We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden GEM!!!!”
Review of Flora Vista Inn

Flora Vista Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Selva Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flora Vista Inn
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden GEM!!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were only at Flora Vista for two nights but we loved our stay. It was quiet, peaceful and very welcoming. Deanna's breakfasts were AWESOME. Deanna treated us like family, let us know where the hot spots were in California (we are from Texas) and made it such an awesome experience to stay at the B&B.

Also, a secluded beach is really close and the shower/bath tubs were so awesome!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRuthDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here 4 nights recently in the "off season" of October which was perfect weather and no crowds. This B and B looks over fields of flowers ...tho none there when we were there, but must be gorgeous in season. The Inn itself has 5 rooms and we stayed in the Poppy one. As expected in older homes, not huge rooms but nicely appointed. The sheets on the bed were luxurious. We had a room with a jacuzzi big enough for 2 people. All rooms, I believe, have a fireplace. Deanna makes great breakfasts and is very concious of guests allergies or needs if she is told in advance. You can walk to a beach from the B and B. Lovely porch in back to sit and look at the views or the hummingbirds coming to the flowers right on the property. There are tennis courts that we didn't use. It was a perfect location for us as we were visiting family in La Selva beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamerousgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was our third wonderful stay at the Flora Vista Inn, run by our warm hosts Deanna and Eddie. It's the only place we will stay when we are in the Santa Curz area.

If getting away, being pampered, being treated like family by the hosts, having amazing breakfasts,and being guided to the areas best spots is something you'd like, than this is the place for you. From Deanna's fabulous homemade breakfasts, to wine hour with more homemade treats, to a view from the living room and patio that is mesmerizing, the good life just goes on and on here.

The rooms are immaculate and very lovely. The location is great to get to local areas like Aptos, Soquel, Capitola and Santa Cruz, which all have lovely shops, beaches, restaurants and things to do.

This is an Inn that is hard to leave, once you've stayed there. We miss it already and believe you will too. We couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msinger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This B&B is perfectly nestled in the berry farms of Watsonville. The expansive views of green fields was just beautiful. The grounds were well-kept, with great outside seating to enjoy the views. It's the perfect location for sightseeing along Monterey Bay. We were easily able to drive to Monterey, Carmel-by-the-sea, and Big Sur areas, which offered up magnificent views of the Pacific coast. It's about a 10 minute walk from La Selva beach. We stayed in the Wisteria room, which was a decent size. The sheets were crisp and clean, the room was spotless, the views of the fruit fields was excellent. The bathroom was very clean as well. We only had a shower, which was pretty small but bright white clean. The fact that there were no kids allowed was a plus for us.

The delicious breakfasts were a treat. Fresh organic fruit from nearby farms, freshly baked muffins and biscuits, and a different breakfast entree to look forward to every morning. They were very accommodating to special dietary preferences. The buttery shortbread cookies at checkout was a thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kg0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphys Ca.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

What a wonderful overnight getaway we just had as a birthday surprise. The innkeepers couldn't have been any nicer and we had fun playing some tennis on the HarTru clay courts. The room sparkled it was so clean, and I noticed the crisply ironed sheets as soon as I turned down the covers. Nicely decorated and wonderful views of flower fields and strawberries. We highly recommend this cute little inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogTennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The Inn is beautful both inside and out, and you couldn't find nicer hosts! One of the best stays we have had in all our decades of California trips! Deanna and Eddie, the owners of the Flora Vista Inn, could not be nicer, more helpful and talented hosts...Deanna's breakfasts are both beautiful and delicious. You really feel like you are being catered to, but by old friends. They told us of gorgeous beaches to stroll on, places to visit , where to dine, and they were all great recommendations! The view from their patio felt like a Monet painting and was so peaceful, and the humming birds flying in the Mexican Sage were both lovely and entertaining. We can't wait to stay again...so if you are near Santa Cruz, Capitola or Aptos this is the Inn to go to!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msinger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My partner and I have have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Flora Vista Inn. We could not have picked a better B&B. The innkeepers Eddie and Deanna could not do enough to make your stay comfortable. Deanna's recommendations were fantastic - from places to visit to restaurants or activities off the beaten track she was spot on and took into account what we were particularly looking for.

Our room was of exceptionally clean and had a large whirlpool bath in the corner of the bedroom. Whilst we really enjoyed the arrangement, it may not to be in everyone's tastes. However we saw other rooms which also had whirlpool baths but in a conventional bathroom set up.

The breakfasts provided were absolutely lovely and the portions massive. Typically, fruit, coffee/tea, juice (a number of types depending on your preference) then an egg dish or a sweet dish - waffles, delicious pancakes, french toast etc. Deanna cooks everything fresh in the morning so you can arrange with her what you particularly want and she is more than willing to accommodate your likes and dislikes.

In the evening, there is a wine and cheese reception. The appetisers prepared by Deanna once again took into account individual preferences and were absolutely delicious.

The area in which the inn is situation is a couple of miles off motorway 1 and is only half an hour at most from Monterrey and ten minutes from Santa Cruz. Therefore it is easily accessible to the main sites in the area - Carmel, Big Sur etc without being in a typically touristy location. It is only a ten minute walk from a spectacular (and predominately deserted) beach which runs for 15 miles. There is also a fantastic clay tennis court and Deanna is more than welcoming to let you borrow rackets and balls etc.

The Flora Vista Inn is not for everyone - if you want nightlife the inn is simply situated in too much of a rural location. I also noted a tendency from other trip advisor reviews that the people who have stayed at the inn have been of the older generation. I would not let this detract from anyone wishing to staying there. I am 23 and, absolutely loved the property and people. There is free wifi throughout the inn and tvs in each room - so there is no problem in keeping in touch with the outside world. The inn also has a beautiful porch and gardens so there is ample room to sit and relax in total peace if you would prefer.

From Deanna's personal touches - running out of the inn after us with bottles of water or folding chairs to take to the beach - to the lovely location, this is a fabulous inn and I would recommend it to anyone.

We will certainly be making the trip back from England to visit the Flora Vista Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Selva Beach
4.1 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
310 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
271 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
9.9 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Vista Inn

Property: Flora Vista Inn
Address: 1258 San Andreas Rd, La Selva Beach, CA 95076-9637
Region: United States > California > La Selva Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in La Selva Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Pacific Coast Bike Route, between Santa Cruz and Monterey, the historic Flora Vista Inn Bed & Breakfast is nestled among lush flower and strawberry fields, a short walk from spectacular beaches. This charming 1871 farmhouse now offers tasty breakfasts, afternoon refreshments, and intimate and romantic rooms with sweeping vistas. Awake to the aroma of locally roasted, freshly ground coffee. Enjoy locally grown produce and locally smoked meats from the Farmer's Market. We happily comply with dietary restrictions and food allergies, on request. We also feature two, tournament quality, Har-Tru clay tennis courts. Our tennis court bleachers are a great place to view the spectacularly starlit sky. Each of our five guest rooms is equipped with TV, wireless Internet, private bathrooms, gas fireplaces and comfortable beds. The great room offers guide books and maps for use in planning your Monterey Bay activities. Whether you take advantage of the world-class amenities and events the surrounding Monterey and Santa Cruz counties have to offer or simply wish to curl up with a good book in front of the fire, Flora Vista Inn awaits you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing