We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Burgers and fries”

Johnny B's Burgers & Brew
Ranked #21 of 205 Restaurants in La Mesa
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
364 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“great Burgers and fries”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

this place had very good burgers as well as the fries are very good nice atmosphere and good beers and service was good

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank randy7496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great burgers in a neighborhood sports bar”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

A friendly place to grab a burger and brew to watch sports events or just to hang out with friends. They have recently added a full bar in case you wanted a cocktail instead of a beer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This business does not respect the business hours posted on their doors or website. Very disappointing....”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

I went to Johnny B's yesterday night to give it a try since a friend told me that their hamburgers are delicious. Before heading to the restaurant, I checked their business hours on their website to make sure we had enough time to get there. Even though I arrived to the restaurant half an hour before closing time, the waitress sent us away because according to her, they close earlier on Sundays. I replied: If you close at 8:30, why do you have a sign on your door that says 9 pm as your closing time on Sundays? She "answered" my question by saying: "sorry guys"....I was very disappointed... I think a business should respect their business hours no matter how busy they are. By 8:30 pm, the employees had about 10 trash bags piled up in the main dining area! Does this mean that the employees decided to start closing the restaurant around 8 pm?? I'm very curious to find out if the owner is aware that his employees are refusing service to paying customers just because they want to go home early.
To the owner: Please email me if you are interested about getting more details regarding this incident. If not, I will take my business somewhere else as I did last night.

Thanks,

Disappointed customer.
sandra.accounts@yahoo.com

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanny35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Stone City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing burger, juice ran down my arm!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Double bacon cheese burger, with frings. Ice Cold Sam Adams Boston Lager....need I say more.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank HammerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca
2 reviews
“Good burger, greasy onion rings”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Went for lunch on a Monday. Had the bleu cheese burger which was good; wife had a patty melt which she liked lots! The onion rings were good but served in a layer of oil which was a little gross. Still ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worshipguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny B's Burgers & Brew also viewed

 

Been to Johnny B's Burgers & Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing