We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Laguna Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laguna Beach Inn
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was a nice place for the price, right on PCH with a great beach across the street (Woods Cove). You have the noise from the street most of the time although I thought it was pretty quiet at night. Room was very small but comfortable. There was a great shared porch outside and a shared kitchen room with coffee and fruit. The pool was small but shaded and very nice. My daughter had it to herself most of the time and loved it. There was not someone in the office at all times so I'm not sure what you would do if you needed help when they were closed but luckily we didn't need anything. Other than going to Woods Cove, we had to drive north to get to the center of town which was no big deal, just watch getting in and out of the driveway as it is very steep and you can do some damage to the underside of your car if not careful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Laguna beach front hotels and motels tend to be very expensive. This place is reasonable for the area and if you can handle stairs, a super location near the beach. Included breakfast was unremarkable. It is on a very busy road that you have to cross on the way to the ocean. I chose a room upstairs with an ocean view from the front porch (shared) that I thought was worth the extra cost. Non accessible if you cannot do stairs. I would stay there again. This is not a fancy inn, and I do adore those. Here, it's all about the price and the short hike to the ocean and lots of interesting shops and eats.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned, this is the sort of place you rent for a comfortable bed and clean shower. The rooms have some quaint features, like the faux wood floors, free Wi-Fi connection, granite counters on the (very small) vanity and the nice wooden desk. There were plenty of towels for one person and the bed is comfortable.

On the flip side, the rooms are fairly small, there is no phone in the room to call the front desk, the rooms overlook the parking lot (giving it a motel feel) and it is too far from the Main Beach to walk.

None of those things would stop me from giving a better rating, three stars for sure, if I didn't have a very unpleasant experience with the manager, Christy. She should consider enrolling in Hospitality 101. The other employees here were perfectly polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rarbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Although the Inn is by the side of a busy road the rooms are quiet. The beach is across the road - a visit is a must! Some very good restaurants within easy walking distance. We tried the Mozambique which is a 5 min walk - upstairs seating in the open is a lovely view, although the food was a little disappointing the views were great. Some good art shops locally. The rooms are stylish, spacious and spotless. The pool is small but nicely appointed. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank decemberlady31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The room and the service were very good. Close to a beach cove which has a good beach and some reef for snorkeling etc.
The downside to the hotel is that the wi fi is terrible, amazing how a hotel in a built up area can provide such a poor service for their guests. If you w

Room Tip: As above need to get a side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have been back to this hotel three times. It is located about 1.5 miles from downtown, but still the location is great. During the summer there is a free shuttle bus running directly in front of the Inn. Right across the street is a stairway with access to Wood's Cove, a sweet beach. Also, you walk by the old Betty Davis Home, so feel the history. Free parking is a real plus, also the continental breakfast is simple, but good. Negatives are street noise and on the last visit young, noisy people using the pool late during the night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

okay...so the paint is worn, the upholstery is torn .... but when you turned the key, that engine was sweet!
Laguna Beach Inn was a true find. Not because their was a concierge waiting for me at the front door, bellmen to take my luggage, fresh flowers in the room...none of these...however, this is a rating given because at the end of the day, why do you ned a hotel? A bed ..and a good bed. That's what I got at Laguna Beach Inn. Clean bathrooms with abundant towels, wifi signal that was great ...all the basics were covered at a steal of a price compared to the over priced market of Laguna/Newport area.
Yes, 5 stars because for price quality relationship....they did their job!!!! (room price was done on line)

Room Tip: I had room 102 with a great view of the town and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bernardlaborie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
494 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#18 of 23 in Laguna Beach
147 reviews
2.4 mi away
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
#14 of 23 in Laguna Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Inn

Address: 2020 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3650 (Formerly Laguna Hacienda Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £73 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Laguna Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime stretch of Laguna Beach, the Laguna Beach Inn offers premier rates for a vacation close to the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the comfort and convenience of this cozy beach getaway. The family-friendly inn offers a heated outdoor pool, BBQ area, and even encourages small dogs to come along and enjoy some fun in the sun. Laguna Beach Inn is located across from Woods Cove Beach, "one of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California," and within walking distance of many great restaurants, boutiques and Laguna's well-known art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Laguna Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing