We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here for one night. Had a room facing the freeway, and it was loud traffic noise all night. It's a convenient location due to the freeway access, friendly staff, decent room with coffee maker, fridge, adequate bathroom. Did not have breakfast because we got there too late, but our traveling companions said it wad good. Other than the traffic noise I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear jd068,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry your stay was disturbed by the ambient noise surrounding the hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    76
    39
    19
    23
See reviews for
125
57
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I choose this hotel when traveling to San Diego to visit family due to a death. Seems a bit tired, a little maintance is needed. Staff was friendly and efficient. Probably wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Chad M,

Thank you for your review and for your stay. I am sorry that we fell below your expectations. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was there for several days and it's location is great for getting around San Diego. Easy freeway access. Rooms are clean and reasonably spacious. Staff was helpful. The computer in the lobby was great for checking emails and making plane reservations. Complimentary breakfast was good, although wish they had more items for those watching their weight, i.e. hard boiled eggs, and unsweetened ice tea. I like cold beverages in the morning and orange juice/ lemonade/ apple juice all have sugar.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably about the same. It is close to the highway so there is road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitzyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel is old with single glazed windows that open all the way with no screens. I could have jumped out of my 3rd floor window had I felt so inclined.

Despite being at the back of the hotel we had a lot of freeway noise in the night and several fire alarms had us out of bed after 2 am.

Service by staff was passable, however someone did respond to my fire alarm complaint on twitter so that says something.

If you want a great HIX in San Deigo go with the Downtown/Old Town one.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is fairly nice. Room seemed clean, loved having firm + soft pillows on the bed. The breakfast was fine (scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravey, toast, bagels, fresh cinnamon rolls. There were also some pancakes.
The windows were not sound proof enough. Heard cars on freeway all night.
There is a great Anthony's seafood restaurant just across the parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The quality of this hotel is well below average. For the price I paid I expected a hotel slightly above average but this Holiday Inn seemed closer to motel standards. I'm used to high quality hotels, so maybe I'm just being biased, but this place looked like a dump in many ways. The TV didn't have movie-purchase ability, it was just a regular TV so that was my first hint that something wasn't quite on the mark. Overall, I guess this hotel would've been okay if it had cost half as much. But for that price... It was a rip off.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bec h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyteam11, Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately, we do not have movie purchasing ability, however it is something we are looking into. Typically Express hotels do not have the movie purchasing feature, however full service Holiday Inns do. We hope to be able to provide this option in the near future.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward to accommodating your future travel needs.
Thank you,

Tanaja Potts
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed at the HI Express - La Mesa for four nights while I was on a business trip. Maybe I was the last person to check-in for the single queen-sized bedroom. Regardless, I got the WORST room, which overlooked I-8. The hotel might as well be sitting in the middle of highway because the traffic buzzing by was incredibly loud. They really should invest in sound-proof windows. Anyway, the second I walked into my room, the loud noises were apparent. I called the front desk to see if I could switch right away. "I didn't touch anything, I promise!" I pleaded. She said everything was booked but she'd make a note of it and get me into another room as soon as possible. She gave me a sound machine, so my sleepless night was filled with sounds of ocean waves, then drizzling rain, and gear-changing trucks. The next day, I asked for another room, but once again everything was booked and the front desk lady said she'd make a note of it. I bought ear plugs at the nearby Walmart - that helped a little bit. Then, finally, the morning of my third day I was able to switch to a fourth floor room toward the back of the hotel. The front desk held my bags the whole day while I was on assignment and placed them in my new room for me - that was a nice touch. The paint might have been peeling a little bit but - thank goodness - I could sleep soundly! Once I switched rooms, everything else was great. Maria was very helpful in making my room switch happen.
The breakfast was yummy (warm cinnamon rolls and pancakes), the rooms were a little musty, and it's definitely not worth the price they charge. The hotel is owned and operated by Happy Team, Inc. Not sure if that's why it's not the new and clean HI Express that I'm used to, but their staff sure are happy...and some of them are even helpful!
Good luck if you book a room here. It's like a lottery system, and if they say your room number is 204, don't take the keys and run far, far away! You're better off sleeping under a highway bridge - at least that's free!

Room Tip: Check-in early and request a room that doesn't face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoeurVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.4 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
2.8 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
3.6 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego

Property: Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Address: 9550 Murray Drive, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego nestled centrally in San Diego La Mesa. We are just off the 8 Freeway and minutes away from SDSU, Grossmont Center, Grossmont Hospital, Downtown La Mesa and El Cajon. We strive to provide the perfect accommodations for our ideal guests: the business traveler, the small family, the sports team, and the corporate group. Our new rooms have the most comfortable bedding and pillows. Lie down, open up your laptop, and enjoy our stellar Wi-Fi while you enjoy over 200 HD channels on our 42-inch flat screens displaying the best of DirecTV(R) programming. Take a hot shower or bath, enjoy a hot breakfast, and enjoy the best of San Diego. We would love to see you! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (Sdsu Area) Hotel La Mesa
Holiday Inn La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing