We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Pacific Edge is a bit on the pricey side, but well worth it for location and view. The property can use some updating on the exterior, but the rooms are nice, clean and comfy. It is worth paying extra and getting a room in the ocean!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfromNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Those ocean-side rooms are something, aren't they? Happy to hear we impressed you! Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts, and we can't wait to welcome you back to sunny California.

Sincerely,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    370
    165
    141
    129
See reviews for
382
524
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our first room was right on the road side and I had great difficulty sleeping due to noise from road.Room was also in need of serious updating. In the morning I called Madison at the front desk and asked if another room was available. She said she would check & call me back. Within 5 minutes, she called and changed us to an updated room overlooking the pool in the Surf Wing.
I was travelling with 4 other women and Madison took it upon herself to move ALL of us to the Surf wing.We were very impressed with the GREAT customer service. Even though our room was not on the beach, the hotel is on the beach. We did enjoy an afternoon at the beach. Definitely would recommend Pacific Edge, but not a room on Pacific HWY .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank estelle43_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
It was our pleasure to upgrade your room, Estelle! Madison is going to be absolutely thrilled to hear how much she impressed you and your friends. Thanks for letting us know, and for the lovely review. We hope to welcome all of you back again next year—or sooner!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Amazing views, beautiful hotel, fell in love with this place!! Javid is the best host ever, most welcoming person I have met in a hotel. I travel the world and if you decide to come to Laguna please come see Javid, he will direct to the right locations, make you feel like a local and start your vacation off the way it should be! Thank you Javid for making my vacation perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsolutKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Javid is going to be so happy to hear from you! I'm thrilled that he and the rest of our team made you feel welcome, and that you enjoyed every minute of your stay. Thanks, Kristen! Looking forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here years ago when it was Vacation Village. Cleaned up since then. For me the main attraction is that you are literally on the beach. My room was clean, freshly painted, everything worked; including large fridge and coffee maker with very good in room coffee. One queen bed, dinette, kitchenette.

Staff was very polite and very helpful. There's a charge for parking and valet system. This means your car is available--never took more than 5 minutes for me--and it doesn't get parking lot dents.

This is within walking distance of downtown Laguna Beach--and all the services and activities there. There is a trolley in summer.

Visited at height of season and found no wild, loud parties, and pretty much no real noise after about 11pm. Lots of activities for kids and wine tasting and so on, hosted by the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors have incredible ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Laguna Beach is the perfect place for a relaxing late-summer get away! It sounds like you had a lovely time with us, Ron, and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your room. Thanks for the kind words, and come back and see us next time you need some sun!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

It's a very nice hotel to stay. It's right on the beach end the staff is so nice and helpful. Carolyn the activity coordinator was great with the kids and made sure we always knew what kind of activities were available to us. And there are so many to choose from.loved the painting lessons on the beach.
It was clean and in walking distance to everything. Just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizsvenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Yes, those beach-side painting lessons are always a blast! We're delighted that you and your family had such a lovely stay, and we really appreciate your kind feedback. Thanks, and keep us in mind next time you need a little sunshine!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I loved my trip to Pacific Edge. The staff were great all around, especially the beach attendants and the carolyn who did activities. Smores were amazing and I had never had them with reeses before. The location of the hotel is great too as it is within walking distance to everything. Loved the Taco Bell next door as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3kkandies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We loved having you here! Thank you for making us a part of your trip, and for the wonderful review. We hope to have you back next summer—or sooner!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The experience here is California Beach. Do not look for lots of extras or luxury in the design of the rooms themselves - or of the hotel (not a great place for those with mobility issues). That said, location is great for walking Laguna & for taking the summer trolley. The beach is wonderful & beach service ( including chairs, towels, umbrellas & very helpful beach staff) is complementary & fabulous! Beds are comfy, linens nice enough & most room towels are fluffy. Keurig coffee makers & fridges in rooms are convenient touches as is complimentary coffee in lobby. Our first night was in a room by the street that had not yet been renovated and sleep was impossible. Front desk staff Madison was understanding & moved us to a room near the beach & off the street that had been nicely renovated. Thank you! If you can afford it, beach front rooms are the best.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the street. Ask for a building as near the beach as possible. Beach fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Yes, those beach front rooms are pretty great! I'm glad we were able to move you, Dianne, and that you had a lovely time with us. Thank you, and we can't wait to have you back next time you need a little sun!

Regards.
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing