We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Laguna truly IS a perfect getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 February 2010

My husband & I have stayed in B & B's all over the U.S and Europe, and Casa Laguna is everything a traveler could ask for. . . the grounds are peaceful and beautiful. The staff is so friendly and genuinely accomodating. The food and its presentation is wonderful. Every detail has been well thought out. Fabulous! Romantic! This boutique hotel has such personal charm. All of this for a VERY fair price. Thank you Casa Laguna for the fond memories.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

This beautiful, interesting and quaint hotel is simply fantastic.

It is incredibly unique, charming, and with an amazing gourmet breakfast, which you are unlikely to experience elsewhere, this is a must for the laguna / dana point area.

Stunningly friendly, genuine and attentive staff, and exquisite attention to detail makes this place a one-off. All the tiny touches have been considered, and I am not just talking about the obvious things.

Trust me - I have been a restaurant and hotel reviewer for over 10 years for various publications - this is a unique spot.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintygreendazmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This place is so amazing! It is a wonderful property with a view of the ocean. The reception they have at night is awesome as well as their breakfast. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dy3sce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We spent Christmas 2009 at Casa Laguna and loved it. It was the perfect vacation and we will definitely return for future romantic get aways. We are from Los Angeles. Laguna ended up being a perfect destination because there was so little hassle in terms of travel, but we actually felt like we were a million miles from the pressures and demands of home. The hotel is extremely quaint and we still talking about how amazing the breakfast was. The hotel is not particularly modern with respect to technological support. And, for this reason, I thought it was a little expensive. But, we really loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashitakasunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Casa Laguna was a wonderful experience. The staff goes the extra mile and then some. The grounds are beautiful and carefully tended. I loved looking out my window to see tropical plants and flowers, and the ocean! The food is top notch ~ and there is something for everyone. You can feel the history and the warmth. They even have a basket for recycling in the rooms! The inn is people and planet conscious. I am returning in February!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marnathea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The building complex is beautifully landscaped, with paths with much lush vegetation combining the different areas of the hotel. The breakfast is excellent, taken in the garden with friendly staff. We took a good partner massage at an average price, and then had, as we went there for New Year's, some time to the jacuzzi which has a beautiful view into the sunset. The package comes with a bottle of champagne included and is also reasonably priced.

The biggest setback is the location and the size of the rooms. While they are nicely decorated, they are just VERY small (particularly taking into account the price). Ours had what they called a private patio - which turned out to be a terrace overlooking the quite noisy street just below the hotel. Talking about private, it could be seen into from the street and from three other balconies above it, so don't really count on privacy.

Staff is good but does not live up to the levels you would expect. We had to fight for a spa discount that was clearly announced on the homepage (it was good I had printed it for my records), but we finally managed to have it applied. Wireless internet is announced for all rooms, but ours (#21) just had no signal at all. When we told reception, they just said that there wasn"t signal in all rooms, so be prepared. Still there's a small business center with one desktop computer, but it's only one.

For the rest of our stay in Laguna Beach we stayed at the Surf & Sands Resort which is slightly more expensive, but has spacious rooms with balconies right at the beach - so it's just up to you to decide if you want more the boutique feel or go for the beach feeling but stay in a less personal place.

From Casa Laguna, it's a bit of a walk to the beach, but Victoria Beach is really beautiful, more beautiful than the main beach at Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaInnkeeper, Innkeeper-Proprietor at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2010

We first want to thank Luciferito for giving us a four star review. We are glad this guest was able to fully enjoy our beautiful grounds, award-winning breakfast, and highly rated spa services. As always, we are surprised and saddened when we fall short of a guest’s expectations. I wish I had had the opportunity to discuss this guest’s concerns with them personally. Our General Manager or myself are always available to help resolve problems or misunderstandings a quickly and as amicably as possible. She was at the hotel until late in the evening on New Years eve and on New Years day.

As to our location, like almost all lodging establishments in Laguna Beach, Casa Laguna is located on Pacific Coast Highway. However, we are south of the bustling downtown district, in a relatively quiet residential neighborhood, between Laguna's only 4 star and 5 star resorts. This fact can be seen as a positive or negative aspect, depending on what guests are looking for, We are a historic bed & breakfast inn, catering to those who are looking for a romantic getaway or a peaceful respite. It is true that, even though we were able to outfit them with all the amenities discerning guests are now looking for, our rooms are on the small side. We always encourage guests looking for larger rooms to consider our suites, a great value when space can be an issue. We are probably not necessarily a good fit for someone who prefers a luxury beachfront resort like the Surf & Sand.

The term private patio has a universal definition among hotels and inns. It means that you do not share your patio with another room. It does not mean that you can see out and no one can see in, and we know of no hotel patio in Laguna Beach that cannot be seen from other patios, buildings, or windows. The patio for Room 21 is one room back from PCH, and has a clear view of the ocean.

It is unclear from the remarks what the exact problem was with our staff. I have to assume it relates to the spa discount, and I apologize if the guest was unhappy with the way that was handled. The online spa special requires that the guest advise us of their intent to apply the discount at the time they make the reservation. There are also possible restrictions based on the length of stay, the date of reservation or other offers. We will always do our best to accommodate guests, as we appeared to do in this case, but to avoid such situation, we strongly suggest requesting discounts at the time of reservation.

As stated on on our website. high speed wireless internet is available in all rooms. However, in rooms that are some distance from the router, some computers may not be able to get a strong signal. If a guest has this problem, and they do not want to bring their laptop to the patio or main house, we provide them with a CAT-5 cable so that they can use their computer in their room. As Luciferito mentioned, we also have a business center, and there is almost never a wait for the house computer.

Again, we want to thank this guest for their well-stated and honest feedback. Perhaps they will give us another try at a time when they can take a few moments to tour the property and see the variety of room types we have available, possibly choosing a room and location that is more to their liking. It would be our pleasure to welcome them back.

Francois Leclair
Proprietor-Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at Casa Laguna 2 years ago after finishing up a trade show in Anaheim. Upon reading all the positive reviews, Casa Laguna seemed to offer the best value for the money since Laguna can be quite pricey. We had planned a return visit this past week which unfortunately had to be canceled last minute due to "the worst rainstorms in Souther California in 5 years" (the news reporters' quote, not mine).

I really want to be objective about this review since our initial stay had been positive for the most part. Yes, the room was quite small (actually kitschy, no frills) and our "ocean view" was actually across the very busy and noisy Pacific Coast Highway with houses on the other side and yes, the inn is built on multiple levels that are terraced on a steep hillside that can be difficult to negotiate if you have any physical issues and/or a lot of baggage, but the overall experience was pleasant. We enjoyed the breakfast and the wine and cheese and the pool area. The inn's location is a bit out of the way from the town center where pretty much all of the restaurants, shopping, and galleries are located but if you don't mind a 20 minute drive (in no traffic) plus dealing with parking, it shouldn't be an issue

And now for the problem. As stated, we were forced to cancel our 2 night reservation the morning of our arrival due to horrendous weather conditions that were beyond our control and were deemed downright dangerous by all the local newscasters, weather reporters, and anyone with any common sense. This was not just another rainstorm but a full fledged El Nino that became the top local news story, even surpassing the horrifying news coming out of Haiti. There were constant advisories about flooding, mudslides, high winds and high tides, and residents were being evacuated. Even tornados were spotted in the area. Needless to say, driving was being discouraged unless deemed necessary. These storms continued for pretty the rest of the week. Traffic lights were blown off on the very same Pacific Coast Highway where the inn is located.

Although we knew that rain was in the forecast, we originally decided to make the best of the situation and therefore did not cancel our reservation before the 5 day cancellation period as stated in the inn's policy. We had no idea until the very last minute that what was originally forecast as rain showers was going to develop into a full fledged El Nino! And since our return flight to the east coast was scheduled out of LAX after our inn stay, we had no reason to cancel other than concern for our own safety.We are used to storms on the east coast but having driven in previous El Ninos, we know how fast the roads in Southern California become flooded and it was not something we wanted to experience again.

When we finally called to cancel and to see if some kind of arrangement could be made regarding our deposit, we were basically read the cancellation policy terms and no accommodation was offered. This meant that not only were we out the $250 deposit but an additional $250 for the 2nd night, $500 in total! We spoke to 2 different people, same deal, no exceptions to the rules. The first person even stated that the weather was beautiful there! (Ha! It changed within the hour.) And then we received the pro forma letter from the innkeeper, once again stating the policy, and hoping that we could "return at some later date." We then wrote him directly, telling him we were return guests, asking him for some form of compensation. We did not expect miracles. We also are business owners and understand the economic realities that we all exist in today. We would have been satisfied to have 1 night charged or even a partial credit toward a future stay but no concession was made. No only did we not receive a reply from the innkeeper but we were turned over to his manager (who we probably already spoke to) who basically stonewalled us again. She even stated that since our flight was not cancelled, there was nothing she could do. Huh??? What does that mean? How about the fact that we were stuck on the runway for 2 hours because of the tornado warning, watching the flooding and mudslides on our screens on the plane after a 2 day stay at an airport hotel. Does that count for anything?

When I went up to Tripadvisor to see if anyone else had a similar experience, I was struck by 2 things. First, the innkeeper actually does exist since he comments immediately on any negative reviews that happen to come up and second, in a previous review, another unhappy guest arrived, was disappointed in his accommodation (feeling the room and view had been misrepresented), checked out after 10 minutes and was credited with his deposit!!!

So what actually is the cancellation policy??? Do you have to be there in person to complain loudly enough until a refund is issued? If you are a return guest and try to be reasonable and polite, are you just stonewalled in the hope that you will go away? Is the innkeeper not willing to make any concession to cancellation policy rules even in the name of common sense and good PR (our business).

Well we now look forward to his direct response since this seems to be the only way we can get it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lulumommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaGirl, Owner/Innkeeper at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

As we explained to this guest, cancellation policies are standard throughout the travel industry, not just at inns and hotels, but cruise lines, tours, airlines, and more. Our policy, which allows the guest to cancel up to six days out is, in fact, far less severe than many that require up to 30 days. The cancelation policy is clearly stated on whatever resource the guest uses to make reservations, and our Innkeepers are trained to make sure the guest clearly understands the policy when reservations are made in-house. As we told this guest, we do occasionally make last minute exceptions for those experiencing significant adverse life-situations, such as death in the family, or when they cannot make it to the Inn due to events beyond their control, such as a canceled flight. Because 10-day weather forecasts are extremely accurate nowadays, we ordinarily expect that those who are concerned about the weather will cancel prior to five days out.

Lulumommy called to cancel just two hours before their expected arrival, saying they were afraid of mudslides and road closures. At the time of their expected arrival, and in the days following, there were no road closures or mudslides in Laguna Beach. Through the entire five days of the storm, there was never any problem with any of our guests getting to or from the airport. Some of our guests who decided not to venture out enjoyed chatting in front of the fire, playing games, and watching movies. Others had a massage, or enjoyed other spa amenities.

There is an obvious and significant difference between a guest who is legitimately discontented with his or her accommodations and one that cancels two hours before their expected arrival. We would never insist that a guest remain with us if they legitimately do not like the accommodations. And, as you can see from our overall feedback, unhappy guests are a rarity at Casa Laguna.

We agree with Lulumommy that all travelers should be aware of cancellation policies. Most people only learn about them when they need to cancel, and that can sometimes be unfortunate and costly. We have always been an advocate of travel insurance, which is well worth the cost, even if you only need it once in a dozen trips.

Finally, all of Casa Laguna’s front desk staff members are Innkeepers. As the proprietor, I am active in all elements of making sure the inn is properly run. However, as is the standard of the industry, the inn’s General Manager handles complaints and makes decisions regarding policy enforcement. These decisions are based on her knowledge of my wishes, and over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry. In this case, after discussing the incident at length with me, she contacted Lulumommy by phone, and I was under the impression that the guest understood our position. As much as I understand Lulumommy’s frustration with the situation, I believe that, out of fairness to all our guests who abide by our policy, we did the right thing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
988 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.9 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#8 of 23 in Laguna Beach
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £190 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing