We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montage Laguna Beach
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just checked out several hours ago from room 413. The Montage Laguna Beach is set on a spectacular cliff side of a picturesque spot that can be described one word: "Unbelievable!" From the time you walk into the charming lobby with a panoramic view of the ocean, to the splendor of the perfectly manicured grounds, this property is simply amazing. From the hallways to your room, you'll be awed by how immaculate they maintain the Montage. It's a truly a testament to how well it's managed from the the top, to the warmth and embrace of the staff, including Milos, Catelyn, Fabien from the Studio and Eric, our server from the Loft. The restaurants were elegant, befitting the California lifestyle with the overall dining experience superbly delicious. We just can't wait to come back, again, and again. Thank you for a memorable stay!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversaryat the Montage Laguna Beach.Early January 2014.
We were welcomed warmly ,feeling comfortable as soon as we entered the reception area.The immediate view is breathtaking.The lounge area is beautifully furnished,but not stuffy.Totally family friendly ,saw several people with children.They serve drinks in the lounge ,one can sit on one of the comfy couches & totally relax.
The room was amazing ,with a lovey seating area with a small table.The balcony faced the glorious garden & beyond the blue Pacific Ocean.
There were chairs & table on the balcony which were extremely comfortable.
The marble bathroom was a dream,with a giant soaking tub,plus beautiful shower room.The toilet was separate.Georgeous robes & linens made this a total luxury.
The bedding was totally wonderful ,with a purchase list should you wish.
We ate dinner in the restaurant it was superb.

Room Tip: We faced the ocean & could not have wished for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 204alexcOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We were honored to be the site of your 20th anniversary; what an incredible milestone! I hope this was just one of many luxurious retreats to our oceanfront property.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were escorted to our room and given champagne and apple cider for my girls. All rooms have beach views with a balcony. The bathrooms are large, clean and comfortable. My girls and my niece all fit in the bathtub and had a wonderful bath. The girls were also allowed to choose a sea-stuffed animal from the basket in the reception area. The breakfast in the LOFT was amazing. My girls still talk about the chocolate crepes.
Love This place.

Room Tip: Quiet, beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Guapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort. We especially loved the spa treatments... very professional and so relaxing, we felt like we had all the time in the world. The rooms were beautiful and I loved the soft robes! I would've given it 5 stars but I feel like there are other hotels in the area that offer a little more grandeur for the expensive rates... but Montage really is stunning and I have nothing bad to say about this beautiful resort! Also, we saw a wedding there while we were dining... if we ever do vow renewals, this would be a great choice!

Room Tip: Get an Ocean front! Wow what a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We just celebrated our 19th anniversary at the Montage. Everything was perfect. We arrived a little early, and our room was not ready. The front desk was very accommodating and took my cell number so they could call as soon as it was done. It actually gave us a little time to familiarize ourselves with the property, as this was our first stay at the Montage. As we walked to our room we were a little concerned as it seemed like we went down quite a few hallways to get to our room. Our fears we were instantly relieved as we entered our room and realized were we had actually gone. We had a fantastic view of beach and ocean, and ended up preferring having a room that was towards the south end of the property, It gave it more of a feel of a private residence with an amazing view. It was very quiet, and you could easily hear the surf.

The staff was all aware it was our anniversary and continuously acknowledge it. That really made it seem special. We had champagne it the room and the second night which was our actual anniversary, they delivered complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries which again said congratulations. These are the little things the make you want to go back.

The room itself is spotless and very bright. The L shaped sofa made a nice seating area, and the deck was a perfect spot for two to watch the sunset.

It was our first time at the Montage, and we will go back.

Room Tip: We found the rooms to the south end to be the best and most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fredbvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a superb oceanfront resort. The accommodations, the spa, hair salon, walking path, restaurants, children's activities, are all outstanding. Upon our arrival, I quickly took notice of the great customer service. However, by the middle of my New Year's Week Stay, it was obvious that the staff was frazzled by the very large number of hotel guests as well as those who were coming into the hotel who were not staying at the resort. The lesson to be learned here is not to visit during holiday season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It wasn't because it was New Years nor was it because I was with so many dear friends -- it was BECAUSE this is one of those hotels that can do no wrong! Well, actually they can BUT the big difference is they do it wrong in such a nice way!! In fact, we started to come up with ideas that MIGHT allow us to experience their "I'm Sorry" service. Each one was special in its own way. We literally got an apology for a light bulb going out in the room. How in the world are you supposed to know when a light bulb is going to go out!? It is fair to say -- the rooms were immaculate --- the food amazing -- and I can't think of one thing that was wrong except it was just wrong that we had to leave after the New Year -- but what a way to start. We even had to get into the spirit and buy a thank you gift for the concierges who went out of there way to help us on a golf excursion. Really felt like a home away from home. NO pretense with all the glam!

Room Tip: The bungalows were where we originally were going to stay -- thought they would be more private but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkfitzmaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Montage Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for ringing in the New Year at Montage Laguna Beach. I hope your fabulous stay set the tone for a wonderful 2014! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Beach
2.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
2.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Laguna Beach

Address: 30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £528 - £864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Laguna Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Laguna Beach is a luxury California beach resort where guests enjoy premium services including including rejuvenating wellness options at the 20,000-square-foot Spa Montage; gourmet dining at Studio, The Loft, or Mosaic Bar and Grille; outdoor relaxing by one of two onsite pool decks; and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montage Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Hotel Laguna Beach
Montage Resort Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing