We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I was looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I just got back from a two night stay. I had to come to town for personal business on my own dime with some buddies. It is in a good location, yes within walking distance to the main downtown area. It is maybe a mile or so. The room is fairly basic but clean. Parking is great and free, unlike some of the fancy schmancy places that nail you to park. Pool is small but gets you wet when needed. You get very basic shampoo and soap but many women bring their own anyways. It could be somewhat noisy in some rooms but no more so than many of the places on the PCH. I'd try to get 205, 206, 209-211 if I were to go back. If you want clean cheapish lodging in Laguna Beach this is a place to consider.

Room Tip: I'd ask for 205-206 or 209-211.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Shorties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Laguna Beach, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    105
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
85
103
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The room was dark, dingy, and wreaked of cigarette smoke. Even worse was the deodorizer they used to try and mask the odor. I went back to the desk and asked for another room. The manager (owner?) said there wasn't another room available. Her exact words were, "we're booked and we just can't "build another room for you." I told her I couldn't stay in a room where the cigarette stench was so prevalent. She said it's obvious you don't want to stay here. At least they refunded the cost of the room, but that left me in Laguna Beach on a Saturday without a room. Fortunately, I checked into the last room available at the Laguna Cliffs Hotel a short distance away and it was very nice. A little more expensive, but worth it. I won't go near the Art Hotel again, nor would I ever recommend it to anyone. Would rather sleep on the beach.

Room Tip: The only "tip" I can offer is don't be influenced by the price of the rooms at the Art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
First of all - we apologize for the inconvenience anyone experiences here. We do have a "No Smoking" policy, unfortunately we can't watch what our guests do behind closed doors. We do our best to resolve all issues the best we can; however there are times when a guest chooses to leave. We would have continued working with this guest, but our small hotel of 28 rooms were completely booked and we were very happy to refund her, or let her stay. We're very happy you were not left on the streets and found somewhere else to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I were traveling through Laguna Beach and decided to stay over. We found the Art Hotel, I had heard it was a very nice place to stay for the price in a good location. Our room was quite a surprise!!! The furnishings, bedding, linens and touches were 5 star quality. The outside deck area was being repainted, as part of a freshen-up plan. We were very happy with our room and accommodations. The owner, Gail, was very helpful with tips for places to see and go for the time we were in town. I have already recommended it to my friends!
Carol Lowman

Room Tip: we had a view of the pool and the ocean in the distance....it was "walkable."
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mscarollowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Art Hotel ... we enjoyed you as a guest. We welcome you back anytime you're in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Room was clean but dated...and only slightly resembled the pics on the hotel's web site in terms of decor. Extra blanket found in the closet had holes in it. Peeling paint around the entrance door, cheap brown carpet and a general look of age throughout the room.

Parking underground was easy and convenient.

Light sleepers beware: the bar fridge in the room will gurgle and hiss, and you'll wake each morning to the traffic on the Coast Highway. A/C unit is noisy.

You can walk to local shops, but you'll be walking right next to fast-moving traffic.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the traffic...and ask to see the room first. From the sound of some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your stay at the hotel. Unfortunately traffic can be very noisy; it being the busiest hwy in the city. We are a small family owned hotel, and sometimes things do go unnoticed - however, we'll address any issue as soon as possible, if told by our guests. We hope you enjoyed Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February and really appreciated this hotel. This is an older hotel that the current owners are still working on upgrading. The room is large enough and comfortable. It has a refrigerator and coffee maker, both useful. They offer a small breakfast (fresh fruit and some fresh pastries). There is a small pool.

Usefully, the hotel is just across the street from a road to access one of Laguna's beach coves. This beach has washrooms and is not crowded. It's also not a great surfing beach, so there are not a lot of surfers. (Of course, that's a drawback if you are one.) The hotel offers beach chairs and umbrellas (left by previous guests) which make a day at the beach much more pleasant. Unfortunately, they can't do anything about the temperature of the water in February.

The owners were most accommodating. We shortened our stay by a day and they had no problem with that. Further, they were happy to let us take hotel towels and beach chairs to the beach, and leave our car parked in their lot, after we had checked out.

My only complaint is that, due to the configuration of the room, the only place to watch TV from was in the bed. The room has a sofa bed, but it is next to the TV. I don't know if this is true of the other rooms.

The hotel is about a mile from the center of Laguna Beach, where the main beach, restaurants, shopping (Whole Foods), etc., are. That means either some walk or driving. But its cost is half to a fifth of the hotels that are closer to the center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g26sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Public Relations Manager at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the hotel. Yes, some rooms have a different configuration. We hope you enjoyed visiting Laguna Beach. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The front desk lady was awesome, very nice and welcoming but whomever does the reservations needs a tune up. We stayed one night and the hotel itself needs work but was clean enough which is the minimum. I called later after checking out and was told no big deal come on in when you want and stay for another night. Came in at 8pm just to be told they didn't have a room for us and for some reason they thought we needed a pet friendly room so instead of the king non pet friendly room I made the second reservation for they thought I wanted a twin pet friendly. I was pretty pissed because they are lucky I live 45 minutes away and could drive home!!! Plus just spend an extra 10-20 bucks and go stay at the Inn at laguna beach. Way nicer, cleaner, competant staff (and friendly to boot) backs up to the beach and closer to the fun stuff in Laguna. Much better deal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail D, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We always do our best to accommodate our guests. At the time of asking, we had a room available. Just before booking the rooms, we did our best to contact the guest to verify if they wanted an additional evening. We tried for hours, with no luck in trying to reach her, afterward concluding to book the room. When the room was originally booked, the reservation stated there was a pet - and we were never told there wasn't a pet. We have 6 rooms that are pet friendly; we would have loved to save the pet friendly room for a pet.

So there was just a communication gap between the reservations that were made, the guest and our check in staff. We do apologize, and as always - as a single owner/operator, we do our best to make our guests as comfortable as possible. And we do our best to "fix" anything, if made aware of it.

We do hope you enjoyed Laguna Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel - Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel - Laguna Beach

Property: Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Address: 1404 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Hotel - Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable hotel is only a skip away from the downtown shops and galleries. Located a stroll from Crescent Bay and Beach. It offers 1 or 2 bed accommodations with microwave, fridge, WIFI, free parking and heated pool, & a talented artist in every room, besides around the entire property. Randy Morgan Gallery is also now on the property. Randy created to bas-relief murals around the pool area in 2016. This hotel boasts of being the closet to the gorgeous Crystal Cove State Park, Crescent Bay Park and Pelican Hills Golf Course. "Free" Trolley is available every week-end: 4-11PM Friday, 11AM-11PM Saturday, 11AM-8PM SUNDAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Hotel - Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Laguna Beach
Art Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing