We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the vegetables?”
Review of Solano's

Solano's
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Desert Club & Avenida Bermudas
Description: Solano's Bistro is chef owned and operated on Main Street of Old Town La Quinta. Dine inside or outside on our patio, browse beautiful pieces of art from local artists, and feel like family while enjoying the delicious flavors created by Executive Chef Francisco Solano.
Desert, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Where's the vegetables?”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Last night we dined at Solano's Bistro based on recommendations of friends who had been there previously. I ordered the vegetable lasagna which was supposed to have zucchini, eggplant, yellow squash, onion, spinach, ricotta and mozzarella cheese. What I was served was layers of lasagna noodles smothered with mozzarella cheese in a very sweet tasting pale red sauce. I peeled back the pasta and there was not a vegetable anywhere.
Then to add insult to injury, I did not notice until the next day that I was overcharged. The menu price is $16.00 and I was charged $18.00.
Be careful if you dine at Solano's that all the listed ingredients are in the food you are served and make sure you review the bill closely so that you are not overcharged.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DollDesert_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    93
    27
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Made an open table reservation & were seated Immediately. Had read Yelp reviews & decided to try it. My wife had Beet salad & enjoyed it, my Ceaser salad was only adequate. My wife had Sea Bass & had to send it back to be fired some more. Once it was cooked she said it was good. I had the short ribs & they were excellent. Made the whole thing worthwhile for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Romantic night out”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had our first visit there. Made reservations through Open Table. Got there a little early and were seated immediately. Friendly wait staff, great atmosphere, and excellent food. The decor was really nice ...almost like a private dining room. The wait staff were all dressed very nicely and classy. The food was prepared so well. I had the crab cakes and shrimp scampi both were excellent. The hubby had the Brie/raspberry quesadilla and shrimp/scallop dinner. He had high marks for both. We can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch at the Farmers' Market”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I've had brunch here the last two Sundays. The Farmers' Market salad with shrimp was outstanding as were the chipotle chilequiles. I would go back to eat both dishes again. The service is a little spotty but OK. Overall, terrific experiences!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Real_Customer_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Service was friendly but so run of the mill don't bother for a nice lunch. Had the fish tacos and they were okay. Husband had the halibut and didn't like it as he said it was tasteless. Am having a hard time finding any restaurant in la Quinta that is really good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank freshfoodMedicineHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solano's also viewed

La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Solano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing