We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Ranch at Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach Lodge(Laguna Beach)
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach House(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn At Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$516
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montage Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
US$836
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$794
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$840
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$742
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveller rating
582
397
197
160
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
397
197
160
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreef buildingocean frontsurf wingdeck restaurantdriftwood kitchenoceanfront roomvalet servicelounge chairssound of the waveshigh tideupon checkthe entire staffshops and restaurantsgrocery storebalconybeachlaguna
Filter
Updating list...
820 - 825 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My friend and I wanted to "run away from home" for a few days on our February break. She is a Principal and I am a high school teacher. We booked a room at the Pacific Edge in Laguna Beach.
The moment we walked into the lobby we were met with warmth, sincere friendliness, and lots of smiling faces. We were offered a fabulous upgrade and a complimentary bottle of wine and when we saw our room we knew we had made an awesome choice. EVERYTHING about our stay was perfect. The waves crashed right under our balcony and the sunsets were gorgeous! Nothing compares to being lulled to sleep by sound of waves.
Location, location, location! We were so close to all the best that Laguna has to offer so we walked everywhere. The "Deck" is a great place to eat with a friendly staff and another amazing view of the ocean.
Customer service is key to a good experience and this place "nailed it".
We vowed to make this our girl's retreat and we will visit often in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Sounds like you two really did deserve a beach getaway! Between these beautiful views, a few bottles of wine and excellent company, it sounds like you two had a great time here in Laguna Beach. Thanks for making us a part of your trip, Meg, and keep us in mind when you two need a little time away from the kiddos!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend to get away from work. We wanted an ocean view room with a balcony so we could sit and read all day.

Stacie at the front desk was wonderful. She gave us a warm welcome, answered all our questions, and gave great advice for local restaurants.

We stayed in the Surf building. NOTE: The Surf building is adjacent to the restaurant, The Deck, so if restaurant noise bothers you, stay in one of the other buildings. The noise didn't bother us at all. It was nice to hear the sounds of people laughing and socializing, and on Saturday there was a wedding so we had a free soundtrack. The restaurant closes at 10, so after that, all you hear are the waves on the beach. : )

The bed is very comfortable, shower had great water pressure, and they provide lovely toiletries. The only challenge was Saturday night, an outlet in our room started sparking at 2:00am. I called the front desk knowing that they wouldn't be able to take care of it until the next day, but the woman who answered apologized and thanked me for letting her know.

Very friendly staff, classic beach decor, and steps from the beach: all you need for a perfect beach getaway!

Recommended for: young couples, families, friends traveling together

Tip #1 When you arrive, pull around to valet (turn on Cleo, then right on Sleepy Hollow) It's easy to walk up to the lobby and then valet can start unloading your bags. You can park in the lot right in front, but pulling out into traffic can take a long time. Best to just go to valet.

Tip #2: Again, if you think restaurant noise will bother you, don't stay in the Surf building.

Tip #3: Make a pilgrimage to The Orange Inn, a restaurant that's been in Laguna since the 1930's. It's right next to the hotel. You can eat there or get your food to go. I recommend the cinnamon roll - especially if you can get one fresh out of the oven.

Tip #4: DO try to eat at The Deck during your stay. It's great for OC people watching.

Room Tip: 601 is a corner room. Amazing ocean/beach view, but near the restaurant. As soon as the restaurant closed, the only thing you can hear is the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleJisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Sounds like the perfect getaway! Thanks for making us a part of it, and for taking the time to share these wonderful tips—they'll definitely come in handy for our future guests! We can't wait to welcome you back, Elle. Until then, let us know if we can do anything to make your next trip even better!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 10 days last summer on a road trip off the Pacific Coast and stayed 2 nights in Laguna Beach at this hotel. Location is great and views are fabulous, deck restaurant has great views as well. The fodd was nothing special and the rooms were run down, definitely not what I woud expect for the cost of the place. I would invest my money eslewhere next time. Bathroom was one star roadside motel caliper. Over priced by far!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LK196276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We want all of our guests to feel welcome, so we're sorry you feel this way. However, we're currently completing the necessary renovations, and we're confident that you'll be amazed when they're finished. Still, we wish we could have resolved this during your stay, and we want to make this right. Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you'd like to discuss this further—we know we can do better than this.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in October 2011 to celebrate our anniversary. We had the oceanview room with a King size bed. During high tide the ocean was right under our balcony, which was awesome! We could always hear the beautiful and soothing sound of the waves crashing against the shore, and we had stunning views of the entire laguna, and the sunset. The entire hotel has a beachy/ summer theme, and there are surfboards, and really neat decor. The decor of the hotel was inspired by a surfing movie called "Endless Summer." Since staying here, we were so inspired that we bought a movie poster of "Endless Summer" and have it hanging on our wall in Canada to remind us of our time at Pacific Edge hotel.

The staff and service were excellent. I stepped on a bee on the beach, and one staff member was so genuinely concerned, and brought a bottle of wine to our room. Chocolate covered strawberries, champagne, and a thoughtful card wishing us a happy anniversary were also delivered to our room.

Some of the paint was chipped but it all added to the beach charm of this place. If you are looking for a perfect luxury boutique hotel, don't come here. If you are looking for excellent service, breathtaking views, a perfect location, comfort, romance, charm and character, this is the place for you!

This review is quite late, but after 2 and a half years, we still think very fondly of this hotel and Laguna Beach, and would love to return someday.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room for sure!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Sunset and the sound of the waves—it doesn't get more California than that! I'm absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your vacation, despite running into that bee on the beach. That's not a fun surprise, so I hope you're feeling better! Moving on to your review, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind words. Knowing that you felt at home means the world to us! We're looking forward to your next visit, too, but until then, please let us know if there's anything we can do to make it even better!

All the best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

As previously noted, the rooms are dingy, worn, and noisey. The room we'd booked had rickety aluminum windows that amplified the noisey street it faced. The toilet didn't flush, the two double beds extended to the limits of the room space meaning a person of average build would be scuttling sideways to get to the tiny, 1970s bathroom.

We were told we could upgrade to an apartment for $50 more per night. This room had a better window to the street so there was less noise but the moment we walked in, we saw the cracked kitchen tiles, the shoddy old cabinets (completely empty of dishes, silverware, cleaning supplies. The furniture was old and torn, the sofa bad unacceptably flimsy and without linens. Again, rickety aluminum sliding doors provided no insulation from the noise of the large group of teens using the luggage racks as scooters, as the valet guy looked on impassively. The desk clerk has a rollaway bed to use instead.

Access to the beach is through a circuitous tangle of concrete, canyon-like walkways. Oh, and the beachside deck for all hotel guests--the one place we might get to observe those fabled frolicking porpoises--that's reserved all day by a group.

All this would be fine if we were staying at a friend's funky cottage or saving a few bucks on a discount hotel. But this is purported to be a nice place. We were really looking forward to a splurge, staying in a much nicer -- and more expensive -- than our usual.

In the end, a huge disappointment.

Look elsewhere, folks.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HikBikski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Yes, this is quite disappointing, especially since it seems like you were really looking forward to your getaway. Although we're in the midst of renovating all of our rooms, it seems that we were unable to book you a newly renovated suite. I apologize for that, but I want to make this right for you. If you'd like to discuss this further, please email me at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com. I'm confident that we have what it takes to show you an unforgettable getaway!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews