We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accommodations with unbeatable ocean views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice accommodations with unbeatable ocean views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A friend and I were looking for true ocean front rooms in Laguna Beach and found exactly what we wanted with Pacific Edge. We stayed on the third floor of the updated Surf Wing and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were beautiful and had lovely balconies overlooking an expansive view of the Pacific Ocean. We both thoroughly enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves.

My only criticism is with the connecting rooms. I apparently had a connecting room with a young couple who I could clearly hear having a "special" time one afternoon. Other than that, everything was great and I can't wait to go back.

We also enjoyed the beachfront restaurant. We only had a couple of cocktails and an appetizer, but service was good and the food was tasty.

Room Tip: The Surf Wing has newly renovated rooms and are beautiful. For the best view, request a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carib0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Love that Surf Wing! It sounds like you had a lovely view, and we're delighted that you were able to fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves. There's nothing more relaxing! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your feedback about the rooms. We'll keep that in mind! Until next time, thanks for the fabulous review. Looking forward to having you back!

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    374
    168
    141
    129
See reviews for
383
530
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The valet service was fast and friendly but all other service was disorganized and poor. Our room was tiny and had a urine smell. The towel bar came out of the wall and the quality of the room was poor overall for the price. The restaurant on site did have good food but was too small for this size hotel. It was extremely overcrowded. The cleanliness of the grounds was also poor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I'm shocked to learn of the state of your room, Jennifer. I wish we could have moved you while you were staying with us, so please don't hesitate to ask next time. In the meantime, we want to make this right, so email us at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com if you'd like to discuss this further.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this place, due to the views .. We were not disappointed!, travelling all the way from Scotland , we love the USA , so we worked our way down the west coast. Stunning coast, BUT, the hotel was so, so disappointing !, we paid a great deal to stay 3 nights for a sea view, but the wood chop decor, the state of the run down room, no hot water for 36 hours!!, generally dirty state !. For such a stunning location , it seemed this hotel was too reliant on the view !. I spoke to the manager , he was apologetic and told me I would be I would receive a refund, 6 months on and still waiting!!. I would recommend to use a better hotel, this was like a British butlins!!. Avoid and book better, but the scenery was just beautiful!.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Although it's nice to hear that you loved our view, we wish that you were more impressed with your room. Since your visit 6 months ago, we have updated & renovated the oceanfront rooms that I know you will be impressed with. It's unfortunate that we couldn't refund you in a more timely manner, and we want to take care of this right away. Please email our Front Office Manager Brian Sullivan at bsullivan@jdvhotels.com so we can get your billing addressed. We know we have what it takes to make this right.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Got the hotel for Sat & Sun of Memorial weekend. I was told we would not have an ocean view for
$200.00 a night, that's including parking. It being a holiday weekend I understood that.
But I was not prepared for room #52.
This room had one tiny window that faced a wall, and if you opened the drapes people in the hallway, pool area, parking area, and balcony's off the facing building could see in.
The room was tiny, in two steps you hit the bed. there was not even a chair to sit in. (not enough room). The Shower was tiles were cracked, and the window seal had bad water damage.
On a good note all staff were very nice.
Jerry

Room Tip: Do accept room # 52!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsbforucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I'm sorry your room fell short of your expectations. As you mentioned, you visited during a busy holiday weekend, and we had a limited number of rooms available. From your description, it seems that your bathroom needs some attention so thank you for letting us know the room number. Still, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to have another chance to show you a fabulous getaway soon. After all, our location can't be beat!

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located right on the beach and walking distance to everything else. The staff are amazing and make-up for the minimum maintenance and upgrades that have been left out of the rooms. We had a two rooms, one facing the pool and a shared suite that faced the ocean. The main front room that faced the beach was fantastic! Well decorated, well lit and included a mini-bar/kitchen area and an updated bathroom. The other room was definitely meant for children and possible step-children. There were two beds and no chairs. The bathroom caulk was peeling and I could see into our neighbor's shower. The air conditioners were noisy and you had to close the windows and lose the ocean breeze and sound of the waves because of your neighbor's A/C. But wait a minute, we are on vacation and we are still on the beach and the have a heated pool and everybody is smiling, etc. I would gladly go back! Whether I get to stay in the swanky suites or the kiddy rooms that feel like punishment; the location, location, location of this hotel make any and all vacations extremely relaxing, pleasing and MUST GO & STAY!! Do ENJOY your day.

Room Tip: If you will be spending day time in your room, you want a view. If you are out and about all day, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb321gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
You really can't beat our location! Although I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it, I wish you had been more impressed with our rooms. However, we appreciate that feedback, and we'll definitely keep it in mind moving forward. Thanks, and we'll see you next time you need to get away!

All the best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am originally from SoCal. I miss Laguna Beach and when I have a chance go for a visit. A couple of years back we tried the Pacific Edge hotel. It is right next to one of my favorite restaurants the Beach House. It turned out to be the perfect location. It is easy to walk to the main beach or just enjoy the beach right below. We kept the sliding doors to our balcony open all night and at high tide the water reached the base of the building....on clear days we could see Catalina Island. There are lots of cafes and restaurants near by and the grocery store on the corner caters to the hotel dwellers with fun take away food options and a good wine selection. I will be returning here again and again!!!

Room Tip: I like the room with the ocean view and balcony...totally worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We can't wait to have you back again, Laurin! Until next time, thanks for the fantastic review. We'll be here when you're ready to relax!

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love this hotel. Beachy feel with a great location. You're just steps to the sand. Service is good. Location can't be beat. Love it. Perfect for a quick couple getaway or for families or for friends. Pool is nice for a quick dip after swimming in the ocean. You're close enough to town to just park your car and walk to dinner and then take a lot lovely stroll back to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimimeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Excellent! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation, and we hope to welcome you back for years to come. Until then, thanks for the lovely review!

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing