We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service. Great wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and convenient. Carlos worked the desk and was as welcoming as could be. He baked some chocolate chip cookies and had fresh coffee to help "spoil" our dinner. The room was cooled and not stuffy. The hotel just smells clean. The beds are firm but comfortable. The furnishings are classic and fresh. Good location. We will stay here again if given the opportunity.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Gambrino5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we entered the door Carlos welcomed us and made us feel like we were home. He had home-baked chocolate chip cookies and fresh coffee. The room is very comfortable. We came here after having a very bad experience in another hotel not too far away. This is a welcome respite after that experience.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Gambrino5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This property is a way from San Diego about a 15 min drive. Good value older property staff very friendly and helpful. Corridors a little dark room was very spacious liked that we had a small fridge and microwave. This hotel is right next to the highway so you do hear traffic. There were a couple of restaurants near by as well. Breakfast was very good didn't get to check out the pool was a little cold when we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ygmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked this hotel online. The person who checked me in was quick, efficient,and very helpful. All of the staff was very nice during my stay, and they are definitely still updating. The corridors were a little dark, and the halls seemed a little older, still, but the rooms were excellent, breakfast was wonderful, and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the interstate, it can get a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Older Holiday Inn Express Property. They are upgrading and doing minor remodeling of the rooms. Rooms are clean. The staff is very good and friendly. Parking is ok but spots are a little small. Good location and freeway access. Nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morleyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here overnight, needing a good night's sleep after a long drive and bad hotel stay the previous night (noisy neighbors surrounded us). The staff here was very friendly and helpful. They found us a room that was likely to be very quiet, which is the only thing we needed. In the morning, I sat in a comfy lobby chair reading and noticed how helpful the front desk clerk was as she assisted other guests.

The room was what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The beds were a little too hard for my tastes though. I would definitely recommend this place, especially if you like a firm mattress.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Mark W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was very delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I haven't stayed at a HIE for quite some time, but because of the location, I thought I would give this a try. Plus American Express Travel had an unbeatable deal. Check-in was smooth and very friendly. The two queen beds I booked was sold out, which left only kings. When I explained I had my daughter traveling with me, they offered a free upgrade to a suite. The room was quite, spacious and clean. Even though the property was right off the freeway, I didn't hear a bit of traffic.
The free hot breakfast had enough choices and was quite popular. Only problem; it was popular. The layout of room meant you kept bumping into other guests. I grabbed my food and went back to my room.
Because of the price, the service, location and friendly staff I would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.4 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
170 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
4.4 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego

Address: 9550 Murray Drive, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range: £83 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego nestled centrally in San Diego La Mesa. We are just off the 8 Freeway and minutes away from SDSU, Grossmont Center, Grossmont Hospital, Downtown La Mesa and El Cajon. We strive to provide the perfect accommodations for our ideal guests: the business traveler, the small family, the sports team, and the corporate group. Our new rooms have the most comfortable bedding and pillows. Lie down, open up your laptop, and enjoy our stellar Wi-Fi while you enjoy over 200 HD channels on our 42-inch flat screens displaying the best of DirecTV(R) programming. Take a hot shower or bath, enjoy a hot breakfast, and enjoy the best of San Diego. We would love to see you! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (Sdsu Area) Hotel La Mesa
Holiday Inn La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing