We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwalk, California
1 review
“Best place to stay at the beach”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Casa Laguna property is beautiful and clean. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly.
Best place to stay while at the beach.

Room Tip: Clean and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
We are so glad Christine H had a great stay at Casa Laguna, and we thank her for her kind review. We should clarify that when California inlanders say at-the-beach they are usually referring to our coastal beach cities. So that no one reading this misunderstands--Casa Laguna does not sit on the water. We are on the inland side of Pacific Coast Highway. We have expansive ocean views. Beautiful Victoria beach is about a 10-minute walk away, and dozens of great beaches are just minutes away by car or public transportation, and we provide beach chairs and umbrellas for those who want them. We hope to see Christine H back at the beach with us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    157
    53
    35
    20
See reviews for
45
776
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The property is beautiful, with sitting areas all around and lovely flowers and plants but when they supply you with ear plugs you better be prepared for some traffic noise! They staff is very friendly and helpful. My husband & I had spa services which was relaxing and enjoyed the therapeutic soak at sunset:) The"deluxe ocean view room" was extremely small, I am not sure why this is considered "deluxe" but it was clean and smelled very nice. I don't believe we would stay there again but only because of the high traffic noise from PCH.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We appreciate VickiM taking the time to let us know what she did and did not like about our Inn. In regard to road noise, we have always said that there will be a few people who are sensitive to road noise who may not find Casa Laguna the perfect match for their criteria. Interestingly, this review comes immediately after one in which the guest stayed in the same room location, admits to being a light sleeper, and states that she had no problem with road noise. We again caution all travelers that Pacific Coast Highway is the primary connecting route to all Southern California Beach Cities, and nearly all hotels, inns, and resorts, (as well as hundreds of multimillion-dollar luxury homes) are within earshot of that thoroughfare. Most visitors do not find it a problem. Some do. But few would classify it as terrible. As to room size—our promotions and reviews make it clear that we are a quaint, romantic, historic bed & breakfast inn, built in the 20s and 40s, and as such, our rooms are smaller than those found in modern family-oriented resorts. Once again, the previous reviewer stayed in one of the same room types, and found the room perfectly to her liking. She also appreciated the large bathroom with jetted double tub—which is what makes the room Deluxe. Standard Ocean View rooms have glass-enclosed showers without tub. We are truly sorry that our inn was not a perfect match for VickiM, and we certainly understand that she will probably choose more traditional accommodations with a contemporary-style commodious room in the future. We are glad she was able to enjoy many things about her stay, and we again thank her for taking the time to let others know about her experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have been going to Casa Laguna for about 5 years. We try to go at least twice a year, sometimes three times. Always in February, August and December. It is beautiful no matter when we go. We have stayed in every room type they have, from the basic to the huge two room cottage. Our least favorite room is the Ocean View because it is upstairs and there are always people walking by. Unless you get the very end room, of course. Our favorite, believe it or not is the smaller, patio room.
We have never had an issue of any type when staying at Casa Laguna. The staff has always been awesome, and have gone above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible.
We almost always get couples massages and the massage therapists they contract with are extraordinary.
The breakfast is no ordinary breakfast; we are talking gourmet people!!! You have to try the Casa Benedict! Yum.
For anyone who may not know-we have seen a few over the years-this is NOT the place to bring your kids. This is a relaxing bed and breakfast for couples, not a family resort!!!
The pool/ pool area are beautiful and relaxing. Pure tranquility.
The ONLY thing that I don't like is how far it is from the main town. It isn't really within walking distance of anything other than the beach. I mean, we have walked into town, but it is quite far. It is within walking distance of an awesome restaurant called Dizz's. I also highly recommend Mozambique's Steak House, which is a little farther , but Casa Laguna's staff will always arrange for transportation if needed.
Another perk at this B&B- free parking!!!

Room Tip: Awesome view from the deluxe patio view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Casa Laguna is very proud of our extended family of returning guests like Christina D who consider our inn their home away from home. Her balanced and honest review shows that she knows what she likes, and she likes most everything about Casa Laguna. Some of our guests would disagree with her about the Ocean View rooms, which are the furthest rooms back from the highway, and which have settees outside the door from which you can enjoy marvelous Catalina sunsets. But the diversity of room types mentioned by Christina D means Casa Laguna has something for just about everyone. We do need to mention that being 1.5 miles from downtown Laguna Beach means that we are away from the hustle bustle of the village, and in addition to nearby Dizz’s, there is also a highly Zagat rated restaurant called Tabu within walking distance. We thank Christina D for her detailed review--and her Casa Laguna family looks forward to welcoming her back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Casa Laguna is a gem of a place. My partner generously took me there two a two-night stay for my birthday earlier this month, and from the moment the receptionist took us from the mission-style main house to our room through the garden with palm trees and a profusion of plants, explaining in a sweet way about the Casa and what it offered, we thought she’d chosen really well, and so it proved.

Try and get a room along the upper-floor verandah looking out to the sea, which is what we had. The view from our bed in the morning and especially of the sunsets in the evening - for which we took upstairs a plateful of the delicious cheeses, biscuits and dips and a glass of wine each from the happy-hour free spread laid out in the breakfast room, to have while sitting on the cushioned bench by the door of our room as the sun sank into the water in the west - were unforgettable. The room, though not large, was well-proportioned, with plenty of light, the decor, furniture and fittings simple but thoughtfully chosen, with the odd fun touch, all of which made it really nice to be in, and the same went for the large bathroom. As for the noise from the PCH, which runs in front of the hotel and across which we looked out to the sea, I can only say that I’m a light sleeper and wasn’t disturbed either night.

And then the breakfast! Besides exceptionally good coffee and of course cereals and fruit to serve yourself, there’s a menu for the main course unlike anything I’ve ever seen. The first morning I had some Scandinavian pancake balls that came filled with crab, spinach and a feta cream-cheese blend, with a citrus sauce and sides. The second morning, despite whispers from my partner not to be such a piggy, I had stuffed French toast - which the menu says is brioche marinated overnight in a chilled batter of egg, vanilla and cream, then pan-seared and stuffed with maple-syrup- infused mascarpone and served with a sweet-tart blueberry sweet-sour sauce. Yum-yum is all I can say.

If all this sounds too good to be true, I have to admit our hearts were captured from the start when, my partner having told the receptionist as she booked that we were coming for my birthday, as we entered our room we saw on the dressing table a half-bottle of champagne, with a note of congratulations and thanks for our having chosen to spend the occasion at Casa Laguna, and the offer of the two flutes etched with the name of hotel to take with us as a souvenir. That, as we realised next morning, had come from Kathryn, the really nice woman who runs the place for the set-designer owner who bought it and refurbished it eleven years ago - and who, like her staff from the receptionists to the chef and the young breakfast waitress, couldn’t have been more helpful throughout our two days.

Any time we’re in Laguna Beach again, this is where we’re going to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripperpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We agree that tripperpal’s partner made the perfect choice, since it’s clear that they and Casa Laguna were a perfect fit. When someone takes the time to write such a detailed review, we know that we’ve made an impression, and we loved tripperpal's descriptions of the services and amenities that made their visit a perfect one. We’re proud to add tripperpal and partner to the ever-growing UK branch of our Casa Laguna family tree, and we look forward to their return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Casa Laguna Inn & Spa during late December 2011. We were stricken with the calm, Spanish-villa style Inn right off of PCH. We loved every minute of our stay there. The breakfasts were delicious and presented beautifully. The evening complementary wine and cheese reception allowed us to unwind at the end of the day enjoying Laguna beach. My favorite part though were the beds and the pillows. This was the best I've slept in a while. Great retreat, would definitely return again :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We cannot thank Kyle F enough for taking the time to post this, our 400th review, and for letting others know how much he and his wife enjoyed their stay at our inn. He’s not the first to rave about our 7-layer beds, and now we know this couple will return again and again, like so many others who have found Casa Laguna to be the perfect place to relax, renew, and rejuvenate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I really liked it here. The service was excellent. My room was small, but spotless and well appointed, and it had a very nice little private area outside the sliding door. The property itself is like a maze, which I though was cool. Don't worry, it's a small and easy maze. The nightly wine tasting is nice, and the included breakfast was very good. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erock1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
erock1974 is the first reviewer to use the word "maze," which we do hear from time to time in regard to our many terraced gardens, tiled stairs, and 1920s brick-lined walkways. As this guest indicates, it’s not as confusing as it seems the first time through. That’s why everyone always gets a guided tour when they arrive. While Casa Laguna is very popular with couples, we also have lots of solo travelers, like erock1974, who find that our inn is the perfect place to just relax in a tranquil setting and have some alone time. We look forward to his return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I decided to take some time away from work sowe stayed in The Cottage for two nights. We had heard about Casa Laguna from afriend so we had high expectations for our stay. Fortunately we were verypleased with the whole experience! When we arrived we were given a beautifultour of our room. It had an elegant large bathtub and a separate shower thatwas also a steam room. The bed gave us a great night’s sleep and then we woke upto an ocean view before heading down to a delicious breakfast. All the staff were friendly and helpful.Mostly a young man named Nick took care of our many requests. He gave plenty ofattention to our needs and was diligent about making our stay comfortable. Weleft feeling relaxed and happy and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Like Amber L and her husband, many local couples find Casa Laguna to be a perfectly tranquil, romantic location for their local getaway or staycation. As anyone can tell from our website and reviews, our grounds and amenities are geared toward both individuals and couples like Amber L and her husband who are looking to get away from the hustle-bustle of family-oriented hotels and resorts, and just experience some quality down time. We appreciate Amber L’s flattering review, and we have passed along her compliments to our hardworking staff. We will be delighted to add this couple to our long list of regularly returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
692 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing