We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food In Delightful Surroundings”
Review of Asada Laguna - CLOSED

Asada Laguna
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Good Food In Delightful Surroundings”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner at Asada, located right across the street from the beach in an open air setting. The shrimp quesadillas and carne asada entrees were outstanding, the service was prompt and friendly, and the drinks were expertly crafted and refreshing.

One small issue (which has nothing to do with the restaurant itself) is that parking can be a problem. We ended up parking in the public pay lots one and half blocks east of the restaurant. It's a short walk from there. Don't try parking on the street--you won't find parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalnutBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food with a view over the Pacific”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This place has some really good food. The portions are huge, a nacho appetizer could easily be shared by two people for a main course. Since the prices are competitive in comparison to the portion size, the value is superb. Their drinks are good and the service was also to our satisfaction. The best thing was however the view over the Pacific ocean. Would really recommend this place and would definitely go here again when in Laguna Beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank isomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing experience......”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Was invited by a large group of friends, first time for me at Asada but must of them are regulars, I have to say that I'll be back as well, wait such a large table is not an easy task but we had no problem at all with the service, ordering drinks and food, we were all very pleased......I have to comeback for Taco Tuesday next time I am in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Did not our honor reservation!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a long day traveling, and arrived late in Laguna. Our hotel was good enough to help us find 10pm dinner reservations at Asada. However when we showed up, they said they closed the kitchen early because it was a slow night, and they refused to honor our reservation. The attitude was one of extreme indifference - horrible customer service ethic. We went next door to Nick's instead, and they were more then happy to serve us!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canada2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucky Taco Tuesday!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Amazing service - infinite patience with tired travelers,, simple fresh and fabulous food & divine margaritas. Coming back tomorrow night!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KandAplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asada Laguna also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing