We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Arabella Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arabella Laguna
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in one of the suites here last week on a combination conference/ vacation trip to the West Coast and LOVED it! An easy 25-30 min commute into Annaheim on the days with meetings, and much better scenery to come home to. The bed was firmly sumptuous, the grounds were lovely, complete with little groups of outdoor seating and a bbq. Our kitchen was very well-appointed, including little things like wine glasses, a couple of big serving bowls, salt and pepper. Everything was upscale, charming, and very inviting. The place really is true to the pictures on their website. The shower was on the small side, not a problem for us but might be for very large individuals; it had plenty of hot water and lots of water pressure. Complete with shampoo, conditioner, and nice body wash. Parking was fine, we had our spot available every time we came home. Location is only a block from the beach, in a particularly beautiful section of Laguna Beach-- Heisler Park (I'm sure there are pix online) --lots of coves,each one prettier than the one before, for walking, snorkeling, swimming, kayaking, paddleboarding, etc. Be sure to check out the tidepools among the rocks and take the 15-min trip inshore to the Pacific Marine Mammal Center! We discovered a fantastic, cozy little waterfront Italian restaurant down the other end of town in South Laguna-- Ti Amo. Not inexpensive, but wonderful for a special evening out with friends. Overall, the entire trip wonderfully exceeded our best expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Arabella Laguna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Violet Suite. The pictures on the web-site are true to form; however, PARKING is an issue. Also, Tuesday and Wednesday are street sweeping days so you have to be careful not to get your vehicle towed by parking on the wrong day. The stairs up to the rooms on the second floor are a little steep and there are no handicap bars in the showers; so, be careful! All and all, I will definitely be returning to this lovely hide-a-way!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank DADouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Had the most wonderful stay at the Arabella Laguna! Hubby and I together with my sister and her husband stayed here during the Pageant of the Masters show. We reserved the Historic Myrtle Cottage. Lovely, lovely rooms! Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaSqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My family and I just stayed at Arabella Laguna and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Jacaranda Cottage and Delphinium Suite. The rooms were quaint, the grounds were beautiful, and the location was great. The children were able to safely run from room to room and play on the lawn and the adults were able to relax on the comfortable lawn furniture, enjoy the lush grounds and talk. When it was time to go to the beach, all we had to do was walk across the street and we were there. The same can be said for the grocery store and eateries. Arabella Laguna is charming and it made my family get away memorable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5MrsAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

As a prolonged layover on a trip to Hawaii we stayed two nights at the Arabella in Laguna Beach to visit with family from California. We were pleased to be upgraded to their cottage property for no extra charge.

The property was clean, cozy and pleasant. The location was phenomenal. Cross the street and walk for 2 minutes to be at a marvelous beach!

I wish that the property were managed more effectively though because it has such great potential. Interacting with the management was "mysterious". We made our reservations over the internet, but never got a confirmation e-mail (very unnerving when you make a credit card purchase!)- and had to call multiple times leaving requests on machines to finally confirm our reservation.

Signs on the property are virtually invisible, so you very easily wander around the neighborhood before finding the property - neighbors got perturbed that we might take their parking, this is apparently an issue.

The owners do not clearly communicate where to park - nor are you guaranteed to see them when you arrive. They literally leave the room/building "open" for you - and their is no "Welcome Letter" to at least affirm you are in the right place. It's weird to start your visit wondering if you have committed a 'Breaking and Entering" offense.

We noticed signs in the area indicating "for sale", so perhaps the owners are selling. I suspect that in the right hands of more active management this property would be a gold mine.

All this being said, after the weirdness of checking in without seeing anybody and bumbling around to figure out the mysteries of parking, we were very pleased with our stay and the remarkable neighborhood.

Room Tip: Consider asking for the cottage if it's available - may be worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband & I stayed at Arabella Laguna for a couple nights. We had the detached Jacaranda cottage. The whole property is so quaint with a beautifully maintained garden. The cottage was very nicely decorated and had a fully stocked kitchen! We definitely felt like we were in the home away from home. A very different experience from staying in a hotel.
There were only a few minor items which may not be bothersome to some people. The blinds in the bedroom can totally be seen through at night. It also was difficult in the morning to sleep in. We ended up hanging towels to try and get privacy. Also if you were staying with a family or friends because the cottage can accommodate up to people, the living room has a few windows with the same problem. The location can't be beat being only one block from the beach. The traffic noise was also a problem for me being a light sleeper. Check in time is 4pm and check out is 10am which is really early but they are nice enough to give a later check out if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lotus345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Absolutely charming! The one bedroom, kitchen, living room and bath was beyond belief. Every thing was spotless..big fluffy towels, decorations were wonderful...could have stayed a week. Other friends had a huge two bedroom upstairs apartment with flat screen tv's and everything one would need in the kitchen. Connie the manager was so helpful..waters in refrigerator and told as everything we needed to know about Laguna. I am very skeptical about internet reservations..but finding this made everyone think I had the magic touch. This is our to go to place in Laguna. Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newportlido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabella Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Laguna

Address: 506 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1565
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £154 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of days-gone-by, historic Arabella Laguna nestled under towering elms has all the comforts of home. Each cottage or suite has been refurbished in eclectic bungalow style. From its location on gallery row in North Laguna you are minutes to beach, town, shopping and as well as art galleries, museum and festivals. The four buildings surround a lush courtyard with barbecue for the guests' use. Each suite is appointed with fine linens, full kitchen, wireless connect and a TV with VCR. Perfect for a vacation getaway, small wedding, small corporate meetings, birthday parties and family reunions. Unique and enchanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arabella Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing