We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sopes Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Merendero

El Merendero
Ranked #49 of 86 Restaurants in La Verne
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San DImas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sopes Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My recommendation: Carnitas sopes. THE best I've had anywhere and a great accompaniment for the juices kept in drink coolers at the order window. If you want your food fast and prefer a quiet atmosphere, opt to eat outside rather than inside.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saliwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas, CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Fast Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

El Merendero is an established fast food place. The menu is comprehensive, the service is fast, but the food is average.

Helpful?
Thank CoupLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairland, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
287 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

El Merendero is one of our favorite places to eat. They give you plenty on your plate and their prices are very reasonable. They have remodeled and it looks very clean and nice. On our last visit, our waitress was Jessica. She is the best waitress that we have every had at El Merendero's. She kept asking us if everything was ok and did we need anything else. She kept our chips and salsa filled as we needed it. She was a great waitress. And the food was very good, as always.

I have been to the other location in Pomona and the tables are so close together, it feels like you are eating with the people seated next to you. But, the food is good. We prefer the location by the fairgrounds in La Verne.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

DIne in or outside on the patio, Right next to the Pomona Fairgrounds, always busy. Frijoles are good, serves beer.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank peeta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Based on the other reviews we went there last night. Kind of a cafeteria look to it so it may not seem the greatest but the food was simply AWESOME! Great place if your looking for quick tasty food.
What it lacks in ambience in certainly makes up for in taste! I wanted to eat dinner all over again! Definetely a new place for us to go and cant wait to take the kids.
Ambience/decor: Basic 1 star
Food: Excellent! 5 stars
Service: Fast and polite 4 stars
Cost: Very Cheap! Two meals with sodas under $20. 5 stars

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianNJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Merendero also viewed

 

Been to El Merendero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing