We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing escape to the best of Historical California. What a B&B should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
S. CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing escape to the best of Historical California. What a B&B should be!”
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This hotel was an amazing experience combining the best of Old California mission feeling with the best of the modern hotel experience. We stayed the wknd and walked the beautiful tropical grounds and ate a 5 star breakfast each morning in the lovely small courtyards on the property. Every corner held a different charming element. I would recommend the ocean view upper rooms a little farther back and higher up from the Pacific Coast Hwy with wonderful ocean views. These are a great value I think. the staff was personal and helpful from every standpoint and the other guests were interesting and friendly as well. Several gave us stories about how many times they had returned to the Casa Laguna and we will be returning also. Unfortunately we were unable to meet the owners, but thank you for our wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    157
    53
    35
    20
See reviews for
45
775
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

My husband & I have stayed in B & B's all over the U.S and Europe, and Casa Laguna is everything a traveler could ask for. . . the grounds are peaceful and beautiful. The staff is so friendly and genuinely accomodating. The food and its presentation is wonderful. Every detail has been well thought out. Fabulous! Romantic! This boutique hotel has such personal charm. All of this for a VERY fair price. Thank you Casa Laguna for the fond memories.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
90046
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This beautiful, interesting and quaint hotel is simply fantastic.

It is incredibly unique, charming, and with an amazing gourmet breakfast, which you are unlikely to experience elsewhere, this is a must for the laguna / dana point area.

Stunningly friendly, genuine and attentive staff, and exquisite attention to detail makes this place a one-off. All the tiny touches have been considered, and I am not just talking about the obvious things.

Trust me - I have been a restaurant and hotel reviewer for over 10 years for various publications - this is a unique spot.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintygreendazmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This place is so amazing! It is a wonderful property with a view of the ocean. The reception they have at night is awesome as well as their breakfast. I would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dy3sce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We spent Christmas 2009 at Casa Laguna and loved it. It was the perfect vacation and we will definitely return for future romantic get aways. We are from Los Angeles. Laguna ended up being a perfect destination because there was so little hassle in terms of travel, but we actually felt like we were a million miles from the pressures and demands of home. The hotel is extremely quaint and we still talking about how amazing the breakfast was. The hotel is not particularly modern with respect to technological support. And, for this reason, I thought it was a little expensive. But, we really loved it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashitakasunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Casa Laguna was a wonderful experience. The staff goes the extra mile and then some. The grounds are beautiful and carefully tended. I loved looking out my window to see tropical plants and flowers, and the ocean! The food is top notch ~ and there is something for everyone. You can feel the history and the warmth. They even have a basket for recycling in the rooms! The inn is people and planet conscious. I am returning in February!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnathea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The building complex is beautifully landscaped, with paths with much lush vegetation combining the different areas of the hotel. The breakfast is excellent, taken in the garden with friendly staff. We took a good partner massage at an average price, and then had, as we went there for New Year's, some time to the jacuzzi which has a beautiful view into the sunset. The package comes with a bottle of champagne included and is also reasonably priced.

The biggest setback is the location and the size of the rooms. While they are nicely decorated, they are just VERY small (particularly taking into account the price). Ours had what they called a private patio - which turned out to be a terrace overlooking the quite noisy street just below the hotel. Talking about private, it could be seen into from the street and from three other balconies above it, so don't really count on privacy.

Staff is good but does not live up to the levels you would expect. We had to fight for a spa discount that was clearly announced on the homepage (it was good I had printed it for my records), but we finally managed to have it applied. Wireless internet is announced for all rooms, but ours (#21) just had no signal at all. When we told reception, they just said that there wasn"t signal in all rooms, so be prepared. Still there's a small business center with one desktop computer, but it's only one.

For the rest of our stay in Laguna Beach we stayed at the Surf & Sands Resort which is slightly more expensive, but has spacious rooms with balconies right at the beach - so it's just up to you to decide if you want more the boutique feel or go for the beach feeling but stay in a less personal place.

From Casa Laguna, it's a bit of a walk to the beach, but Victoria Beach is really beautiful, more beautiful than the main beach at Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaInnkeeper, Innkeeper-Proprietor at Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
We first want to thank Luciferito for giving us a four star review. We are glad this guest was able to fully enjoy our beautiful grounds, award-winning breakfast, and highly rated spa services. As always, we are surprised and saddened when we fall short of a guest’s expectations. I wish I had had the opportunity to discuss this guest’s concerns with them personally. Our General Manager or myself are always available to help resolve problems or misunderstandings a quickly and as amicably as possible. She was at the hotel until late in the evening on New Years eve and on New Years day.

As to our location, like almost all lodging establishments in Laguna Beach, Casa Laguna is located on Pacific Coast Highway. However, we are south of the bustling downtown district, in a relatively quiet residential neighborhood, between Laguna's only 4 star and 5 star resorts. This fact can be seen as a positive or negative aspect, depending on what guests are looking for, We are a historic bed & breakfast inn, catering to those who are looking for a romantic getaway or a peaceful respite. It is true that, even though we were able to outfit them with all the amenities discerning guests are now looking for, our rooms are on the small side. We always encourage guests looking for larger rooms to consider our suites, a great value when space can be an issue. We are probably not necessarily a good fit for someone who prefers a luxury beachfront resort like the Surf & Sand.

The term private patio has a universal definition among hotels and inns. It means that you do not share your patio with another room. It does not mean that you can see out and no one can see in, and we know of no hotel patio in Laguna Beach that cannot be seen from other patios, buildings, or windows. The patio for Room 21 is one room back from PCH, and has a clear view of the ocean.

It is unclear from the remarks what the exact problem was with our staff. I have to assume it relates to the spa discount, and I apologize if the guest was unhappy with the way that was handled. The online spa special requires that the guest advise us of their intent to apply the discount at the time they make the reservation. There are also possible restrictions based on the length of stay, the date of reservation or other offers. We will always do our best to accommodate guests, as we appeared to do in this case, but to avoid such situation, we strongly suggest requesting discounts at the time of reservation.

As stated on on our website. high speed wireless internet is available in all rooms. However, in rooms that are some distance from the router, some computers may not be able to get a strong signal. If a guest has this problem, and they do not want to bring their laptop to the patio or main house, we provide them with a CAT-5 cable so that they can use their computer in their room. As Luciferito mentioned, we also have a business center, and there is almost never a wait for the house computer.

Again, we want to thank this guest for their well-stated and honest feedback. Perhaps they will give us another try at a time when they can take a few moments to tour the property and see the variety of room types we have available, possibly choosing a room and location that is more to their liking. It would be our pleasure to welcome them back.

Francois Leclair
Proprietor-Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Address: 2510 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable ocean view getaway at our historic boutique hotel in Laguna Beach, Orange County, California. Our hotel features a wide variety of beautifully appointed guest rooms with luxurious eco-friendly linens, flat-panel smart televisions and crafted mini bar selections. A variety of soothing massage services are available in our on-site spa. Always rated among the top Laguna Beach hotels, our property is just minutes from beautiful beaches, fabulous restaurants, and Laguna's famous art galleries and summer art festivals. All rooms limited to one or two persons regardless of age or relationship. Not recommended for families/children/groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laguna Hotel Laguna Beach
Casa Laguna Inn And Spa
Laguna Inn
Casa Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing