance. :( Internet problems not communicated from over night shift to day manager

Room Tip: Not here. Not worth money saved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sadibooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
To one of our valued guest: Let me start by thanking you for having taking the time to provide us with your review on your stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfactory. We took your feedback to heart and have been focusing on improving our amenities. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Connie Flores - General Manager
Heritage Inn La Mesa
cflores@heritagehotelgroup.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The hotel was a good place to come with kids and groups .Room look like a motel 6 room as you can see in the picture maybe some up dating is needed .
The location of the room was good for us because it was next to the track where the Soap Box Derby races were being held.

Room Tip: right by the freeway , not a bad place to stay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roldanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
To our Former Guest: Please accept my sincere apologies for having taken so long in e-mailing you back. Let me start by thanking you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to send a review regarding your stay at our property
Staff & Management are simply delighted to learn that our efforts to make your stay a pleasant and comfortable one fulfilled your expectations, we thank you very much for giving us such encouraging points your feedback is much appreciated, this information is used to improve our Customer Service and focus on other general issues. We hope to see you again.
If we can be of assistance in the near future please do not hesitate to contact us at: 619 698 9444.
Again, thank you. Have a nice day!
Sincerely,
Connie Flores - General Manager
Heritage Inn La Mesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I checked in late on a Friday night and at about 1:30 am I noticed something crawling on the comforter. I looked again and there were bed bugs on the comforter on both beds. I was moved right away to the first floor from the second floor. The night lady seemed shocked that this happened however the lady in the morning seemed far too casual about it. They refunded the second night and said only a manager could refund the night I actually stayed. I left my number Saturday morning, Saturday night, and Monday morning, and haven't received a call.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CherylS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie F, General Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel. It is because of guests like yourself that we become aware of issues and are able to correct them to ensure all of our guests enjoy their experience here at the Heritage Inn.

We take reports of bed bugs very seriously and perform routine test to make sure that our rooms are free of any infestations. Additionally, our property was randomly inspected for such instances and we are pleased to report that we have always passed with flying colors.

Of course, if you are uncomfortable in the room you are assigned we are always more than happy to move you to another room and investigate any issue.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future. If we can be of further assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us at 619-698-9444.

Sincerely,

Connie Flores
General Manager
Heritage Inn, La Mesa
cflores@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The room smelled so nasty, and gross. The room looked like it had never been updated. Over priced, this was my first and last time staying there. To be honest this was one of the most ugly and gross hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie F, Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Marie Colton:
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to give us yor comments regarding your recent stay at our property, also please accept my sincere apologies for taking so long in e-mailing you back. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations, please know we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving, it is our hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Thank you again for your comments and have a nice day!
Connie Flores
Manager
Heritage Inn La Mesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Front desk people are very rude, On our 1st night we ask for extra pillow, they did not have any but the way front desk people talk extremly rude to us, next morning arount 8:30am i called and request for some extra pillow & fresh towel for our 2nd night stay, arount 8pm we came back to our room no extra pillow, also no fresh towel, so i called front desk 1st they hank up my son's call then after waiting over 5 minute they hang up my call, so i call back very disappointed, no answer why the did not do the room service or have some extra pillow,i ask for some fresh towel i have to go at the front desk to get it,,,,very poor service(i should say they have no service at all)
Nafiz

Room Tip: i will not recomended even to my enemy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IVEYNAFIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie F, Manager at Heritage Inn La Mesa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Ivey Nafiz:
Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your stay at our property.
Please accept my apologies for the unexcusable delay before e-mailing you back.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 619 698 9444.
SIncerely,
Connie Flores
Heritage Inn La Mesa
cflores@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
0.7 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.9 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn La Mesa

Property: Heritage Inn La Mesa
Address: 7851 Fletcher Pkwy, La Mesa, CA 91942-2079
Region: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Inn La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing