We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going for the beach, go here.”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you're going for the beach, go here.”
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We booked our second stay here because of the beach access. That's all. We booked the ocean view. When we decided to go a day early, we could only get the partial ocean view and found out what others wrote regarding the traffic noise. When we moved to our ocean view room, nights were much better. This place has character and location, but is still pricey for the size of the room. If you want the convenience of walking a few flights of stairs to get to your room, this is nice. If you are looking to save money, this is not the place. Beach food service is significantly marked up with a 20% tip already included.
Internet access is practically non-existent and you probably have to go to the lobby to connect to their wireless (I did), even though it is detected in the room. When I did connect in the lobby, it only lasted for 30 minutes then I spent another 30 minutes trying to re-connect, with no luck!
Because of the beach location, the place does feel a little grungy (carpets). Does anyone know of another place this close to the beach with larger rooms and a/c?
To save a few bucks, go down a few blocks to the Village Mart or better still, to Whole Foods on Broadway to get your snacks and water and do not use the beach food service. You're better off taking a break from the beach and going to lunch, then coming back to your space on the hotel's "private area" of the beach. There are a lot of nearby choices for food.
I don't know if it was because of the time of the year, but the nearby area seemed more family friendly during this visit. There were more families at the beach playground.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value, amenities, business services
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nyee1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    89
    79
    75
    85
See reviews for
91
151
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido,CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

The positives things about the Hotel Laguna:
Historical building, small private beach, located in the heart of town.
Not so positive:
No ac, so when it is July you must open the window for cool air but the noise from the street below is horrible!!! The noise lasted ALL night! In our Village room the bed was hard as a rock and small.
The continental breakfast was small; coffee, juice and muffins; that's it!
You must pay $10.00 per night for parking.
We love the idea of staying a hotel with historic significance but I did not get much sleep and $178.00 is a lot of money to spend and be exhausted the next day.
Perhaps, a more expensive oceanview/front room would have been a better way to go. Avoid the Village front rooms at all cost!!!!

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

This hotel purposely overbooks, then lies to guests about cancelling rooms upon arrival. The lie takes this form:

guest: Hi, I have a room reserved.
hotel employee: You called and cancelled it last night.
guest: No I didn't. Why would I do that then show up for my room?
hotel employee: I'm sorry. Someone cancelled your room.
guest: Who? Can I get another room?
Hotel employee: I don't know who cancelled. It wasn't my shift. We are totally booked. There are no more rooms.

It happened to myself and others with reservations. This is a common unethical behavior among less reputable hotels. It's dishonest, but assures the hotel is fully booked every weekend. It's sad because it seemed like a good location :(

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The fact that they cancelled my reservation and I never stayed there.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank TravellingPerson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Rooms are hideous... Employees are less than helpful, and upon check-in I watched them deny 5 people that had confirmed reservations telling them that they should look somewhere else.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The service and overall experience
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

I've been going to The Hotel since I was a little girl and love it so much I'm planning my wedding there next month. It is a small, intimate hotel, lovely and romantic. While I admit the food and drinks are ridiculously overpriced (it's Laguna), the staff are helpful and pleasant when they are treated with respect. The Village Rooms are noisy, avoid them if you can. My advice is to do your research well before deciding where to stay in Laguna and know what you want. The beach club is wonderful, one of the main reasons we stay there is so we don't have to worry about lugging around towels, coolers and chairs. It's Laguna, it's beautiful, and if you are looking for some ambiance and romance, I highly recommend you stay at the Hotel. It has never let me down.

  • Liked — The beach, the ambiance
  • Disliked — Ovepriced food and drinks
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Laguna for a wedding on the beach. It was absolutely breathtaking! I highly recommend this place for anyone considering a beach wedding. Apparently, it is one of the most affordable beachfront properties available for weddings in southern California. The wedding reception was in the Laguna room and the views were lovely. Our original hotel room was double booked, so they had to put us in the Bogart suite. From what I understand, Humphrey Bogart actually stayed in that room a long time ago. Anyway, the room was cramped. I actually don't understand why it was called a "suite" except for the fact that it had a very large walk-in closet. I would say that the room was average but the hotel was fantastic. It is in a PRIME location, right next to many cute little beachfront shops. There is a playground and public beach area next door.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank hanagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

My best friend and I stayed at the Hotel Laguna for a "girls weekend," the big draw of this hotel was the "private beach." When we arrived, the lobby was lovely, but it smelled like a gas station bathroom that had just been cleaned, and the smell lasted for our entire visit. The elevator up to our room was a little scary (we chose to take the stairs for the remainder of the visit). When we saw the hallway to our room we both said, "Oh my gosh, it's like the hotel in The Shining!" and when we walked into our room all we could do was laugh...it was bare, and not worth the price we paid. The bathroom was also TERRIBLE, I felt like I had to put my shoes on every time I went in. We didn't let anything get us down because we had a nice view of the beach and downtown and we were looking forward to lounging on the private beach. When we arrived on the private beach the next day we got an even bigger laugh...it is literally 12 feet wide and about 24 feet long, and you have to climb over a rope and take a small walk to get to the water. It was nice to have everything set up for you though (chairs and an umbrella), and the cocktails and delicious lunch really make the whole hotel experience easier to swallow. Be prepared to PAY for the lunch and cocktails...2 sandwiches and 2 drinks cost $64- WOW!!
Important information about the Hotel Laguna:
- Make sure that you give yourself enough time to cancel your reservation (they make you cancel 72 hours in advance...I got stuck)
- The continental breakfast is very sparse...only muffins, juice, and coffee
- If you really want to stay here mention LagunaBeach.com, I got a $30 discount, so paying a little less made the stay slightly less painful

*I would not stay here again, then again, it looks as if it may collapse any day, so it may not be around for a return visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Accommodations
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coopsprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing