We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Merendero

El Merendero
Ranked #57 of 86 Restaurants in La Verne
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Verne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Tacos and carnitas were among the best as were the sides. Don't often find sopes in the restaurants here. Nothing pretentious about the place, but it was clean and the staff was responsive. Liked the choice of drinks available. I felt as if I was going into a little cafe in Mexico.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Wow, this little place is definitely authentic. No Americanized food here.. not only is it a restaurant, but it's also a bakery! The enchiladas, chiles rellenos and sopes are my favorite but I still haven't tried something I didn't like. If you want authentic.. this is the place to go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another Mexican Restaurant ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Yes another, but , the 'chile relleno', 'green enchilada plate', and so many other dishes are well worth the wait. Also if you dine in there are various beers to sample.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Boone5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San DImas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sopes Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My recommendation: Carnitas sopes. THE best I've had anywhere and a great accompaniment for the juices kept in drink coolers at the order window. If you want your food fast and prefer a quiet atmosphere, opt to eat outside rather than inside.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saliwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Fast Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

El Merendero is an established fast food place. The menu is comprehensive, the service is fast, but the food is average.

Helpful?
Thank CoupLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Merendero also viewed

 

Been to El Merendero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing