We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar!”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Upon arrival... Valet excellent check in with CHI, she was precious, not pretentious and explained the grounds. The hotel is super sweet for location of proximity to where you want to be... Great bang for the buck$! George, the Manager is super friendly and quite the hostess with the mostess. Private beach enjoy and rock on!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1amthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

amazing hotel with great view and staff. the front desk manager goerge really took good care of us. the location is awesome and the price is very fair. me and my wife loved our stay there. we will be going back very soon..

Room Tip: get the garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Sure The hotel itself could use some color maybe some decor to give it that historical feel that the architecture boasts, however, I got the room for 99 bucks with the best location. The staff was super friendly, George was the concierge/front desk attendant that helped me. Recommended a couple great spots in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right next to beach and it is also very close too restaurants and bars, but rooms are very old and parking is not free other than that it is good hotel for price. I booked it using expedia and it was a lot cheaper than the hotels rate from inside the hotel ;)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Amir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I travel frequently, and write reviews. I do not believe I have ever stayed in a more gastly hotel. Lets' see where to begin, snarly valet was a preview. Desk clerk didn't know what floor the ice ws on or where ice buckets were. Our room was simply awful. The carpet was so filthy we had to keep our shoes on to walk. The walls and door to our room for paper thin. We were not interested in hearing others conversations, especially not in that place. We are still recovering from our sleep experience. Rather like an "I Love Lucy" episode, bed literally sank to the center. The comforter must have been army surplus and non too clean. The linens were thin and probably from the 30s, as was the meager furniture in the room. However, the real special was the closet and bathroom. The closet had some hooks and one 2 ft. bar to hang clothes. There was no luggage rack to place a suitcase. The bathroom, oh my, the tiles on the floor were filthy, the commode and sink also from the 30s (bought with the linens on sale then?) and the mirror was falling off the wall. We were going to stay two nights, but checked out as early as possible on the second day. We were out of our room, but the car was in the lot as we attended a function. They nicked us $20.00 for being an hour over, and the valet again, would win the Scrooge award of valets. Miserable experience in such a pretty little beach town.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael1952_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I won't repeat what is written in other reviews but will state simply that this hotel is a historical landmark. That means that it is over 100 years old and is built of wood. The last true renovations happened over 30 years ago and it is "a challenge" according to the manager, to get approval for and to pay for upgrades on a historical building like this.

That being said, you take your chances with room assignment and level of noise here. I was lucky enough to get a "garden view" room that was away from the noisy elevator and stair wells. Even so, the walls are pretty thin and during busy times like Spring Break, you will hear the partying college kids and teens running up and down the halls at night. The decor is definitely dated and despite what the manager was telling me, they could stand to upgrade simply things like sinks, tiles, doors and even old chipped paint.

The good is that the beach is right out the back door and down the stairs. There is a small private area with padded lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas. Kyle was the awesome waiter/cabana Dude who took care of everything for you. The restaurant is a step up in quality from the rooms. It isn't fine dining but the service is excellent and the price fairly reasonable considering the million dollar views and decent decor. Sit outside on the deck for dinner and you are rewarded with beautiful sunsets and the even provide portable heaters for you during chilly evenings.

You are considered downtown Laguna Beach which means that most of the art galleries, fine dining, and shopping is literally right across the street. Head a few blocks South down the PCH and you are in the "Village" area which is more trendy and has a few cool deck top bars.

Overall, this was a good stay and worth the deal I got from Expedia. Be careful in the shower as people flushing toilets in other rooms can affect the flow of the water and turn warm into hot!

I've already given the owners feedback that they need to "suck it up" and consider going through the approval process (from City of Laguna Beach & other Historic groups) to get approval and pay for a good upgrade of this hotel. It would be well worth it.

Room Tip: Pay for the "garden view" upgrade and ask politely if they have anything on 3rd floor away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We got a great deal on our room at Hotel Laguna and now I know why it was so cheap! Horrible beds, uncomfortable mattresses and dirty linens. The room was the noisiest room I've ever stayed in starting with the street noise and finishing off with noisy guests in the adjacent room. The service at the beach club was far less than stellar, we put up our umbrellas most days and were kicked off our chairs just before sunset even with a sleeping three year old. The bathroom is in shambles and the only staff I have anything great to say about is the valet. Other than that the location is amazing if you desire to be on Main Beach in Laguna. It is within walking distance of great restaurants. If you are looking for a one or two night stay and can sleep on a board then you can't beat it! I'm just glad we didn't pay full price for this teenie tiny room...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmsbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#17 of 22 in Laguna Beach
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £102 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing