We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money on this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We would not stay at this hotel again! The room itself was fine...quite large and nice to have a microwave and fridge. However, the bathroom was dirty and there was black mold behind the wallpaper that was peeling in there. We would not bathe our kids in there...showers only. The walls are paper thin and we had the joy of staying next to a very rowdy group who came home just before 2 in the morning and kept the party going until almost 4. We were then woken by the family on the other side who had young children who were up quite early. The air conditioner is old and very difficult to regulate. Also be sure that if you are going to stop for breakfast that you get there before 9. Breakfast is "served" until 9:30 but when we went down at 9:10 one morning most of the food was gone and we were told that she would not put anymore food out. At this point the breakfast room was full of families who were expecting a good breakfast and were met with very few options and a rude reception by the girl working in there. There is also not fruit offered at this breakfast. Had we not paid in advance for this hotel we would have checked out after the first night. This is an old run down hotel that has nothing to offer except for the price. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Alpmn,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were 4 people and they gave us a bed and a sofa bed . the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable with no mattress on it. There was a certain employee who was very unhelpful and unconcerned. I definitely wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangeeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear dangeeso,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the room conditions that did not meet your expectations. I want to to assure you that your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Located off the interstate, very noisy in our room. Layout is a bit strange, there is no first floor, built on stilts, parking is under building. The room is nice, the usual amenities, however when I checked out the bathroom I noticed the tub had next to no coating in bottom, cracked and splitting. I called the desk and was told they had no other rooms. I am NOT happy and won't be staying here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Rich W,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We apologize for the room accommodations you received did not live up to your expectations and any inconvenience you may have experienced with the outside noise. We understand the discomfort this has caused you. We also apologize for the lay-out of our hotel and the service you encountered was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just wanted to express my concern that this Holiday Inn Express is way under par with all the others I have stayed at. The carpets are very dirty, the beds hard, the breakfast tables dirty, and the staff, not friendly. Some changes need to be made soon. I couldn't wait to leave this hotel. It was not enjoyable. I haven't had such an unpleasant experience staying in a hotel in a long time.

Room Tip: It's right next to the freeway, so beware! We asked to be switched to a room on the opposite end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maerae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Maerae1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness and for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The fact that this hotel was close to San Diego drew me to this room and the name "Holiday Inn" made me think that we would get quality and service? When I headed out to the Jacuzzi the evening that I got there I found it roped off and full of dirt, with shovels resting on top (even though staff had directed me to it, I changed into my shorts and slippers and they didn't bother to tell me that it was under construction)! the Pool was dirty and uninviting (there goes my relaxing vacation weekend)! My room overlooked the noisy parking lot next to an entrance hall so I listened to people coming and going all night. In the morning when I went looking for coffee, I was told that there was a coffee maker in the bathroom, there wasn't any coffee or breakfast (thus the name express)! when we left there was two police cars in the parking lot and I overheard someone talking about a "break in" scary!

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Gerald W,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This location is very convenient for visiting friends and relatives in the Santee area. The room was large and clean. The lobby is functional. The fitness room needs a great deal of attention: issues with the TV, also with the treadmills (some of the features are broken). I think I have been spoiled by stays at other Holiday Inn Express locations. This was OK, quite serviceable, but not great.

Room Tip: The breakfast room is on the second floor. Try to get a room at the other end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Forcrane,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and the cleanliness of your room. We are sorry our Fitness Center did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

No negative issues. Room was as good as it could be. Free Wi-Fi, 2 nightstands, lamps, room air conditioner, balcony, California king bed, microwave, refrigerator, desk, desk chair, sleeper couch, reg chair, 42 in HDTV, DVD PLAYER, bathroom has shower, bathtub, hair dryer, bath tissue, facial tissue, accessories and personal amenities, ironing board and iron, front desk printer available free, free lobby computer, outside Jacuzzi and small pool, chaise lounge chairs, 2 elevators, 4 floors no rooms on Lobby floor, lobby restrooms-men and women, 4 valet carts. Free full breakfast on 2nd floor, 630am to 930am, free fitness center on 2nd floor, plentiful free parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a44magmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.4 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
176 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Mission Valley Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego

Address: 9550 Murray Dr, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range: £68 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego nestled centrally in San Diego La Mesa. We are just off the 8 Freeway and minutes away from SDSU, Grossmont Center, Grossmont Hospital, Downtown La Mesa and El Cajon. We strive to provide the perfect accommodations for our ideal guests: the business traveler, the small family, the sports team, and the corporate group. Our new rooms have the most comfortable bedding and pillows. Lie down, open up your laptop, and enjoy our stellar Wi-Fi while you enjoy over 200 HD channels on our 42-inch flat screens displaying the best of DirecTV(R) programming. Take a hot shower or bath, enjoy a hot breakfast, and enjoy the best of San Diego. We would love to see you! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (Sdsu Area) Hotel La Mesa
Holiday Inn La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing