We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An excellent Inn”
Reviewed 14 November 2007

As soon as we arrived at Casa Laguna we knew that we had chosen the best. The rooms are immaculate and characterful, the 'extras' provided are extremely generous and the staff are happy and very helpful. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious. A lovely place that we will return to whenever possible.

  • Liked — lovely room
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SuzanneSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    157
    53
    35
    20
See reviews for
45
776
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We spent the first 3 days of our trip in LA on a business course. To wind down and relax, we drove down to Casa Laguna, having booked directly online. The staff are very friendly, and cannot do enough to ensure you have a fantastic time. Breakfast is a feast, presentation of the entree's is spectacular! and tastes superb. All in all, we had a lovely time. Thank you to everyone. We mustn't forget Emory of course, who is a very handsome golden labrador, and very fond of his doggy cookies!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DeGWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

I don't normally write these reviews but I thought The Casa Laguna Inn deserved 5 minutes of my time to tell tripadvisor users how fantastic it is. My boyfriend and I travelled around California for 2 weeks and this was our favourite hotel of all the ones we stayed in.
When we arrived the friendly receptionist upgraded us to an Ocean View room at no extra cost, simply because he had one spare. Immediately after showing us to our lovely room there was a tap on the door..."complimentary champagne for your anniversary guys".
Everything from the helpful staff and the beautiful swimming pool to the wine and cheese and scrumptious breakfast made this an incredibly enjoyable stay.
If I'm ever lucky enough to visit Laguna Beach again, The Casa Laguna Inn can definitely expect me as a guest.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Busy main road
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank littletraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

My girlfriend and I booked a two night stay (Sat-Sun) at Casa Laguna based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and the pictures/descriptions on the Casa Laguna website.

First, the good:

1. The grounds of the inn were very nice, especially the gardens.
2. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, although not particularly luxurious.
3. The staff were (for the most part) friendly and helpful, especially when we had problems (see the "bad" section below).
4. The food, both at the wine and cheese hour and at breakfast was very good.
5. The spa treatment (we got the couple "Togetherness" massage package) was very nice.

Now, the bad:

1. This place is WAY overpriced. Yes, I know it's Laguna Beach, and it's to be somewhat expected, but when the Ritz-Carlton is up the road a few miles and we could pay a few dollars more for a much nicer room, the bottom line is the prices for the Casa Laguna are way out whack. We paid $350 + tax for the Balboa Suite which was really a fairly basic room - not very big, and calling it a "suite" is a stretch. PLUS, we had some extra unwanted guests (see #2 below).

2. Our first room (Balboa Suite) was infested with a variety of crawling bugs - some identifiable (large roaches) and some not (weird looking bugs with several legs). I might expect that at a $60 Motel 6, not at a $350 luxury B&B style inn. To their credit, when we complained, they moved us to their most expensive room, the "Cottage." That room was truly a suite and would probably have been worth the $350 that they charged us. Unfortunately, the standard price is $700 a night! We didn't have the crawling bugs in that room, just some flying gnats.

3. Since we stayed Sunday night and we booked a spa treatment, we should have received a discount as noted here - casalaguna.com/specials.htm. But when we brought it up at checkout, we were told we had to tell them about when we booked the treatment. We were not told that upon booking and to us that frankly sounded like bs. But we were in a hurry to leave (had to get back to San Diego to deal with fires) so I didn't press the issue.

Overall, Casa Laguna is a decent place to stay but certainly not worth the high cost.

  • Liked — Spa treatment
  • Disliked — Bugs
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We are pleased that these guests were able to enjoy many of the wonderful amenities that Casa Laguna has to offer, and we’re sorry that they experienced a few complications. In regard to our rates, we are a top-rated inn that is competitive with all Laguna Beach accommodations in our class, and we are less expensive than many. And remember that, complimentary with your room you receive a freshly prepared gourmet breakfast chosen from a menu of entrees –a minimum $25 per person value--and additionally a nightly gourmet wine and cheese reception.

Our inn is regularly inspected and treated by an extermination service, keeping within the guidelines that allow us to retain our status as a wildlife sanctuary. We are located in a damp claimant and we have lush gardens that do sometime attract pesky insects. However, insects are rarely seen in the rooms. In Laguna Beach, October is a warm month at the end of a long summer. There will be insects. We keep them to a minimum.

In regard to this guest’s spa treatment—like any hotel or spa, our spa specials are a method of getting people who might not otherwise think about getting a massage during their stay. They are not an after-the-fact way to get a discount. That is why we clearly state on our web site and in other promotions that specials must be requested at the time of your reservation. This is the standard of the industry, and protects us from accusations of preferentialism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Spanish style hotel with great garden with a pool & the tub. Great space in the garden to eat breakfast. There's a lot to choose for breakfast and it's very fency. In the afternoon can get some wine and cheese which is great! Had a chance to get togetherness massage following the soak in the tub with a champagne with looking down the property. Always friendly smiling, helpful staff. Had a room with a view onto the ocean if i get out of it. The furniture is antique style, maybe little outdated, depending what you like. Right on the main street where you can just take the car to the shops close by.

Wish that the staff would of checked on us while we were in the soaking tub, lost track of time in it.

I would most likely go back there again. I enjoyed that the hotel wasn't overcrowded.

  • Liked — Great Outdoor Setup / breakfast!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Abober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

This is the second time we have stayed here.
Everything about this place is great.
The room, the bathroom( I highley recommend the jacuzzi tub for 2 !)
The breakfast is 5 star quality.
The place is just so tranquil and quaint with all the charm of old califronia.
The staff is very courteous and responsive to every need.
The spa services are a great deal. The 11/2 hour massage for 2 is heavenly!!
For a weekend getaway or an anniversary to celebrate, this is a must!

  • Liked — spa service(massage)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank halophan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

This was our second trip to Casa Laguna, this time for a week. The staff are all fantastic - so helpful and friendly always and nothing is too much bother. It's a beautiful property with amazing views and our room was lovely - great products, great jacuzzi bath. The cheese and wine is delicious as are the breakfasts.

I also had a salt and pamper massage which was out of this world. We booked the jacuzzi tub for sunset one evening and it is well worth it.

All in all, I can't compliment the Casa Laguna enough.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny181174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
695 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
307 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing