We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, shabby, shabby chic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy, shabby, shabby chic!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel and I must say the staff was very nice, but......the rooms very very motel quality. It was more expensive than Las Brisas for so much less. My biggest problem was the morning noise. We booked last minute, so we were given the room next to housekeeping, who were loudly talking at 7 am on SUNDAY. Casa or Las Brisas are much better choices for Laguna in the $200 range!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolagatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
While I'm happy that our staff made you feel welcome, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the rest of your stay. I understand how frustrating it must have been to be awakened by our cleaning staff in the morning. Did you request a different room? Even though your reservation was last-minute, we would have been happy to find you another room if any were available. I'm sorry about this, but I hope you'll give us another opportunity to impress you next time you're in Laguna Beach. Thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    381
    172
    146
    134
See reviews for
399
544
50
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have stayed at the Pacific Edge Hotel probably 8 times, all while working in the OC area. I choose to stay here because the location is great, as I have travel to Newport, Costa Mesa, SJC, etc, and it is very easy to get to all of these places. I could stay in some corporate hotel in Santa Ana or Anaheim, but I stick with this Hotel for a number of reasons.

It's a great value. Even the cheapest room is 50 steps from the beach and you can generally afford them on a work budget. I work all day then spend some time on the beach in the complimentary lounge chairs, or getting some of the great food at the Beach House or the Deck. Around half the times I go, I have gotten an upgrade just for asking.

The staff is great. I have gotten to know the front desk staff well enough by now that they greet me by first name, offer me an upgrade (I got the top floor ocean view last time) and they do a stellar job. Talk to my man Steven (I think that's his name, hes a small Asian guy) and he will hook you up with any request you may have. They work hard to be accommodating here, without that Hilton/Marriott generic feel/training style.

The location is perfect. Right on the water, walk-able from Main Beach, and you literally have the ocean lapping at your balcony if you are on those rooms.

The rooms are clean, spacious and fit my needs perfectly. I have never had any complaints about cleanliness or room size or location. Everything about the rooms, from my 8 experiences, has been perfect.

If you are looking to stay at something like the Montage, well, this ain't your spot. If you are looking for a great, non-pretentious, fun, perfect, affordable, chill hotel, then this is.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. You'll want to stay in the tower across Sleepy Hollow Ln.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Jeff,

It's wonderful to hear that we've helped you make the most of your work trips. I'm proud to see how impressed you've been with our staff. Everyone really does want to make sure that you have a great stay, and I'm glad they've been able to hook you up. I'll be sure to share this with everyone — I know they'll be happy to hear from you! Thanks for the kind words. They mean so much to us. I'm sure we'll be seeing you again soon!

Take care,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The location is amazing. We lived in Laguna when we first got married and its a hard location to beat.
Pros:
Super cheap.. best price was on website AAA rate
Literally on the Ocean
Comfortable beds (minus hard pillows but thats preference)
Right in the middle of downtown.. walk to everything
Friendly Staff
Friendly Valet Service
The Deck restaurant has an insanely amazing view.. happy hour is well worth it.

Cons: Itty Bitty Room about 4 feet on each side of the bed and thats it.
Bathroom could really use some remodeling..
Not the thickest of walls

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
I'm so happy that we could help you reminisce about your time as newlyweds in Laguna. It sounds like you both had a fabulous time! Of course, this is easy to accomplish with a beautiful beach view like ours.

I'm sorry that you were a bit disappointed with your room. Some of our rooms are on the smaller side, but all of the fixtures should be up-to-date. What room were you staying in? There's always room for improvement, so I'm happy to go back and take a look at what needs to be updated.

Thanks so much for your honest feedback. It's a great way to show us the areas in which we need a little work. We're proud that everyone made you feel so comfortable. Thank you again. We hope to see you next time you're in town.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I would like to comment on my stay there for one night on May 13th in room 125. Yes, the property could use some updating but overall, everyone there was accommodating and gracious, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable, the ocean front view was incredible and the location is right in near the middle of town close to shops and restaurants. Also, the price was half of what other ocean front rooms were in Laguna that weekend. I loved this place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay! There's nothing better than waking up to a beautiful view of the beach. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in town.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel was clean and manageable but not up to the standard of other JDV Hotels or worth the price. The hotel seemed to spend their money in the wrong places. The hotel welcomed us with a hand written card and bottle of wine, but this couldn't cover up for the fact that the hotel needed some serious TLC and updating. The walls are paper thin and doors and cabinets very old thin wood. The hotel was painted in cheery colors but pillows and beds were lumpy. They promoted the hotel as having a full kitchen but had no plates, dinnerware, microwave, or toaster. If you are coming here and have no where else to stay, this place will work. But looking for a great vacation spot.... I vote no.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 484AshleyT484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
I'm sorry that you were disappointed. We take pride in making each guest feel comfortable, so it's upsetting that you felt your room was not up to par.

It is unfortunate we did not inform you, but we do have kitchen kits avaliable upon request. Furthermore, your bed should not have been lumpy. I will make sure that every bed is in perfect condition.

There is always room for improvement, and your review inspires us to do better. Thanks for bringing these concerns to my attention. I hope you'll give us another opportunity to impress you next time you're in Laguna Beach.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Too much to mention I stayed in room 208 great location for beach access and shopping and restaurants service was impeccable nothing bad to say can't wait to go back parking is 22 bucks a night but hey it's laguna and parking is all paid parking everyone should give this hotel a try you will not be sorry

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigsexyandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
There's nothing better than relaxing on the beach! Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location! Front Desk was extremely friendly and accomodating with my requests. The deck had an amazing menu! The warm pita bread with a delicous hummus and olive mixture that even my boyfriend, who dispises ALL olives, couldn't keep his hands off of and the calamari was very fresh and serve with an amazing jalapeno tartar (to die for)! I'm a huge bloody mary fan on mornings when I am planning on relaxing for the day and I have sincerely not had a spicy bloody mary that was perfectly made in months! The deck's spicy bloody mary was soooo good and definitely perfectly made. Juan the bartender was ON IT and managed to bartend the entire restaurant but still engage just enough in conversation with us to let us know we were on his priority list at all times! The room itself had an incredible view of the ocean! You could look our from our ocean front room and see the ocean as far as you could possibly sea. Waking up and falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing...can't get any better than that! Excellent service, increidble views, great food, killer bloody marys...we'll definitely be back to the Pacific Edge!

Room Tip: Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go! and it's unbelievably affordable for what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Jamie,

Sounds like an excellent getaway! I'm so glad we could help you and your boyfriend relax on the beach. Of course, a bloody mary never hurts! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you're in Laguna Beach!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing