We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality American Cuisine with low hassle”
Review of Metro

Metro
Reserve with OpenTable
Metro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between 1st Street and Moraga Road
Transit: Lafayette BART is within 10 minutes walking distance
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality American Cuisine with low hassle”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I come here regularly on trips to the East Bay with friends, family or to catch a quick meal by myself. The staff is consistently helpful and the food quality is high, even for Lafayette which has developed a breadth of good restaurants in recent years. Even on a busy night, the host can typically seat a table of four within 30 minutes.

The outdoor patio is great in the summer, and even into fall there are a number of space heaters that can keep you warm as you dine. Prices are higher than average for casual dining in Lafayette, but with Metro you get pretty much what you pay for. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice sit-down without waiting for hours in Lafayette.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some hits, some misses”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had dinner at Metro recently. The service was efficient, there were hits & misses with the food, and likewise for the atmosphere.

We had the Organic Mixed Greens with red wine vinaigrette with Skyhill Farm goat cheese (there is an extra $2.00 charge for the cheese. The salad had no accoutrements and barely detectable vinaigrette. All together, less than satisfactory. The roasted organic tomato soup with Poblano chile & sweet corn was another matter, it was savory and rich. The lamb meatballs with brandy-tomato sauce & grilled acme levain were tasty but small, of course they are small plates. The pan-seared Petrale sole with potato purée, Dwelley Farm Romano beans & lemon-caper beurre blanc was fine but nothing special.

The indoor seating, which we did not choose, isn't particularly warm and inviting. We choose to sit outdoors. This area is fairly expansive and has lots of potential, but it needs a little work to make the concrete? walls less oppressive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

In addition to great food, Metro has such wonderful service that you feel like you're a part of the family (at least I do whenever I am there). I love the outdoor patio, even though it is very close to Mt. Diablo Blvd., it's not too noisy and is very enjoyable. On a cool or rainy day, there is nowhere better than inside by the fire. I especially like that my ice tea is always filled, amazing service!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank college_mom093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Skating on their previous reputation”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Sunday brunch was very disappointing here. Although descriptions of dishes are very elaborate, the actual food was bland and uninteresting. In the past I've had an occassional exception dish here but this time our table of 9 did not really have any stand outs. Plus service was exceedingly slow.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank techai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hopping lunch or dinner spot.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have been going to Metro for over 3 years and continue to enjoy the food and atmosphere. They have a great outdoor seating area with shade trees. The food is great and a hint on the adventurous side. Try the corn soup.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJulieRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro also viewed

 

Been to Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing