We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Cocktails and A/C”
Review of Metro

Metro
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between 1st Street and Moraga Road
Transit: Lafayette BART is within 10 minutes walking distance
Description: Metro Lafayette offers seasonal California cuisine in a relaxed contemporary environment, including a 150-seat garden patio with mulberry trees, trellised vines and garden herbs.
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food and Cocktails and A/C”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hip eatery right smack dab in the middle of Lafayette. Very hot day and glad to get into the A/C which was wonderful. Also a great outdoor area for seating when the weather cools off.

Started with an array of salads. The heirloom salad and goat cheese was nothing less than perfect. Presentation of the luscious red and yellow tomatoes with drizzled oil olive and creamy goat cheese. We also had the mixed fresh vegetable salad which was good and the ahi tuna salad which was a beautiful display of ahi and a large sail of crispy bread coming right up from the base of tuna.

Main course, we had pork chops (very large chop) and crab cakes. All extremely delicious.

Wait staff was very professional and courteous. We had a random act of salad dressing spewing all over two in our party after accidentally being dropped to the slate flooring. The owner remedied the situation by offering us free dessert. Nice touch.

Great spot in the LaMorinda Area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieSFBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Pleasant Patio, Pricey Plates”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

On a warm evening, it’s lovely to sit in the patio at Metro. Even though it faces the busy Mt. Diablo Blvd, it is fenced with foliage. We have always found the interior seating to be dark and the décor unattractive. There is a lively bar at the entrance. They have fresh oysters ranging in price from $2.95 upwards and signature cocktails for $10.00. Corkage is a steep $20, waived when you buy a bottle from the restaurant. Service is excellent and everyone is very friendly. My favorite dish is the Black Cod in Miso but I wasn’t as impressed this visit. The too small piece of fish was prepared with spinach and a large rice cake at a pricey $29.99. The duck confit spring rolls sounded great, but were dry without much duck flavor. A chopped salad was satisfying and the mac and cheese side was tasty. Parking is available in the parking lot of the shopping center. Reservations are accepted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This restaurant is tucked in a strip mall. When I walked in, I was surprised to find a large, very modern restaurant with a huge patio area. Awesome selection of specialty cocktails! I had the black cod for my entree and it was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank infoninja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Trendy and hip, tasty food, great plating”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Classy up-scale restaurant with white-collar 30's to 50's crowd.

Noisy but friendly, attractive people but no overt "pick up" scene.

Food was great--lamb shank, cod.

Brussels sprouts were fabulous.

Great wines...all very pricy.

All in all, delicious, fun, expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garagestudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best of Lafayette”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Metro is my favorite place to go in Lafayette. Don't be deceived by the exterior and location in the Whole Food parking lot. They have great ambiance inside and a huge outdoor patio. Happy hour is always packed and can be a bit noisy but the dining room is quieter.

They always have a great cheese plate and lots of small dishes to share. I love the Miso cod and my daughter is really into the gnocchi. Wine list is diverse with lots of wines by the glass and last night we had the caramel pot de crème for dessert and it was fantastic.

It's very family friendly as well - which is great if you like good food and need to bring your kids with you! The owners live in Lafayette and have middle school aged kids. They have a great kids menu with fresh prepared stuff- not just the frozen nuggets.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro also viewed

 

Been to Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing