We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is situated in a residential area. It has convenient freeway entrances and exits. The windows block out the freeway noise, which you see. The exterior of the hotel is nice looking, the pool area is small and the free parking is plentiful. There are a few nice restaurants within walking distance serving a variety of good food. The service was good. The rooms could use some updating. The painters, repairman and wallpapers could not have taken pride in their work and it shows. The breakfast fare is simple and like that served at other hotels offering a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the hotel overlooking the freeway which was not a problem for us, no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dakota m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhixlamesa, General Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear dakotam,

On behalf of the Holiday Inn Express team we want to thank you for taking the time to write a review as it helps us know where we can improve. We are glad that you liked the easy access on and off the freeway as well as restaurants, parking, and our customer service. I do apologize about your dislikes and we hope that after our renovations you can give us another chance to exceed your expectations during your stay. Again, thank you for your review.

- Belen Holiday Inn Express Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a very good stay at this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. It had good access to Highway 8, which takes you to most places you would want to go in SD. Especially good was their wifi, which I needed for work. I find many hotels advertise wifi, but for some reason it never works, or is down, or some other excuse. Here it worked and was fast. Only con of the room was the desk chairs need to be replaced with chairs that can be wiped clean. The cloth upholstery was stained and looked gross.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitzyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhixlamesa, General Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear DitzyDC,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the wifi access and that you were able to finish your work. We do apologize for the chair and you'll be happy to hear that we are in the process of replacing all of the furniture, including the desk chairs. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know where we can improve. Hope to be able to house you again during your traveling.

-Holiday Inn Express Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I are extensive travelers and to say this was our worst experience in over 25 years of traveling would be an understatement.

We prepaid our reservation through expedia for a King one night. The expedia price was $209. The holiday Inn website said $259. So we thought we were shrewd shoppers and got a deal. Then the nightmare began.

We checked in and immediately noticed a bad smell in the lobby and then our room smelled ever worse. Musty, moldy and old. I opened the screendoor on the second floor to the sounds of the rushing freeway by us and tried to get some fresh air into the room. The BED WAS NOT A KING. We paid $209 for a King room and this bed was most assurredly not a king. it was questionable if it was a queen. We went downstairs to talk with the clerk (its' 4pm) We explained that we ordered a King and he said, it doesn't show what you paid for. We said, yes paid for KING and showed him our receipt from expedia which indeed showed a KING paid for. Well we had a large group come in last night and we aren't able to give you that room. He said we do not have a King available as we are sold out. I said, "Then you gave away our room and we have a paid reservation." He said we did NOT give away your room, we just don't have it available. I said, "what?" you don't have our room and we have a paid reservation so you gave it away" We literally went back and forth on this until I asked to speak with the manager and he said that she was not available. I said call her. Her name is Beline. He said she was not coming in until 8pm and he could not help us. We said okay that's fine. If we are stuck with the double bed upstairs then just refund us the difference of your so called "queen" room in the difference we paid for on the KING. He said he could not. Because it didn't show that we paid for a KING and expedia would have to refund us. I said, "Expedia didn't give away our room." He said he could do nothing. We asked him repeatedly to let his manager know what is going on since he kept referring to her that she was the only one to help us. We said before we left we expect to hear from her tonight.

We are very upset at this point. We have tickets to a play in 3 hours and we don't have time to go back and forth with the obviously apathetic clerk Enrique who didn't want to be troubled with our problem. There is now a line and we just gave up because it was like arguing with a door. We went back upstairs (smelly room and all) to get ready for our evening.

We returned at 11:40pm and there is still a line at the front desk. Another man, different clerk is there, and the other man is upset that HIS ROOM was given away as well. He is arguing with the clerk and the clerk states that they are sold out and have no clean rooms available. When the man questions him further, no clean rooms he says, well we have one room but it's not clean because someone checked out early. The man said, we will wait - go get some clean sheets and we will take our room. He was obviously upset as well. We get back to smelly room and no note or explanation from Beline, no apology, no phone message from any manager. Nothing. Nothing to say hey we made a mistake and here is how we will correct it. NOTHING - no one cared.

We finally get back into the room and just want to watch some television before we go to sleep in this not only smelly room, but the bed sheets smell like B.O. and it's disgusting. The television doesn't work and the the message states on the screen, "Due to inclement weather your satellite is not working". Seriously??? Southern California and inclement weather. You guessed it - NO TV either.

I did not even want to use the bathroom as the hairs in the sink were grossing me out. There was bad odors in the room, Not the bed we paid for. There was a disgusting hair in the sink that was visibly black and my husband and myself are both blondes. The sheets smelled, the pillows were like cottonballs that have been stretched out of shape. This does not count the fact that we were awakened by a herd of elephants running in and out of the "free breakfast" area that was directly next to our room and far to small to accommodate that many people. We ditched the "free food" and went to ihop. Upon check out, good ole Enrique was down there and didn't want to give us a receipt. He asked if we contacted their manager and we said, we got back late. He acted like we should have been there at 8pm when she came in. Seriously this is our job to track her down???

I can honestly say this is the worst experience in traveling I have had in many many years. Didn't care and didn't do a damn thing to help us, questioned that we lying about our reservation and said, "Not our problem, call expedia". We did. Expedia did what Holiday Inn didn't. They listened, they cared and they gave us a $50 refund for Holiday's ineptitude.Considering the petri dish in which we slept, you might be wise to avoid this hotel like the plaque.

They were charging people $259 for this nightmare. I could add $100 bucks and stay on the beach in La Jolla. This hotel is more like $89 tops. I will NEVER stay at a Holiday Inn hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't choose Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Dsuchecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Dsuchecki,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location of this hotel and the fact that it was a Holiday Inn Express was why we chose it. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was very nice, as well as clean, and that the staff were nice as well. Very happy that we stayed here and would do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timjfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhixlamesa, General Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Timjfo,

We want to thank you for staying with us! We strive in delivering great customer service and try our best to please our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

-Holiday Inn Express Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while in San Diego for the birth of my nephew. Have stayed here a few times before. It's close to my sister's home, and it's really convenient to be able to have breakfast at the hotel before heading out for the day. The room has always been nice, no problem with parking, and great staff. This past time, while having breakfast, the staff even came in to remove a couple who had snuck into the breakfast without being a guest at the hotel. They handled it very well and without incident, and we're very apologetic to the guests. They seem to be on top of making sure their guests are well taken care of.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhixlamesa, General Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Erin M,

Congratulations on the birth of your nephew! We are very glad to hear that you experienced great customer service since we strive to do just that. We also know that our guest safety in priority and we are happy to hear that the situation was handled in a very safe and rapid way without disturbing our guests during their breakfast. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

-Holiday Inn Express Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Over a thirty year period of travelling around the U.S., this place is the worst experience for what you get, which is a nightmare. We booked in the hotel at $122 per night, but when we arrived there, we were told that the room is at $171 for that first night, and then it will decrease after that. This took us by surprise, for the person on the phone who we booked with did not inform us about anything of that sort. We had no choice but to accept because there was no cancellation and we were exhausted after a long drive. It was awful to be cheated.
For the price we paid, we were shocked with the condition of the room. The bathtub's drain was not working, leaving one to shower with the water above one's ankle (thus you are soaking your feet with your own dirt). The six high-intensity lights by the mirror in the bathroom (more like a tiny toilet), plus the ceiling light, is extremely hot and can give you a headache within five minutes. Also, because it was very hot, we unscrewed four of the six light bulbs. While the bathroom was very bright, the bedroom was dimly lit. The furniture is outdated and has a lot of stains, including the curtain. Although the carpet is dark, you can still see the dirt on it. To top it off, when you get off the elevator on your floor, you can smell an awful scent from the carpet.
The breakfast area is very small, not enough seats, the people were standing while eating, and there was not enough food. What a horrible experience that was!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnalieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear AnalieD,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We would like to follow up on your experience so we have sent you a private message to obtain more information.

I hope to hear back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

One of the smaller hotels and nothing fancy but clean and quiet which was what we needed. Didn't use any amenities so can't rate that. Pool looked small but clean, but cool day, no one was there. Comfortable bed. Very convenient to I-8 and some restaurants with in walking..

Room Tip: wouldn't do any extended stay but great for a quick layover in transit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhixlamesa, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant time during your stay. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurants next door and also were able to get to the freeway with no trouble. We hope to be able to house you again for your next travel needs. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.4 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
4.4 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego

Address: 9550 Murray Drive, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range: £83 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego nestled centrally in San Diego La Mesa. We are just off the 8 Freeway and minutes away from SDSU, Grossmont Center, Grossmont Hospital, Downtown La Mesa and El Cajon. We strive to provide the perfect accommodations for our ideal guests: the business traveler, the small family, the sports team, and the corporate group. Our new rooms have the most comfortable bedding and pillows. Lie down, open up your laptop, and enjoy our stellar Wi-Fi while you enjoy over 200 HD channels on our 42-inch flat screens displaying the best of DirecTV(R) programming. Take a hot shower or bath, enjoy a hot breakfast, and enjoy the best of San Diego. We would love to see you! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (Sdsu Area) Hotel La Mesa
Holiday Inn La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing