We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They are not even trying” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Laguna

Sushi Laguna
Ranked #85 of 169 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They are not even trying”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went for lunch. There were only four tables with people and the waitress kept excusing herself for being supposed to take care of "everything". Waited 5 minutes to be seated (even though the place was empty),15 minutes until we could order and 15 more to get the food. At that point the just-average sushi we were served was not enough to save a ruined lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicobalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BBQ sauce on the menu???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The place smelled like a frying pan. The menu had BBQ sauce on the rolls. When we asked the waiter what they meant by BBQ sauce he explained that they call eel sauce BBQ sauce. I really did not get it since some of the rolls listed both sauces. We ran away from there and I'm not going back.

Helpful?
Thank Muchara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chilled relaxed eating environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was sooooo reasonably priced. Just wished we had sushi like this in the uk. The portion were big too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatieH535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sushi is always better right off the PCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Wow. As a Midwesterner I am always looking for a good seafood place while on the coast and this place definitely fit the bill. We wanted a table fresco style because let's face it this place is right near the beach where you can eat sushi and enjoy that fresh ocean breeze.

I love getting soup at Japanese restaurants and this place had an amazing "Special Miso" with the catch of the day as it were. It was like drinking in the ocean. But a warning: you can probably share this very large bowl of soup with a companion if you want to save some room for the fabulous sushi to follow because this soup is so good you cannot stop eating and then BAM! no room for sushi which would definitely be sad because it is so delicious.

If my husband and I had the time we would have came back time and again trying different rolls because the menu is so extensive.

The staff made us feel welcome. It was like West Coast meets Southern Charm. I cannot say enough about how lovely my romantic night was at this place right near the beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pharma20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ate here twice - at the sushi bar - during a recent trip to Laguna Beach. I would describe this place as having excellent sushi where the fish portions are a bit on the smaller side. Hence the price per serving is not as high as other sushi places I have visited. I prefer it this way as it allows to me to order more dishes and eat a more diverse array of sushi.

The maguro, hamachi, salmon, and the unagi were all excellent. Special mention to the unagi, cucumber and avocado roll which I think was one of the best examples of this dish I have ever eaten. Had it each time I visited.

The decor is nothing to write home about and the location is tucked away on a side street. But the place is friendly and the atmosphere is inviting. Recommended !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silicon_Valley_Guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Laguna also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sushi Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing