We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Top Notch”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed in a basic room for four nights at Montage Laguna on October. Everything about the property was outstanding, including some of the best views you will see anywhere. There's a certain understated elegance about the hotel that really appealed to me. But it was the service that was truly outstanding. Each staff member truly seemed genuine and was very, very polished. When I lleft here I stayed at two different very high end luxury properties for business in Northern California, and there was simply no comparison. If it's humanly possible for me to return in 2014 I will be doing so. If I had any critique at all it is that for a very basic breakfast, it's simply over the top on the pricing. I am prepared to pay some permium at a wonderful place like this, but it was too much in my view. After one breakfast, I went off property for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ocean front or view might well be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    173
    61
    32
    24
See reviews for
281
466
34
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was the fourth time we had stayed here and it keeps getting better. The location is fantastic with breathtaking sea views from the bar, restaurants and many rooms. The best part of the hotel is the service which was second to none.

We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a room with a balcony with a fantastic sea view.

Our only grumble was the cost of the parking. This is not a cheap hotel and given all on offer nor should it be BUT $36 a day plus tax & tips gave us a parking charge over $170 for 4 days!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AceTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I’m glad your guestroom balcony afforded you stunning views of the Pacific. Your comments and feedback are truly valued and I will bring them to the attention of our team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another fantastic visit.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
707 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A second stay at this property. Room was fair sized, facing the pool and south. Cannot say enough about the staff, amenities, food, pool, and overall location. This is one hotel that must be experienced, as they get it right. My only wish: to stay longer!

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean, the hotel is a bit complex to navigate, but a lot of fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We came for 4 nights and stayed for 7! That says it all...
The view and the pool are really awesome. The staff was incredibly friendly throughout the whole resort. Special thanks to Milos (the front desk manager) who was extremely professional and accommodating in handling a misunderstanding about our booking.
We travelled with a baby and felt very comfortable at the resort. People seem to enjoy having kids around.
Overall from now on one of our favorite places to go in the U.S.!
One minor talking point: Coffee needs to be improved. But the food was really nice, even room service.

Room Tip: one bedroom suite is really big and has a nice terrace and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Please join us again soon! We are eager to recreate your pleasant experience and proud to be among one of your favorite places to travel in the U.S.

Best,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location and top notch service. The view is spetacular and the rooms are very nice. Food is fantastic and the facility is well managed. Wish I had taken my family along for this trip. Definitely next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BonoH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Amazing 5 star establishment! Living in Orange County, loved to spend lazy afternoons on days off in their breath taking property. The Views are out of this World and the Spa just hits the spot!
There is no comparison with Ritz or any other's! This is the Best place to unwind in Laguna. Period. With more than 3 restaurants on site- be ready to experience the Best California has to offer. Went back many, many times. Always Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kuddos from Alina Beck Arizona AZ

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlinaBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is paradise. the staff is extremely nice and accommodating, the views are amazing, the rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet, the pool and beachfront is fantastic. it is pricey but it is totally worth the price. the restaurant (Le Studio) is great too, it is the perfect romantic weekend or family vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwan_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Beach
2.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
2.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
7.1 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Property: Montage Laguna Beach
Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including including rejuvenating wellness options at the 20,000-square-foot Spa Montage; gourmet dining at Studio, The Loft, or Mosaic Bar and Grille; outdoor relaxing by one of two onsite pool decks; and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing