We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place For Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Market & Grill

Fisherman's Market & Grill
Ranked #15 of 119 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun Place For Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were in La Quinta with four other couples. The ladies went one way to lunch and "we guys" went exploring. The corner of 111 and Washington has tons of restaurants so we turned in, saw the Fisherman with it's outdoor dining and headed in. What a lucky find. A massive menu of great lunch sandwiches. We all had something different and along with a great choice of beers, we had a wonderful lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    101
    41
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best casual dining fish restaurant in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant when we first moved to La Quinta and we absolutely love the food and atmosphere there. The menu is extensive, with some standard specials. My husband loves the fish tacos, for which this restaurant is famous, though I find it difficult to choose from the many delightful and flavorful selections. My favorite is the soup (clam chower) and salad (Caesar), though the calamari is fantastic as well. You place your order and decide whether to dine inside or on the outside patio.

Fisherman's Market & Grill has become our favorite restaurant, one which we visit weekly. We also taking visiting relatives and friends there whenever they visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaMorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We keep coming back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We visited this restaurant several times during a three week stay at a local RV Resort in January. Once you figure out how the system works everything runs smoothly. Decide what you want to eat and where you want to sit while standing in line. When you get to the cashier, place your order and request for table (provided it is still available. If not, choose another one quickly). Pay for your meal, the cashier will give you an number “flag” to place on your table when you get there. Collect your beverages and condiment choices and go sit at your table. In a few minutes a waiter will bring your meal to you.
The weather was perfect for casual outdoor dining so we always took advantage of the patio seating. The service was cheerful and prompt every time. They offer several different varieties of fish/seafood. We tried something different each time we visited and were never disappointed. It was always fresh and never overcooked.
Keep in mind that if you visit this restaurant during “high” season, which on the desert means anytime the temps are under 90 degrees (typically November to March) you will be competing not only with locals but with “snow-birds” for a place at the table. A wait in line of ½ hour or more is not uncommon at peak hours, plan ahead.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Griz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We eat here every trip and love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not a fancy place for sure, but the fish is consistently fresh, tasty and well priced. The sea bass and large shrimp were excellent. I tried their new sweet potato fries - they were thin, crispy and not greasy. A great value for sure. We like the La Quinta location the best.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Seafood galore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place was recommended by a staff member at Worldmark timeshae in Indio. the resturant sits back off the street with signs and trees in front making it a little difficult to locate. Once inside the atmosphere is nice. There is a giant chalk board, which is the menu and all the specials. We sat outside because it was a nice evening and the heat lamps were on. I had catfish with rice pilaf and slaw. The food was so-so, fish wasn't seasoned and for some people that maybe ok. wasn't crazy about the slaw either. My cousin enjoyed her salmon and she did like the slaw. Overall its a nice place and I'm glad it was recommended and would suggest to anyone visiting or around the area to check it out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Market & Grill also viewed

 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to Fisherman's Market & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing