We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Historic”
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The location is the best. Right in the heart of downtown. You can walk everywhere. The staff is very attentive. George at the from desk was very helpful with recommendations for dining a cigar lounge and sightseeing. The bar and restaurant has a spectacular ocean view. I love the historic aspect of it, the decor and the rooms were very clean. I highly recommend this location. The price was also good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are awful! I felt like I was staying at a motel 6 if not worse. The beds are uncomfortable and small the bathroom is small and the hotel is just shabby and out dated. The only nice thing is the beach but it's not even worth the trouble and customer service is not their specialty. This hotel is in a great location but it's not worth the discomfort or hassle. AVOID THIS PLACE!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank shanahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First of all, let me say that I didn't stay at this hotel. I was there for my cousin's wedding, so I cannot really comment on the rooms, but on the common areas of the hotel.

This is certainly a classic: located in the very heart of artsy Laguna Beach, just a few steps south of the main beach. As you can guess, location is unbeatable and you can go walk from here to anywhere in town (which is, of course, a rarity in Orange County). From most places in the hotel you get an outstanding view of the Pacific.

Seeing the pictures you'll find in the corridors, you can already guess the hotel's name predates the twentieth century, but the actual construction is from the 40s or so. It shows.

The hotel certainly looks tired: a main ballroom with stained carpets and brick walls which have been painted and repainted all over. The bathrooms serving the Laguna Room are small, with scraped tiles and suspicious looking plumbing. I didn't see any kind of swimming pool, either.

In conclusion, this hotel should cater to a crowd willing to spend their days dozing at the beach, walking over to the gallerias and stores of Laguna and forgetting a bit about the busy and hurried suburban life of the surroundings. It is a reminder of a time gone by, but its central location and air of nostalgia compensate for an old timey vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dyhtstriyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had brunch here during the weeking so availability was good. The staff our very attentive and try to accomodate your table choice, we were lucky to have a seaview table, the menu isn't huge but the food is very good and not too much. Good for families with young children.

Cost for Brunch including service was around $40 for 2.

The hotel looks very nice too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mobberleymuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for several days. The rooms were small but clean! Tiny bathrooms but that is the way they use to be. The courtyard was small and quaint but quite charming. You could not beat the service, food or those amazing views. Will I be back, YOU BET!!

Room Tip: If you are wanting luxury this is not the place for you. If you want convenience, great quality food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farhad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose this hotel as we were only in Laguna for one night and we wanted to be as close to the Beach as possible whilst still being close to somewhere to eat.
The Hotel Laguna certainly ticked our two boxes and the fact that we could open our windows to see the sea was fantastic. The hotel is quite old (it makes to pretense of this on it's website) so windows are single glazed, no air conditioning and fixtures look worn. A couple of tiles were missing from the bathroom and others were cracked however in all, it was a comfortable stay. In the heat of summer, we slept with the windows open and listened to the waves at night. Its worth paying more for a sea view as the hotel is on a main road on the opposite side and we heard people complain about the noise of the traffic especially with the windows open.
If you want a modern hotel then this probably isn't the place for you but it you dont mind a slightly older but still clean immediately on the beach then this hotel is great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for 9 days total over the last month with daughter once and husband once. The service on the beach and Deck restaurant is the best in town. The rooms are outdated without plugs for cell phones and could use a remodel but who really cares when you are on the beach in 2 minutes. We stayed in a Village room once and all of the other days the Village room deluxe. The deluxe room is much larger and worth the extra money. The valet service is top notch and we always pay for the breakfast, parking and room package as the deck food is wonderful. The staff is friendly and on a longer stay you really have to encourage the maid service to change your sheets. We have stayed in fancier but it was not as fun as staying here.

Room Tip: Loved the location of room 207 and 305 very close to every thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#17 of 22 in Laguna Beach
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £101 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing