We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Ranch at Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach Lodge(Laguna Beach)
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach House(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn At Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$516
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montage Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$836
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$794
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$840
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$742
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
107
115
46
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
115
46
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranola barsacross the streetconvenience store next doorsmall pastriesfriendly place to staycrescent baypageant of the mastersfree underground parkingfun hotelsmall balconyfresh fruittrolley stopshort walkpool was heatedmain beachclean hotelocean view
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February and really appreciated this hotel. This is an older hotel that the current owners are still working on upgrading. The room is large enough and comfortable. It has a refrigerator and coffee maker, both useful. They offer a small breakfast (fresh fruit and some fresh pastries). There is a small pool.

Usefully, the hotel is just across the street from a road to access one of Laguna's beach coves. This beach has washrooms and is not crowded. It's also not a great surfing beach, so there are not a lot of surfers. (Of course, that's a drawback if you are one.) The hotel offers beach chairs and umbrellas (left by previous guests) which make a day at the beach much more pleasant. Unfortunately, they can't do anything about the temperature of the water in February.

The owners were most accommodating. We shortened our stay by a day and they had no problem with that. Further, they were happy to let us take hotel towels and beach chairs to the beach, and leave our car parked in their lot, after we had checked out.

My only complaint is that, due to the configuration of the room, the only place to watch TV from was in the bed. The room has a sofa bed, but it is next to the TV. I don't know if this is true of the other rooms.

The hotel is about a mile from the center of Laguna Beach, where the main beach, restaurants, shopping (Whole Foods), etc., are. That means either some walk or driving. But its cost is half to a fifth of the hotels that are closer to the center.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g26sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the hotel. Yes, some rooms have a different configuration. We hope you enjoyed visiting Laguna Beach. We welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The front desk lady was awesome, very nice and welcoming but whomever does the reservations needs a tune up. We stayed one night and the hotel itself needs work but was clean enough which is the minimum. I called later after checking out and was told no big deal come on in when you want and stay for another night. Came in at 8pm just to be told they didn't have a room for us and for some reason they thought we needed a pet friendly room so instead of the king non pet friendly room I made the second reservation for they thought I wanted a twin pet friendly. I was pretty pissed because they are lucky I live 45 minutes away and could drive home!!! Plus just spend an extra 10-20 bucks and go stay at the Inn at laguna beach. Way nicer, cleaner, competant staff (and friendly to boot) backs up to the beach and closer to the fun stuff in Laguna. Much better deal.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We always do our best to accommodate our guests. At the time of asking, we had a room available. Just before booking the rooms, we did our best to contact the guest to verify if they wanted an additional evening. We tried for hours, with no luck in trying to reach her, afterward concluding to book the room. When the room was originally booked, the reservation stated there was a pet - and we were never told there wasn't a pet. We have 6 rooms that are pet friendly; we would have loved to save the pet friendly room for a pet.

So there was just a communication gap between the reservations that were made, the guest and our check in staff. We do apologize, and as always - as a single owner/operator, we do our best to make our guests as comfortable as possible. And we do our best to "fix" anything, if made aware of it.

We do hope you enjoyed Laguna Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I read several reviews about this property before I decided to book here. I really enjoy staying at "mom and pop' type of places and this one is right up there.

When we arrived we were greeted and given instructions on where and how to get to the beach, etc. Most of the hotels in Laguna Beach are off the ocean but there are a few that are ocean side ($$$ from what I saw). We didn't mind walking the block or so to Vista Point and then down to the beach-which has cliffs and rocks intermixed with the beaches. We stayed at Crescent Beach and explored the tide pools and watch a WHALE and dolphins along with seals and sealions.

We stayed here Dec 30 in room 213-one of the desk employees favorite rooms-it even has a view of the ocean! And you can sit on a small balcony. This room overlooks the pool and is right next to the hot tub.

The room was clean, plentiful bath linens, coffee, refrig, blowdryer, door to the room and bathroom closed quietly and you could be in the bathroom without the fan going! Yipee (one of my pet peeves for hotel rooms). It was quiet too, no noticeable road traffic noise whatsoever.

Breakfast snacks-Danish, juice and fruit were served at the office desk. A nice touch which my family appreciated.

Yes, the motel might need a little sprucing up but I can't fault the room and we enjoyed our stay. The only thing I would have changed in our room is the wall (paper) color and asked for a couple more pillows.

The hotel staff was very appreciative of my suggestions I made and thanked me graciously. When asked about where to eat, they suggested Dicks but we wanted seafood so we drove (nothing is very far south of this hotel, all an easy drive away) down to The Big House of Fish and Ice Cold Beer. (check that review as well!)

They told us the easiest way to get to the airport, etc. This hotel staff deserves a pat on the back. They even printed off my boarding passes for me! Thanks!

Our room was less than $150 including taxes, had free underground parking and an elevator. It seems to me that if you booked for a week the rate was very inexpensive. This would be a good 'home base' inbetween the Dana Point area/attractions and attractions up north for a good price.

Room Tip: Stay in 213- nice view and quiet too!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyPrairieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your stay, we are a proud "Mom and Pop" hotel. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at the Art Hotel several times but the last two times we've noticed it's looking a bit neglected. At first glance of the rooms they seem nice. However the beds that haven't been replaced need to - now. The bathrooms pretty much in every unit need to be updated - now. The microwave in our room had not "feet" on ye bottom so it sat wobbling on the mini-fridge. I decided to take a closer look at the inside of it as well because you never know if they get cleaned too well in hotels. Well I've posted a pic of the inside and it was horrible. This thing should be banned, no kidding. The coating on the inside was completely burned/peeled off. Mold in the shower and in the wallpaper and the grout on the tile floor needs to be bleached. I'm so unimpressed and saddened that fairly simple maintenance issues that will be quite an impression on guests are not being taken care of. Not sure if we'll be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Harvickfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your stay, and we apologize for your inconvenience. Being a single operator with this hotel, it's often difficult to catch everything. We heavily rely on our guests to share their experiences, positive or negative. And sometimes our cleaning crew doesn't catch things either. As soon as we read this comment, I immediately dropped what I was doing and purchased a new microwave.

As far as the ceiling crack, it's our time of the year to bring in maintenance and review each room. We are thankful for this "problem", but it's hard for our maintenance people to work in a room because we're constantly booked.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and the situations have been solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the art hotel for two nights. When we arrived, the owner was very helpful with attractions to visit and made us feel very welcome! The hotel room was clean and cosy and our beds were made daily. The hotel was close to all amenities and only minutes walk to crystal cove and beautiful beach view cliffs and cafe's. There were a few issues with the wifi connection, however the owner repaired problem minutes after informed. Overall, it was a nice and easy stay with a touch of art to brighten your stay! We will visit again in summer for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estellee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your stay at the hotel. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay. We are very active in our community, which we love very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews