We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay CLEAR away!”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Las Vegas, NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay CLEAR away!”
Reviewed 31 May 2008

Don't do it! There's NO air conditioning. Can you believe that? Southern California, and no air conditioning! We waited about 15 minutes to be served at check-in. The lobby staff were very dismissive and took their sweet time getting to us. Once checked in, we went up to our room. Our room was VERY tiny. It fit the bed, and two end tables. There was a corner cabinet with the TV, but there was only enough room to squeeze by to get to the right side of the bed. Extremely uncomfortable bed that was extremely old. Since there was no air conditioning, I flicked the switch to turn the ceiling fan on to try and get some air moving. The ceiling fan was loose, and shook and rattled all over the place. So much for that! So, I contact the staff and ask for them to bring a table fan up. Thankfully, they had one available to us. There wasn't a single chair in the room.

Honestly, this hotel was old and very unaccommodating to their guests. What good is being on the beach if you don't have a comfortable room to come back to after a long day in the sun? I don't expect a lot, but a decently comfortable bed and air conditioning is a must. This hotel had neither. I'll never, NEVER stay there again.

  • Liked — It was on the beach
  • Disliked — TERRIBLY uncomfortably hot and EXTREMELY uncomfortable rooms.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrieberryca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    85
    77
    75
    85
See reviews for
90
148
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
laguna, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Hotel Laguna patrons actually suffer because of the great beach location of the property. Because the Hotel management are all too aware that people are lined up to get in, they know they don't have to try as hard. If one person doesn't like the amenities, someone else will quickly take their place. This "taking things for granted" attitude was evident at a recent wedding I attended there.

If you're not aware, parking in Laguna can be horrific. The Hotel, which has limited parking, had promised a parking spot to one of the wedding entertainers to facilitate loading and unloading his equipment. The entertainer even had it written into his contact with his clients who confirmed it with hotel management.

On the day of the wedding, the promised parking spot was nowhere to be found. The wedding couple, who were about to take their vows, felt terrible and the entertainer had to leave his vehicle obstructing traffic while he unloaded and performed for the ceremony. The Hotel Laguna catering manager was unapologetic, even calling the entertainer a "crybaby" in front of several members of the wedding party and the Bride's father.

The reception, which started at around 7:15, took place in the Laguna Room, which boasts a waterfront view. Meal service wasn't completed until 9:30. The filet was exceptional and almost worth the long wait. Unfortunately, after such a long wait, many of the wedding guests didn't have time to stay for the cake cutting. They missed out on a tasty treat.

The Laguna Room is situated directly below Claes, the hotel's intimate dining spot. When the wedding dancing finally started, the DJ was asked repeatedly by Hotel staff to turn down the music as it was bothering the upstairs patrons. This was up to around 11:00 pm when the wedding party should have been in full swing. Keeping the music low put a damper on the celebration.

The Hotel claims the Laguna Room has a capacity of 150. At around 110, things become extremely tight and getting from one side of the room to the other becomes a bit of a challenge.

I cannot recommend Hotel Laguna for weddings. The hotel management is inhospitable if not downright rude, the reception rooms are congested and taking two hours to complete a two course meal service for a hundred people is unacceptable.

A great wedding alternative to Laguna is one of the many facilities offered in Dana Point, just a few miles south.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach and downtown
  • Disliked — congestion, density and noise
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank canyouhearmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We stayed here while attending a wedding and the rooms were apparently set aside for wedding guests.

Biggest problem EVERYONE had: The showers did not work! Our handle just kept spinning around and around so you could not figure out hot/cold water. One minute water is cold, next minute it is scalding hot. We even heard other guests comment about this during breakfast.

Rooms are on the smallish side unless your located on the main street. They are bigger, but of course, you get lots of street noise.

Front desk staff could be a little friendlier, but restaurant staff gave excellent service.

Only real thing the hotel has going for it is the location and the view from the restaurant terrace. We would recommend staying elsewhere if you're going to pay the $200/nt tab.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAteamWalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We booked for 5 nights at the hotel, walking through the reception and the restaurant you could be led to believe it would be lovely to stay here. The rooms were very small, and although we had booked 5 months in advance, we had a view of the car park. I am 40 and would bet anything that the room was last decorated before I was born!

The shower and bathroom were clean but really needed updating.You get free sun loungers down by the beach. We ate in the main restaurant on the last night and the meal was lovely, but mostly ate out. The bed linen was also in need of renewal.

We did like the resort but if we went back, we won't be staying here! Thank heavens our view of american hotels was not based on this place ....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahtowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim in california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

We stayed at the "historic" Hotel Laguna for a wedding and needless to say, the hotel needs upgrading. The furniture was shabby, the curtains were shabby, the amenities were minimal and they could at least put some screens on the windows. The window in a relative's room almost fell out because of corrosion around the window frame. My son killed a cockroach in the bathroom.
About the only good thing about this hotel was the location and the view from the restaurant terrace. For the price they charge for the rooms you would think they could afford the uprade the rooms a bit so you don't feel like you're in a Motel 6.
If I ever have to go to Laguna Beach again, which I hope wont be anytime soon, I definitely wont be staying at the Hotel Laguna.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tim6120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

If location is what matters to you, this is probably the place in Laguna Beach. You're right in the middle of things and right on the beach.
If your room matters, however, skip this place. The room (The Bogart Suite!) was tiny -- as in 60% of a Holiday Inn Express. This was a suite (who are they kidding?!) and a rollaway just barely fit into the room. The bathroom has all the class of a run-down Motel 6 (at $350 a night!) -- complete with a tankless toilet that looked like a slightly-oversized urinal). Frankly, the room reminded me of the apartment I lived in as a kid in 1954 -- not retro, just OLD!
The restaurant, however, was outstanding -- great food, great service, a good wine selection, and prices that were comparable to other places nearby. The outdoor cafe was also fine for lunch, though a bit overpriced, even for Laguna Beach.
So here's a thought: Stay somewhere (anywhere) else, dine here and use their beach -- there were a bunch of teenagers right at our toe-tips a foot beyond the rope delineating the "private beach" the hotel boasts about.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commodore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2007

If you're a minority, stay at your own risk. The owner of the hotel is not a big fan. My family and I had not even checked into our room yet... already, we felt unwelcomed. The owner told us we couldn't bring our own food to the hotel. I told him we had a child who needed his special food. But the owner didn't seem to care.

If you plan to make your vacation a pleasant one , Hotel Laguna is not the place to be.

  • Liked — NONE
  • Disliked — SERVICE
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LAXPLORER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing