We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coachella Captains love the Inn!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Coachella Captains love the Inn!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2005

Having travelled six thousand or so miles from London, we were even happier than most guests arriving at Lake la Quinta Inn. Our reason for the trip was to attend the Coachella Music & Arts Festival, and we'd chosen the Inn, in part, for its close proximity (4 miles) from the site. Also taken by how lovely and tranquil it looked, and the fact that it only had 13 suites! As soon as we arrived Julia Miscowicz (Innkeeper) and her fantastic team had us relaxed and welcomed. The photos on the website really do not do the place justice; it is quite sublime! We were in Captain's Quarters but saw many of the other accomodation - the standard of design and luxury fittings and furnishings were consistently excellent in each.
The festival exceeded all our expectations, but so did Lake La Quinta Inn. The perfect end to a full day of grooving in the desert heat, was to return to the peace and comfort of our suite, but also the Inn in general, which felt like our own private country club - spa, pool, stars....just bliss!
I must say that, while the actual place is stunning, what really makes your stay pleasurable is the genuine care and attention shown by Julia, and Mary Lou, and Casey, and all the other people working to make sure you enjoy yourself. They really do go that extra mile, and make it all seem to effortless - the mark of true professionals!
Apparently this place is currently on the market; if I could I'd snap it up myself - but I would seriously advise the current (or future) owner to maintain that team...."If it ain't broke.....give it a raise!!" The Inn would suffer without that expertly easy personal touch.
Anyway, we're already booked for next year's Coachella. If anyone reading this even tries to book Captain's Quarters, y'all better be prepared to fight for it!
Much love and gratitude to Julia, and special wishes to our adopted American mom, Mary Lou...enjoy a long and happy retirement babe - you deserve it and we adore you!
David & Darren
Brixton
South London xxx

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    34
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
160
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2005

My wife and I happened upon the wonderful Lake La Quinta Inn by accident, as we had signed up for a golf clinic at PGA West and the La Quinta resort was full, we where recommended to the Inn and we were not sorry.
The Welcome reception after checking in was warm and friendly with good wine and tasty appetizers, we also met some of the other interesting guests and the Innkeeper Julia steered us in the right direction for dinner. Breakfasts where prompt and delicious and upon returning from a great day out on the course we were greeted with another round of treats and spent a quet evening relaxiing on our balcony overlooking the lake in a snug welcoming room called "Tally Ho".Our second day was open to explore and Julia was very knowledgeble of the area and all it has to offer and great dinner reservations once again including a complimentry dessert.We did not want to leave our little sanctuary, we truly enjoyed our stay and the friendly hospitality we recieved

Mr & Mrs Grace
PA

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2005

We stayed at this romantic hideaway during the spring 2005. The Tuscan suite was the ultimate in luxury, complete with beautiful lake view, steam shower, in room jacuzzi tub and all the amenities one would expect in a larger hotel. The English innkeeper Julia was friendly and very knowledgeable about the best restaurants and activities in the area. She made us feel right at home during our time at the inn. Breakfast in the morning and the wine and appetizer hour in the late afternoon allowed us to get to know our fellow guests and we made some new firends. The massages we had from Sherri Lynn were outstanding . All in all this is a wonderful getaway location. Thank you for your hospitality.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2005

We stayed for two weeks at Lake La Quinta Inn in 2004 and returned to stay for four and a half weeks this past winter. The Inn has a most friendly,warm and gracious environment. The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed. The staff are all wonderful. Julia the innkeeper is surrounded by the loveliest women who are entirely accomodating. Julia calls them "her girls". When we left we felt as if we were saying good-bye to favorite relatives.
I would highly reccomend this Inn. We are Inn travelers and have been to Inns all over the world including Relaid CHatteau Inns. This Inn has the flavor of one of the Relais Chateaus but is more afforable and friendlier.

Barbara and Robert COvell

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2005

Lake La Quinta Inn is very nice, but their idea of customer service is very poor. It would be wise to remember that this Inn is more of a Bed & Breakfast. The location is very good, their spot of the "Lake" is nice, and the rooms very comfortable.

As for service, there is none after 4 pm. If you want something, too bad. The receptionist acted rather peeved that our flight dictated that we would not arrive until after 6 pm, which meant she had to stay late. We purchased a package that included a massage. We could not get the time we wanted so they 'penciled' us in for another time. When we told them that we could not make that time, we were told we would be charged a cancellation fee. This happened on the same morning when the cook forgot to show up! Because breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 9:30 am, most guests show up around 8:15. Around 8:45 we were told that the cook didn't show and no one else could be contacted. In fact, no one else even had a key to the kitchen. No apologies, no coffee, only some scrambled eggs on dry English muffins around 9:15. The breakfasts on the other days were tasty, but servings were very small with no seconds. We spoke to other guests that had experienced other inconveniences.

Did we enjoy our stay? Yes. Would we return? Not unless we heard from others that the staff had suddenly decided to treat their guests as "guests" not as inconveniences.

Helpful?
10 Thank StanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, 27 March 2005
Lake La Quinta Inn prides itself on Customer Service. All of our staff goes above and beyond the call of duty for every one of our guests. From dinner reservations to doctors appointments no task is too great. We are personal assistants to our guests for their stay. So, I was very upset to read Mr. Elliotts comments. They do not reflect the level of service we provide at Lake La Quinta Inn. Please allow me to correct his negative remarks.
First, Lake La Quinta Inn IS a Bed and Breakfast and we proudly advertise that fact on our website lakelaquintainn.com. The Bed and Breakfast Journal voted us “#1 Bed and Breakfast on the West Coast.” At 4pm every evening we serve Wine and hors d’ oeuvres, chat with our guests, book dinner reservations etc until 6 pm. His statement of “no service after 4pm” is not correct. Most “Bed and Breakfasts” never have anyone stationed at the front desk at all, let alone after 6pm. We therefore offer better service than most of our competitors.
This guest booked and confirmed massages and then canceled at the last minute because he got box seats at a tennis tournament. All spa services have cancellation policies and we actually only charged this guest $50 as an accommodation.
Finally, due to illness our cook was absent one morning during their stay. However, fresh coffee was still brewed and in the dining room by 8:50 am and butter and jam were placed on all the tables for the English muffins. While we are not an all you can eat restaurant, we would gladly accommodate a guest’s request for additional servings.
In conclusion, this one unhappy guest is not an accurate reflection of our Inn.

G. Giovanni Giammarco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2004

From July 10th to the 14th I stayed in this beautiful Inn. I spent one night in the Marrakesh Room and 3 nights in the Captains Quarters. The Inn is so lovely and peaceful and once you walk inside you feel like you're worlds away from where you really are, smack dab in the middle of the desert! You could drive right by the place and never have a clue that you just passed a lake! I tried to reserve the Captains Quarters for the entire time but it was not available for the first night so that's why I spent the first night in the Marrakesh. I am glad that I did actually, because not only did I get to experience more of the place, but I learned that a jacuzzi is much more satisfying INSIDE your room when the temperature is 111 outside. The Capts Quarters had a private jacuzzi outside but it was always too hot to use it but the Marrakesh had one inside and it was delightful. I imagine that in the cooler weather the Capts Quarters jacuzzi would be great as well. The Capts Quarters also had a DVD player which was really nice and the view was exceptional! Whenever I tell people about a place I've stayed I try to tell them the good AND the bad but quite frankly there is nothing bad that I can say about Lake La Quinta Inn. I loved it!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank paulala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2004

The Lake La Quinta inn is a truly spectacular destination spot. Our room had an incredible view of the lake, yes a lake in the desert.
Jacuzzi tub and gourmet breakfast in the morning. We will be back .
definitely 4 star.

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Property: The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more.A chic boutique with a gorgeous lakeside view, picturesque surroundings and stunningly appointed guest rooms awaits you at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Energetic and vibrant with an intoxicating mix of attentive service and desert solitude, The Chateau invites indulgence and overwhelms your senses. Fresh from a $3.5 million renovation, which has transformed the property, adding thirteen additional new guest suites, a spectacular new lakeside restaurant, Melange, along with a beautiful new lobby bar, The Chateau offers its guests spectacular lake views from all 24 guest suites, outstanding food, sourced from California's finest family farms, and premium cocktails and wines. The Chateau is a remarkable, new, desert experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing