We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the building and location of the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 1 January 2014

There are several buildings, some on the beach and some behind the beach front ones. We booked a room here based on its location. We had got a room in the back building and decided to go for the deluxe rather than the basic room. The deluxe featured a kitchenette, which was great because we like to eat breakfast in. The windows faced the back of the ocean front buildings, but you could glimpse the ocean between the buildings. The room on the other side of the building faced PCH and must have been very noisey all night.

Downside:
Kitchenette had seen better days, rust at the bottom of the fridge, worn cabinet finishes. You have to ask for dishes and utensils. All had seen better days.
One wall AC/heater with fan. This was the only ventilation source. Had to leave it on all day, otherwise the room got very stuffy.
Wifi never worked.
Bed side lamps switches where broken. Had to twist the bulbs to turn on and off.
Furniture was well worn and scuffed.
Window latches were broken, we were provided a wooden stick to secure the windows closed.
No elevator in our building. Awkward stair steps connecting the buildings. Watch your footing!!
Parking is an extra $24 per day.

Upside:
Location!! Access to the beach with chairs and sun umbrellas provided, 2 pools and 1 hot tub.
Near the center of town and all its activities.
10% off on local stores, restaurants and business.
Polite customer service. Great coffee at main enterance.
Parking in the residental area can be found in about 2 blocks.
Cleaning staff is excellent!!
Very quite even with the large number of families with young children.

In summary, we would stay here again for it's location on the beach side of PCH and proxcimity to the center of town. Some of the other buildings in this hotel complex seem to have been recently rennovated and the furnishings seem newer. But you have to have stayed here before to know which building is renovated and which one has not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeacenikAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Although it is clear that we were unable to offer you a five-star visit, it's very encouraging to see that you enjoyed your trip. I'm thrilled that you look forward to visiting us again, and I can assure you that you'll be very impressed once all of our renovations are complete. Until then, thanks for your honest feedback, and please let us know if you have any further suggestions—we're all ears!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We visited this hotel for several days in nov 2012, our family's first trip to disney and legoland. We booked on expedia, wanting a mid point between our two destinations. Upon arrival I was uneasy, as motels with the outside doors freak me out. Upon check in, we were greeted with the absolute best staff we have ever encountered! It is amazing, considering customer service in our country is declining rapidly. They truly appear to love their jobs, and we will return to this hotel next time we go to the area. Our children received a cute little bucket of sand toys, dinner on site with views and the serene sounds of ocean waves was awesome. The blankets they provided as the evening chilled in the semi outdoor restaurant were a thoughtful touch. The rooms aren't glitzy and are dated, but were very clean, and I felt like I was staying in an extremely laid back beach condo. Never again will I make assumptions just because of the exterior room access. We felt completely safe the entire trip, and I highly recommend any employer in the hospitality business send their staff to train with these amazing people. Heck, all of us can take a lesson from the level of respectful, kind, and accommodating service of the staff at this location. I am now wondering if we would experience the same at all join de fiver hotels? Kudos to you all, spread the love to the rest of the planet please!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Wow, April! We couldn't have asked for kinder words, especially regarding our staff. I'm thrilled that they made you and your family feel so welcome, and they're going to be even happier to know that, too. Thanks so much for the kind words, and for making us a part of your vacation. We'd love to welcome you back whenever you need a little R & R!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My amazing expierence started with the excellent Customer service at check in provided by Javid Bholat. He made sure that every question was answered, that our accommodations was what we wanted but more importantly he followed up to insure that we where happy. I was sometimes confused as to whom the staff were. Not only were the guest friendly the hotel staff was also accommodating. For example I was carryig more than a few bags and a staff asked if he could assist I polietly stated that I was ok less than a minute later a guest offered to assist as well. I accidently stumbled on this hotel. My getaway was always San Diego. Not anymore this is my Hidden paradise. I enjoyed the Hotel and its location but more importantly the Staff. Javid set the tone for an amazing stay. I was almost hesitant to write this only because I never want the Hotel to not be available.. I strongly suggest that you experience this Hotel for yourself. Also ask for Javid (Im not sure if he is the face of the Hotel but he should be) Enjoy

Room Tip: Ocean Front Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We're so glad you found us, Victor! You're right about our team—they're always happy to help, but it's good to see that our guests were just as friendly. We're lucky to have them! Thanks for the wonderful review, and please keep us in mind next time you need a little sun. I know Javid and the rest of our crew would love to have you back!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Like others have pointed out, the rooms are a little dated and possibly in need of modernisation, however, they are perfectly clean and comfortable. Yes, the air conditioning unit is old fashioned, noisy, and struggles to keep the room cool

Anywhere else, the points mentioned above could have affected the quality of your stay, but we specifically chose an ocean front room which meant that we could stand or sit out on our balcony looking at the beach and the ocean. Even better at night time we could sleep with the patio door open, just listening to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach below - perfect!

On one of the mornings we were enjoying our cup of coffee on the balcony when 3 dolphins cruised past probably not more than 50 yards from shore

Valet parking is standard as set out on the hotel's website, but even though the hotel was full, we never had any issues or delays in getting our car

Laguna Beach is a lovely little town with a number of great bars and restaurants and very friendly people

We stopped at Ralphs for some supplies, and although we didn't have the discount card, they did give us "an old world discount" - a very nice touch which we certainly wouldn't see in Tesco or other supermarkets in the UK

We would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tangerines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I'm so glad you were able to see the dolphins! They're really a sight to behold, especially from the comfort of the balcony. Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Laguna Beach, and for the kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next time you need a little sunshine!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This place has deteriorated and they try to paint over the well worn facility. They have doubled their prices over the last 3 years and yet its getting worse. terrible customer service. no discounts for frequent stays. Last room we were in had torn curtains. 2 lights did not work and a door would not close. the carpets were filthy. Motel 6. , travel lodge, and holiday inn are a better deal for the money. you will be disappointed if you stay here. We started staying here in 2008 and it has gotten so bad over time. many better hotels to stay at for cheaper. The restaurant is now closed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

I'm surprised to hear about this, Bob, especially since it seems that you had enjoyed your previous stays. However, we are currently in the midst of implementing the necessary updates for our guests, and we look forward to the outcome of this project. We hope you'll be able to see our renovations for yourself next time you need to get away, but until then, thanks for your feedback.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Although slightly dated the hotel's location, cleanliness and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable. Great spot for those traveling on a budget, be aware the parking is valet only and not included in the cost of the room

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbhst3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

You just can't beat this location! Thanks for making us a part of your getaway. Keep us in mind next time you need a little sun!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We got a good deal with Westjet with a stay at this hotel and it was a really great hotel right on the water. We loved being on the beach and being able to walk to the main centre of town within 5 minutes. Laguna Beach was such a nice place to go to, to relax and not feel like you have to do anything. We walked along the beach and explored as far as we could. The hotel was just what we needed. Have cold water in the lobby and helpful staff who directed us around and called a cab for us. If you want to go to Disneyland, be prepared to spend a lot on a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Walking distance from the beach and town center and plenty of family fun—sounds like a blast! Thanks for getting away with us. We'd love to welcome you back next time you need a little sun!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 23 in Laguna Beach
635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 23 in Laguna Beach
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £115 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing