We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dire need of remodel - could be nice but needs attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Dire need of remodel - could be nice but needs attention”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting friends... we have stayed here in the past but would not do so again.... this is part of a group of hotels, which has some really nice hotels... but this no longer lives up to their other properties. We travel extensively, and try to have realistic expectations - this is not a 4 or 5 star property..

Plus: Nice beds, comfortable linens. Easy access to Lafayette, Nice pleasing exterior.
Negatives:
Staff: No offering of help with luggage from our car. When we checked in, we had to wait behind a number of other couples... only one person was checking people in, while another desk clerk seemed to be doing nothing...
Rooms
1. Bathroom bath had white tiles with mold in stuck in grout which must have been installed 20 years ago -it looked like a motel six (which was odd, since the sink had a granite counter - did they run out of money?). Note - this was not the fault of housekeeping.. the rooms were very clean..... simply not maintained..just as the make up mirror did not work...lots of little failures that need attention...
2. Room locations... Disappointing. We were on what they refer to as the "wishing well courtyard"... but is there a fountain with running water?... no... just a faux well with a few plants... so the noise from every other room echoes, not to mention that what you look at is directly into a wall or another room...... a running fountain would be an inexpensive way to make this more appealing. We asked to move to an outside room, but none were available, except those on the pool which no one wanted, due do the noise.
3. Public areas... other than the lobby, these need updating... the wood floors are scratched and carpets appear tired.
4. Pool area. We arrived, and there were 10 families in a very small pool with kids screaming and jumping everywhere.......this is not the hotels fault... but just an fyi for couples thinking they could use the spa and have a quiet relaxing moment at the pool... (maybe they could have adult hours?). The pool is small but nicely set out with plantings and foliage as a backdrop -again not sure what the solution would be.
5. Spa. Because of the chaos and noise at the pool, we did not use the spa, which we were looking forward to (the spa and pool are immediately adjacent).
We were very disappointed in this property... we stayed here years ago, but thought they would have kept it updated..... We would rather spend more and get more quality in the future...

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms are nicer... floors 2 and 3 hear the footsteps of those above..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culturebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    117
    43
    18
    13
See reviews for
148
203
52
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

A first class place to stay in the East Bay. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff is very service oriented and does a great job of making you feel welcome. A newly remodeled restaurant and bistro are enjoyable and make a great place to relax and catch up with friends or business relations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

From the concierge, to the restaurant, bar, and spa... We had a wonderful experience with each one. We also love and appreciate the additional personal touches each of these provided us during our stay. By far, the best place to stay in the east bay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1091999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in late June this year before we headed back home. We found the Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa on Groupon, so we bought the getaway package because it seemed really nice. When we got there it seemed tucked away in a weird location. It's not really near anything particularly, as far as shopping or restaurants. It was next to a cemetery. It looked pretty from the outside though.

We wallked in to complete silence. The lobby felt like a library, the staff seemed really nice though. It looked like a haunted mansion in there! It was creepy. When we got to our room it was equally creepy. Old paintings, a bookshelf filled with old dusty books, really heavy, gaudy looking curtains all over, and two queen size beds. I'm not a huge fan of queen size beds, either. I wished it was a King size. The bathroom seemed nice a roomy though, and somewhat modern, so that was a plus.

So at 6:15am the next morning we were awoken by the sound of jackhammers right outside our window. This was the lovely Groupon room. Lovely way to spend your last vacation day! By 9am the noise stopped, unfortunately, we were already wide awake. It looked like they were doing some sort of construction on the hotel property right in front of our room. Why they they were working so early and stopped completely by 9am boggles me. Especially if this is supposed to be a quiet spa.

We did take a walk by the pool and the fitness center and it did look very inviting, unfortunately we had no time to take advantage of their amenities.

Overall, definitely not our style, interior is too creepy looking, and we were not happy being woken up by a jackhammer so early in the morning, plus it really wasn't in a tourist friendly area as far as shopping and restaurants go. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Make sure they aren't doing construction outside your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicLuv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

There are many things to like here. When it is good, it is very good. But there is unevenness in room quality, sometimes including cleanliness. Also some staff are so helpful and kind--you couldnt ask for more--but others are dismissive and pretentious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank techai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A nice hotel in very nice location. The room was very nice with desk and two large chairs. A wedding was in full swing Sat. and that just added to the fun. Very nice spa and pool. The restaurant and bar was just reopened and also nice with patio dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madforkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
581 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

A luxury hotel, with robes, comfortable beds, great coffee available in the lobby. Parking adds to the cost at $15 whether self parking or valet with somewhat restricted street parking. Big wedding on first floor last night, but we did not hear anything on second floor in our room. No Safe in the room was a bummer. A great night's sleep. New restaurant, but we love Squirrel's a few blocks away for breakfast!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank golem67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette
2.2 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
8.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
Address: 3287 Mt Diablo Blvd, Lafayette, CA 94549-4099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Park Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Park Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing