We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Dear Grace and Paul,
It was such a pleasure meeting you and we feel priviliged to have spent a week at your charming, cosy and welcoming motel. Our visit to Laguna Beach could have stayed just like that and after leaving, we would happily recommend it to anyone. But you both gave this place such an unusually and friendly atmosphere. It´s not easy to describe but all six of us were quite agree that it was like a second home. The other guests were more like neighbours and this was mutual. We look forward to visit you soon again.
Marjalena, Dag, Tina, Ingemar, Pia and Peter. Stockholm, Sweden.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dag_Roise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We chose this motel because it was the only reasonably priced lodging in Laguna Beach, and we weren't disappointed. While the building and rooms are standard motel fare, the owners and location are not. Laguna Beach may be the most beautiful place we've ever been (on par with Hawaii). It was a short walk across the street to Crescent Bay Park, which offered great views of the cliffs, the seals lounging on the rocks, and much of the Laguna Beach coastline. The free summer trolley took us to along the beaches to downtown for dinner (the Greeter's Corner restaurant at the south end of the main beach was a great family find with great views). The husband and wife owners of the motel took the time to give us background on the town and point out the best spots for the best views (Alta Laguna Park is at the top of the hills and has 360 views and a nice park for the kids). The rooms were a bit dated but roomy, and ours had a balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Parking was free, and there are danishes, fruit and juice included as well. This is not a luxury hotel But it is a great spot for a stopover in one of the most scenic places you'll ever visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We were just looking for an affordable place too stay near the beach after our cruise and visit too Disneland. This place was perfect...Nothing fancy, but quiet and clean and close too the beach. We just crossed the street and took the sidewalks that led right down too a beautiful beach..There was a big rock coming out of the ocean with sealions basking in the sun...Lots of tide pools that my daughter loved exploring. The pool at the hotel was clean and refreshing. The owners were a delight...So helpful and full of advice on the best places too eat..They sent us down too Dana Point and we ate a restaurant right on the pier..It was it was like the Fishermans wharf or something close too that. We sat on outside and it was spectacular...We had long island ice teas and ordered just some appetizers and salad it was wonderful..The sunset was so beautiful and the surfers were all out in the water....After eating we walked too the end of the pier and got cotton candy and for us Midwesterners it was heaven....Just as I dreamed California would be....It was a wonderufl trip and the drive too Dana Points was so breathtaking. It was a brief stay at the Art Hotel and Laguna beach, but one I will always remember..I do hope too come back someday for a longer stay....

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babyjosie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed during the busy presidents day weekend. We got a great rate - you're a block away from one of the best sunset spots ever. The owner was very sweet and took great care of us. If you're looking to save some bucks and are ok with a basic, clean, motel room (our room had a refrigerator and a microwave) this is the place for you. There is some street noise - but they double pained the windows so it's not that bad.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachloverandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We got disappointed when we saw that the art hotel was covered by another hotel across the street with an ocean view. The bed was squeaky. It seemed that they remodeled their lobby which was nice. Although, they should remodel their rooms too and change their comforters to modernize the room. The ocean view rooms are more like partial view. On the other hand, they have a pool and a jacuzzi which can be used anytime as long as you'll be quiet, the owner said. I called almost all the hotels around the area and all of them were way more expensive. This is the cheapest rate that we got for $89 for a monday night and she upgraded our room with a balcony ocean view. That was nice but still, I think it was a bit pricey for a Monday night and the room was small. They definitely need to change their blow dryer in the bathroom. It was so old school that when my boyfriend and I saw it, we didn't know what it was and when I picked it up, we both got scared because air blew so hard and it sounded like a vacuum cleaner. Overall, it was okay but compare to all the hotels and inns that we've been to, art hotel is on our bottom list. If you're on budget, you really have no choice but to get what you pay for plus it's the location that makes it expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dntnid2knwmuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailDC51, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2009

This guest was not the person who made the reservation, and was disappointed to be in an economy hotel. I always email the confirmation and I have no recent record of this email address, so I assume the partner made the reservation because our rates were attractive. Upgrading rooms with the talent of Laguna artists is in our off season plans for the Art Hotel - Laguna Beach. These guests gave me no feedback during their stay, more often guests give feedback in helping us keep the rooms in tip/top shape. The neighborhood of North Laguna is beyond belief with Crescent Bay Park by Seal Rock and Cresecent Bay Beach. I am honored to be an economy hotel in this neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

as a forty year visitor to laguna beach, i've stayed in many hotels ranging from the montage and surf and sand (two of the most expensive hotels) to the smaller, independently owned hotels. when i needed a room during the height of this past season, my regular hotel was sold out and i was referred to the art hotel. i called and reserved their last room and was quoted a very comptetive price. i was pleasantly surprised when i checked in. the hotel has been refurbished and is very clean and the service is excellent. the owners go the extra mile to make sure their guests are taken care of. i don't know of another hotel in laguna that is better for the price and the north laguna convenience. i would stronly recommend the art hotel to any traveler not needing the expensive, on the beach, accommodations.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
3  Thank lalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailDC51, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

you are close to crescent beach.
you are on the free trolley line.
you are near many fine restaurants.

nice outdoors corridors, open spaces with sitting areas.

very friendly hosts, accomodating & warm.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brampark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.6 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#18 of 23 in Laguna Beach
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#10 of 23 in Laguna Beach
496 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel - Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel - Laguna Beach

Address: 1404 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £100 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Hotel - Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable hotel is only a skip away from the downtown shops and galleries. Located a stroll from Crescent Bay and Beach. It offers 1 or 2 bed accommodations with microwave, fridge, WIFI, free parking and heated pool, & a talented artist in every room, besides around the entire property. Randy Morgan Gallery is also now on the property. Randy created to bas-relief murals around the pool area in 2016. This hotel boasts of being the closet to the gorgeous Crystal Cove State Park, Crescent Bay Park and Pelican Hills Golf Course. "Free" Trolley is available every week-end: 4-11PM Friday, 11AM-11PM Saturday, 11AM-8PM SUNDAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Hotel - Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Laguna Beach
Art Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing