We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, fresh food”
Review of Pho Vu

Pho Vu
Ranked #38 of 120 Restaurants in La Quinta
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
184 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good, fresh food”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had the roasted pork vermicelli and my husband had a spicy chicken dish-- the vegetables were very fresh and the portions large. The service was good, attendant and efficient (but not rushed). Only complaint I might have is that they could not adjust our dishes for "heat" preferences (I prefer very spicy). Not fancy, but prices are very reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mah_Murrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California, United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really interesting "ethnic" menu!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nice surprise having an true Vietnamese food restaurant right here on Hwy. 111 (just west of Jack in the Box on the same side) in La Quinta, CA! We enjoyed 2 items we'd never heard of and they were both awesome! Prices are pretty reasonable for this area too! Can't wait to go back soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deputy161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

3 PHO (beef, shrimp, vegie) and 1BUN BBQ pork.
All excellent will definitely go again. Jewel in desert.
Clean and friendly staff and busy Must visit if in area.

Helpful?
Thank Jieysmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salton City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I go for the healthy vegetarian soup”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I go to Pho Vu at least once a month and I always order the same thing: a big bowl of their vegetarian pho soup. BTW the big bowl is only a dollar more than the small, so why not? This is the go-to soup if you sense a cold is coming on. I love how all the vegetables are so fresh and the oddles of thin
noodles at the bottom of the bowl stick to my ribs so I'm not hungry again in an hour. They include chunks of tofu, so there's your protein.
The restaurant is open and airy which has a very clean feeling, plus there are tables outside on the front patio.
For a long time I lusted after the description of a banana ice cream dessert on the menu, then when I finally had the gumption to ignore my diet and order it last summer I was told they no longer serve it:(
You might drive past Pho Vu the first time; the back of the building faces Hwy 111 with the entrance facing the parking lot and the large Goodwill store. It's just west of the Union Bank.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salton_Sea_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Different and New to the Desert”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is good stuff. I've never had Vietnamese food in my life. My daughter decided we should try at the recommendation of some friends. We were not disappointed. Huge fresh salads and noodle bowls with meat, shellfish or vegetarian. Choose Rice noodle or Vermicelli and your choice of meats, vegies and tofu. I had the beef brisket with rice noodle. Fresh bean sprout salad served with mint, chile and lime on the side. Very clean and efficient restaurant, good service and the food delicious with exotic flavors. I love Vietnamese food, better than thai. I will return to Pho Vu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Vu also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Indio, California Desert
 

Been to Pho Vu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing