We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was even unable to check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“I was even unable to check-in”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel "decided" to cancel my reservation to spend the first 3 nights of my honeymoon there. I was told that Amex had called to ask them not to honor my reservation; I spoke to Amex. Completely false. I would not recommend anyone to book at this place; they decide who stays and who doesn't. I am now booked at the St Regis Monarch Beach (thanks for cancelling by the way!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Disfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Although this post states that it relates to a couple who stayed with us in May 2014, this is not the case. The individual writing this post (hereinafter “the traveler”) did not stay with us. In fact, we had almost no contact with him throughout the booking process, despite many efforts to reach him. After the initial booking was made, we began to receive a series of requests for unusual high-end add-ons, such as arranging dinner on the beach and limousine pick-up from LAX, all which were to be charged to the traveler’s room. As a small inn, these are not services we provide, and if we did provide them, we would certainly require payment up front. My front desk associate attempted to contact the traveler in order to discuss the many requests and this was the point at which we discovered the phone number provided was not that of the traveler, but rather a supposed travel agent in Texas who was unable to give us any information about the traveler. I then directed my front desk associate to contact American Express to make sure the card was not stolen. After explaining the circumstances, he was transferred to a Fraud Specialist who advised him that the situation warranted strong consideration as attempted fraud. The specialist took a full report and then made it very clear that if we held the reservation with the traveler and any fraud were to take place, then Casa Laguna, not American Express, would be liable. Based on everything that occurred up to that point, we then cancelled the reservation and continued to attempt to reach the traveler, without success. We later received a phone call from an individual identifying himself as the cardholder. We advised him that, if he could provide the correct personal information to match the credit card, and if American Express gave us authorization, we could reinstate the booking. The person on the phone stated that he wasn’t sure he still wanted to stay with us and we advised him that was certainly up to him.

I later received an email from the traveler saying that he was prepared to write bad reviews about our inn, but first wanted to know the details of why we cancelled his reservation and what we were going to do for him. A more detailed version of the information provided in this reply was sent to him by return email. We can only assume that he actually received it since there was no further communication.

This may well have been nothing more than a misunderstanding resulting from lack of communication. We will probably never know. It is highly unlikely this traveler would have been happy staying at our inn, since we could not provide him with all the extras he wanted. However, we did not simply decide to cancel the traveler’s reservation as he claims. We cancelled his reservation based on established industry standards and the advice of American Express Fraud Division. Most travelers are not aware that American Express has the most rigid standards in the industry for charges made by phone, mail, or email. Also, we have been the victims of credit card fraud on more than a few occasions in recent years. Thus, the staff and management of Casa Laguna spend many hours verifying information and making sure standards are met so that we do not incur charge-backs that greatly affect our ability to remain competitive in this crowded industry.

Finally, we resent any implication that we discriminate in any way. Casa Laguna is proud to have built and retained a long list of regularly returning guests of every race, creed, color, ethnicity, and orientation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    157
    53
    35
    20
See reviews for
45
776
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Things that really stood out above other B & B's and hotels in the area: (1) The sheets (2) The breakfasts (3) The coffee (4) The beautiful surroundings: Lots of fountains, flowers and foilage. (5) The ammenities in our room: Shampoo, Body Wash and Moisturizer from England, champagne from France (celebrating out anniversary), freshly made chocolate chip cookies, bottled purified water, fresh oranges, bath salts, magnifying mirror, etc. All of this was complimentary including happy hour with wine, sparkling cider and quite a selection of gourmet cheeses, crackers, nuts, little salads and appetizers, which vary daily. Some rooms have patios with ocean views (from across the street), so they also have some road noise. You can also get a great boxed lunch for only $10, which I recommend; but you need to pre-order it at breakfast. Overall, a very enjoyable and relaxing experience. Would go back for the breakfasts, if nothing else! (But you have to be a B & B guest to eat there FYI!

Room Tip: If you intend to sit on your patio, don't recommend one street side due to road noise. (Ocean v...
See more room tips
Green Features: Pretty standard: asking you to hang up your towels if you are willing to use them again, or throw on floor if you want them washed. Will change sheets every other day unless guest is adamant they want them changed daily, which is highly unnecesary! Who does that at home?
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Our many thanks go to SP P for this concise yet detailed review of their stay. We’re glad they had the opportunity to enjoy much of what our inn has to offer, and we hope they have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What relaxing and delightful time we had at our recent first time visit to Casa Laguna. We had a view room with private patio. It was cozy, clean and romantic. A little on the small side, but this was part of it's cozy charm. Breakfast was made to order and the happy hour allowed us to visit with fellow guests. A rather hilly walk to beautiful Victoria Beach and beyond gave us plenty of local beach scenery to soak up. Sunset viewing location spots were plentiful. Head to the tower just beyond the pool, if available, and try to nab it for a romantic sunset. Minus a point because street traffic is a bit noisy.

We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We chose the Ocean View room with private balcony facing Upland Street. It was a good choice. Lots o...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscientious: Towel reuse program Tracks energy use Linen reuse program Energy-saving lighting controls Recycles Organic/local food & beverages
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Casa Laguna is always glad to have “locals” like Ann B stay with us and become returning regulars. We greatly appreciate her lovely review and we look forward to her return. Because it was mentioned we once again take the opportunity to remind those who are sensitive to road noise that a large percentage of Laguna Beach hotels, restaurants, shops, and multi-million dollar homes necessarily sit within earshot of Pacific Coast Highway. For most Casa Laguna visitors--sitting on a garden terrace sipping tea or wine next to a bubbling fountain--this ambient sound soon just turns into white noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After returning from a weekend stay at the Casa I can't think of anywhere else I'd rather go. Yes, we've been to higher end, but always return here. The experience is much like being at a private, beautiful home where there are no restrictions....staff are there if you need them but everyone is so easy going. The afternoon happy hour is just right and can be enjoyed anywhere on the property...by the pool, your balcony, whatever. The breakfast is first class, from the brilliant menu descriptions, lovely scones/fruit appetizer and first class chefs creating inspiring meals. We love getting the couples massage and then soaking in the rooftop tub overlooking the ocean. Its a tough place to have to leave and one or two days is never enough. Thanks again Casa Laguna for taking such good care of us. Your attention to detail does not go unnoticed.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a great patio with a view of the ocean. Little noisy due to PCH traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsscoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Casa Laguna management and staff are so pleased that this couple experienced a perfect, private getaway at our inn and took the opportunity to enjoy so much of what our inn has to offer. We hope they will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the very near future. While the majority of our guests do not find road noise an issue, we would perhaps suggest one of our more distant ocean view rooms for mrsscoopy on her next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at Casa Laguna mid week and it was absolutely fantastic. We were a walk-in booking and were kindly shown the property and a few of the rooms to help decide what was right for us. The outdoor pool, the endless flowers, plants and fountains and beautiful music playing in the background created a traditional Mediterranean feel to the entire property. Even just walking to our room I felt instantly relaxed.

We stayed in the Capistrano Suite, which was perfect. There were fresh oranges and cookies upon our arrival in addition to yummy champagne! The jacuzzi room was my favourite, but the bedroom and living room were also beautiful! The sheets at Casa Laguna are like sleeping on velvet. I think you can purchase them up front, which I highly recommend we all do!

The chef at Casa is also wonderful. I had almond, coconut pancakes one morning and an omelette the next, each absolutely delicious. There is a coffee/tea/lemonade bar that is available for guests (to go cups available) all day long. This was lovely.

The wine/appetizers in the evening was beautifully prepared. There were endless games to play (monopoly, scrabble, cards, backgammon etc), books/magazines to read and a movie library for guests to use.

All in all there wasn't one detailed left untouched. The personalized service exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to book Casa Laguna again.

The only knock on this place is it is a short cab ride away (or a 15 min walk) from Laguna's main strip and about a 10 minute walk to the beach. This didn't bother us in the slightest and we spent most of both days/nights in Laguna. We walked home one day and cabbed the next. But if you're main concern is proximity to the beach, shops and restaurants etc Casa might not be your perfect getaway. Although I should mention some of the restaurants have complimentary shuttle services to and from Casa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We cannot thank Emskey enough for their wonderfully detailed review, and we are so pleased that we were able to provide this couple with a very special mid-week getaway. They clearly were a perfect match for Casa Laguna’s relaxing, get-away-from-it-all atmosphere. We can’t wait to spoil them again with fantastic food, service, and amenities when they return in the hopefully not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I spent the past weekend at the Casa Laguna. It was part business and part get away with my wife. We rented the Capistrano suite and it worked very well. It was cozy and very clean. They pay attention to the details on the cleaning side. The bed was a 10 for comfort. The breakfast was also very good. The service from the staff was also very good. Even the maintenance man was awesome (he let me borrow ae tools for my bike). I can't really complain about anything but felt there were a few things missing. If I went back to Laguna I would want to be closer to the beach and/or closer to town. Just a personal preference.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jason h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Our thanks to jason h for taking the time to let others know how much he and his wife enjoyed our comfy rooms, acclaimed complimentary breakfast, and dedicated guest-first service. We’re so glad they enjoyed their stay. We know that there are travelers, like Jason h, who prefer a more active environment. But we always like to remind prospective guests that, in Laguna Beach, hotels that are on the beach or near downtown are often bustling with families, children, partiers, and non-stop tourist traffic. Because Casa Laguna is in a residential neighborhood 1.5 miles from downtown Laguna—and because each of our rooms accommodates only two persons—our inn provides the tranquil, laid-back atmosphere the majority of our guests appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is truly a charming, romantic hotel. I absolutely loved the little alcoves, the water features and the little garden areas throughout, very beautifully done. We had an ocean view room with a patio. Our room was perfect and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast here is truly delicious. Ummm, so good, my mouth is watering as I enter this review. The staff was polite, helpful and pleasant. Also, if you go, make sure that you explore the property - the child's garden is beautiful, such a well-planned, useful garden and the view from the tower is gorgeous.

We absolutely loved the Casa Laguna Inn except for one thing which is beyond the control of the owner - it's right on the Pacific Coast Highway. Unfortunately in Laguna, the 5 is away from the coast, so PCH through Laguna is like a freeway. If the sound of traffic doesn't bother you or you live somewhere very loud, this probably wouldn't be an issue. But if you live somewhere quiet, the noise may be more of an issue. The windows are double paned, so they do block out the noise. earplugs, but we didn't need them with the windows shut. The rooms are quiet regarding noise from adjoining rooms and feel very private. We didn't hear the other guests at all.


Parking was not an issue. The hotel seemed to have plenty of spots. We didn't walk to the main part of Laguna, we drove. It's not far - about a mile and a half, but there's not sidewalks nor are there streetlights for some of the walk. We found parking downtown, but it wasn't cheap except at night.

So, in summary, if you appreciate charm and little, Old California style bungalows, Casa Laguna Inn should be experienced. It is truly unique and I would definitely recommend it for at least one stay that reason. But be warned, it is not really quiet due to reasons beyond the control of the hotel. Such a shame, because otherwise Casa Laguna would be perfection.

Room Tip: The deluxe ocean views without the private patios may be quieter since they are on a higher level.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seemed very environmentally friendly.growing. Beautiful, well planned garden where they grow much of the produce used in the breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BahamaMama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, General Manager at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We want BahamaMama2 to know how much we appreciate her kind words about our beautiful grounds, exceptional breakfasts, and our dedicated guest-first service. We’re so glad that these guests enjoyed so much of what Casa Laguna has to offer and we also greatly appreciate their valuable recommendation. We’re sorry that this couple was bothered by ambient noise, and since that is the focus of much of the review, we need to let prospective guests who read this know that this is not an issue for the majority of our guests. Located in a neighborhood of multi-million dollar homes, Casa Laguna has far less invasive noise than the area’s boisterous family resorts--or than hotels that are in or near the bustling commercial downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
692 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing