We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Amazing Service, Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My amazing expierence started with the excellent Customer service at check in provided by Javid Bholat. He made sure that every question was answered, that our accommodations was what we wanted but more importantly he followed up to insure that we where happy. I was sometimes confused as to whom the staff were. Not only were the guest friendly the hotel staff was also accommodating. For example I was carryig more than a few bags and a staff asked if he could assist I polietly stated that I was ok less than a minute later a guest offered to assist as well. I accidently stumbled on this hotel. My getaway was always San Diego. Not anymore this is my Hidden paradise. I enjoyed the Hotel and its location but more importantly the Staff. Javid set the tone for an amazing stay. I was almost hesitant to write this only because I never want the Hotel to not be available.. I strongly suggest that you experience this Hotel for yourself. Also ask for Javid (Im not sure if he is the face of the Hotel but he should be) Enjoy

Room Tip: Ocean Front Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We're so glad you found us, Victor! You're right about our team—they're always happy to help, but it's good to see that our guests were just as friendly. We're lucky to have them! Thanks for the wonderful review, and please keep us in mind next time you need a little sun. I know Javid and the rest of our crew would love to have you back!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Like others have pointed out, the rooms are a little dated and possibly in need of modernisation, however, they are perfectly clean and comfortable. Yes, the air conditioning unit is old fashioned, noisy, and struggles to keep the room cool

Anywhere else, the points mentioned above could have affected the quality of your stay, but we specifically chose an ocean front room which meant that we could stand or sit out on our balcony looking at the beach and the ocean. Even better at night time we could sleep with the patio door open, just listening to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach below - perfect!

On one of the mornings we were enjoying our cup of coffee on the balcony when 3 dolphins cruised past probably not more than 50 yards from shore

Valet parking is standard as set out on the hotel's website, but even though the hotel was full, we never had any issues or delays in getting our car

Laguna Beach is a lovely little town with a number of great bars and restaurants and very friendly people

We stopped at Ralphs for some supplies, and although we didn't have the discount card, they did give us "an old world discount" - a very nice touch which we certainly wouldn't see in Tesco or other supermarkets in the UK

We would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tangerines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I'm so glad you were able to see the dolphins! They're really a sight to behold, especially from the comfort of the balcony. Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Laguna Beach, and for the kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next time you need a little sunshine!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place has deteriorated and they try to paint over the well worn facility. They have doubled their prices over the last 3 years and yet its getting worse. terrible customer service. no discounts for frequent stays. Last room we were in had torn curtains. 2 lights did not work and a door would not close. the carpets were filthy. Motel 6. , travel lodge, and holiday inn are a better deal for the money. you will be disappointed if you stay here. We started staying here in 2008 and it has gotten so bad over time. many better hotels to stay at for cheaper. The restaurant is now closed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

I'm surprised to hear about this, Bob, especially since it seems that you had enjoyed your previous stays. However, we are currently in the midst of implementing the necessary updates for our guests, and we look forward to the outcome of this project. We hope you'll be able to see our renovations for yourself next time you need to get away, but until then, thanks for your feedback.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Although slightly dated the hotel's location, cleanliness and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable. Great spot for those traveling on a budget, be aware the parking is valet only and not included in the cost of the room

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbhst3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

You just can't beat this location! Thanks for making us a part of your getaway. Keep us in mind next time you need a little sun!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We got a good deal with Westjet with a stay at this hotel and it was a really great hotel right on the water. We loved being on the beach and being able to walk to the main centre of town within 5 minutes. Laguna Beach was such a nice place to go to, to relax and not feel like you have to do anything. We walked along the beach and explored as far as we could. The hotel was just what we needed. Have cold water in the lobby and helpful staff who directed us around and called a cab for us. If you want to go to Disneyland, be prepared to spend a lot on a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Walking distance from the beach and town center and plenty of family fun—sounds like a blast! Thanks for getting away with us. We'd love to welcome you back next time you need a little sun!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I found Pacific Edge through Expedia, and took advantage of a good deal on a village-facing room with two double beds. When we arrived, Javid, the friendly and efficient person who greeted us at check-in, offered us a very reasonable upgrade to an ocean-facing room with a king bed. We took him up on the offer, and were thrilled by everything about that choice: the view from the balcony, the quality of the room in every detail, the sound of ocean waves and proximity to the beach, just a short flight of stairs away. We were on the first floor, so the (salt-water) pool and hot tub were also just a short walk away. The pool area is enclosed, but open to the sky, so it was a comfortable combination of indoor-outdoor feeling, and I especially enjoyed the salt-water (large) jacuzzi, without the smell of hot chlorine. In addition to the quality and location of the room, we enjoyed an excellent evening meal at The Deck, a highly-rated outdoor restaurant just a few steps from the hotel parking lot. We wouldn't have thought about upgrading if Javid hadn't presented the opportunity, and we are so glad we did. Our only regret was that we didn't stay two nights, but we'll correct that mistake next time. The Pacific Edge is so close to to shops and restaurants along Highway 1, that we want to take more time to enjoy the room, the beach, the view, and the sites next time.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the ocean-facing rooms in the new building closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cdiven23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We wish you had been able to stay a second night, too, but we're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit! Your kind words mean the world to us, so thanks for leaving them. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do to show you an even better time!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Javid helped us get set up and gave us a great rate for an ocean view room. Very polite staff and the view unbelievable, we slept with our patio door open all night. Having two kids we don't get to relax often but this was just what we needed. We can't wait to bring the kids next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelarothenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Javid will be so happy to hear from you, Pamela! It sounds like you had a very relaxing stay with us—what's better than falling asleep to the sound of the waves? Thanks for making us a part of your getaway, and please keep us in mind next time you need a little R & R!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#17 of 22 in Laguna Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £107 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing