We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views if you pay Top Dollar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
2 reviews
“Nice views if you pay Top Dollar!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a weekend here after searching for a true ocean front property. Wet did get our wish, sliding doors open, wonderful sound of the ocean. Otherwise, a very strange hotel layout (really an old motel fixed up). Room was quaint, but small. Loud AC old fashioned wall units. Luckily is was cool in the evenings..1st room they assigned us was right next to the outdoor shower and 3 stairwells, including the one that comes up from the beach. A big NO thanks on that one. They did move us, with lots of begging.. Lots of rust and weathering on the railings and a little run down. Great overall concept for the place, but for $500+ per night, we would have rather stayed up the hill at the Ritz for the same price..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenninDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I'm sorry if you felt you had to fight for a different room. That shouldn't have been the case, so I'm going to look into this right away. Despite that, it sounds like you enjoyed most of your stay, and I hope you'll give us a chance to show you an even better time once our renovations are complete. I know you'll love it!

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    381
    172
    146
    134
See reviews for
399
544
50
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've never taken the time to write a review but feel compelled to do so this time. Started with NO offers of help getting bags to our room. Then came the room shock. My "room with a view" is about a 200 sq foot hole in the wall facing an alleyway and the back of the building that does have a view. There is a huge gap between the door and the doorframe where anything could come crawling in; not to mention the noise level. I found the rooms to be stinky and downright gross. The restaurant is NOT kid friendly and is uber expensive. What you see online is NOT what you get and I should have took that advice. Big mistake coming here and not how I wish I was ending my CA vaca....not looking forward to another night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebratamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
While some of our rooms are in the midst of receiving the necessary upgrades, we have never found them to be in the condition you've described. Which room did you stay in? We want to know more about this so we can make this right, so don't hesitate to reach out if you want to discuss this further. We know we can do better than this.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Reserved beach front room to hear waves but all I heard in evening time is the back of the fan from the room next to me which sat right on my balcony.
Room was not clean when I got there and a comb that did not belong to me sat under my bathroom sink my entire stay. My maid NEVER stepped on the balcony or wiped any glass windows. The maids there when it was Vacation Village did it ALL! The manager one night told me its the same maids. If that's the case, my maid that showed up Monday morning must have started to work when she was 15 years old.
For the price of that room I expected much more. I have 4 children and am a part time teacher aid so I only get to take one trip a year. This was it. The families I travel with every year stayed in the cheaper rooms to save money, but like I said, this was it for MY family. I have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years. I feel like my kids grew up here so I find comfort in the location of this hotel but I liked it better when it was Vacation Village.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
It's so disappointing that you left feeling this way, Rita, especially since you have such fond memories of visiting with your family. However, it's clear that we've fallen short -- your room should have been in much better condition, and it's upsetting that our housekeeping staff didn't do more to impress you. This isn't OK with us, and we hope we can make it right. Please don't hesitate to email us at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com so we can do just that.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We've gone to Laguna every summer for over 20 years. This time we thought we'd try Pacific Edge cause Joie de Vivre has a good reputation. Well they need to do more to improve this place, which used to be Vacation Village! Despite what is shown on their website the room we got was literally 200 sq feet looking at the side of the building next door. The closet had a curtain. The tiny closet sized bathroom tile grout was staring to break up, even though this was one of the renovated rooms. After complaining, which we heard other guests also doing, they offered us some ice. After complaining again, we were moved to another room on day 2 of 3. One of the un-renovated rooms, it was nicer with a larger bathroom and a partial view of the ocean, but thin walls.
On the good side, the beach was nice. The restaurant Driftwood was very good. And the Valet guys were very helpful with the car ($24/day and moving our luggage).
I will not return to this property.

Room Tip: Be prepared to complain and check the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDHTarzana_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
While we are currently in the midst of making the necessary updates, it appears that we still have some work to do. I'm very sorry that we fell short, especially considering how long you've been visiting us, and I hope we'll have a chance to make this right soon. Please email me at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com -- we wouldn't want to lose you over this.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Paim the extra money for the junior suite. Sometimes the sound of the ocean is almost too loud!!! What a fabulous view in every direction.
Everyone tries their best to make your stay the very best. Everyone smiles and is pleasant. The front destk supervisor, Bryan Dougherty is wonderful and goes out of his way to take care of each and every request.
Yes, some of the accomodations are a bit worn and dated...but this place is a perfect place to relax and renew.
Can't wait for our next trip back!!!

Room Tip: Spend the $$ and get an ocean front room in the Reef Building or the Junior Suites in the Reef Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2ruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Nothing's more relaxing than the sound of the waves! Thanks for coming away with us, and for the wonderful review. We can't wait to see you again next year -- or sooner! ;)

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We checked in this afternoon, arrived 45 mins early and it was no problem at all. Our room, an oceanfront junior suite, is just simply amazing. We are in this room for three night then will be spending two nights in their "Pacific Suite", the nicest room on the property. I'm so glad that I worked the extra hours that I did in order to pay for our dream vacation. Amazing beach access, we saw dolphins from our balcony 10 mins after first walking into our room. I'd just give two words of advice, BOOK IT! And to the staff of PE please keep up the great service!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmK9447PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
That's great advice, David! ;) So glad that you loved your stay, and that you were able to see the dolphins from your balcony -- I hope you got some photos of that! Thanks for singing our praises. When will we get to have you back?

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is truly a Motel 6 charging big bucks. We booked a village view room and actually had a nice view of the ocean from the balcony but the room is utterly disappointing. From the gross carpet on the floor to the 1970s bathroom, it was really just a big letdown. BIG LETDOWN!! They were our of beach towels all day. What beachfront hotel that charges $400 night doesn't buy enough beach towels? Motel 6. There are many better places to stay in Laguna Beach. Don't do it!!

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dan,

Although some of our rooms have yet to receive the necessary updates, we are confident that our quality far surpasses that of the average motel chain. I'm sorry you were disappointed, and that we ran out of beach towels, but I can assure you that what you experienced is completely out of the ordinary. As such, I know we can do better, and I hope we'll have a chance to prove it to you during your next stay in Laguna Beach. If you have any further questions, don't hesitate to email me at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing