We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Essex,uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautiful view but the hotel itself could be improved. There were improvements going on as we were staying but for the price they were charging one would expect that these should have already been done. The first night and following day after we arrived there was no hot water. This was a nightmare for us as we were travelling with a small child who needed medicated bath oil for eczema and consequently became quite sore. The receptionist was not very apologetic and offered us another room to be able to have a shower- not helpful with a child under the age of 2. I was also annoyed that all we received was an apology. Hot water is a basic need and especially for a hotel that charges these prices. On the whole though the location is to die for which is why I rated a 3 and we still had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeva90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
HI Zeva90,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. You're absolutely right -- hot water is such a basic part of your stay, and we should have been far more helpful when we tried to offer you a solution, especially considering your little one's bath time routine. I'm so sorry we fell short, but I want to make this right. Do you remember the receptionist's name?

Hope to speak with you soon,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    378
    171
    145
    129
See reviews for
390
541
50
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Staying in room 308 in the Seas building and it is awful! Hotter than Las Vegas, no clock in the room, toilet runs, I can hear the entire conversation in the adjoining room, and that is just the beginning. Complete disappointment and $400 for this dump is ridiculous. I stayed in room 20 two months ago. While not luxurious, it was clean, well taken care of and I was completely satisfied! That's why I returned. The staff this visit is also completely in attentive but last visit they were amazing as well.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucki7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your most recent visit. We wouldn't want anyone to be uncomfortable, so I hope we were able to address these issues during your stay, especially the AC and toilet. Let me know if we didn't get a chance to make this right -- I know we can do better than this. Email me at bookpacificedge(at)jdvhotels(dot)com if you want to discuss this further.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I am quite surprised by some of the reviews that aren't so good. This place was great. Yes, it is not as new and updated as some hotels, and it is a little funky, but you could not ask for better staff or a better location to town.The front desk staff was great, the valet staff is second to none, and the housekeepers were all very accommodating and friendly. When we called the valet to get our car, on most occasions they asked if they could bring it to our room. Once, when I thought I had gotten a nick on the car door, the valet went to his own car to get some rubbing compound. Luckily, it was only some gunk on the door. The only thing that marred the stay was a couple next door who must not have been able to read the no smoking signs! Great stay. We would certainly return and recommend it to our friends.

Previously we stayed at another beachfront hotel in Laguna Beach for years but their comparable rates are now over $300 per nite more than the Pacific Edge.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for taking the time to share your story -- we can't wait to pass your kind words along to our team. Keep us in mind next time you need to unwind. We'd love to have you back!

Regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed in room 105...one of the strangest rooms I have ever stayed in. Can't have the curtains open because anyone walking past can see in the room. The whole place smells of mold and is nasty. I know this is the beach but I have stayed at surf and sand, the ritz and st regIs and none were like this. Kitchen is out do the 50's and I wouldn't even get in the shower. Slept with a chair under the door handle and can't wait to leave in the mornimg. No closet just a rail in the corner of the room, nasty dirty broken furniture, and a tv that doesn't work. Only consolation is the bed was clean, otherwise I would have given one star. There is a lot better in the area.

Room looks nothing like the pictures on the website.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank englishgalinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi englishgalinusa,

I apologize that you had this experience with our hotel, I'm really surprised that you left feeling so disappointed. We definitely would have been happy to look into these issues during your stay, as we'd never want anyone to be uncomfortable. Were you able to speak to anyone about this? Let me know -- I want to make this right, and I know we can do better.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel for over 30 years. My mom fell in love here and brought me here as a child. I continued the tradition by bringing the man of my dreamshere, who would later propose to me in room 115 of the reef tower overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean.the entire hotel staff was in on the proposal and it was one of the happiest days of my life. Of course, we immediately planned out a way to get married there, it only seemed natural.I rented the entire surf wing and reef tower and had the wedding of my dreams; with white icicle lights that lit up every balcony and up the palm tree, over 5000 rose petals gently placed onto the wood deck, I married the man of my dreams. Most of the staff attended my wedding and I remember thinking "there is no more beautiful place on earth." Since that day we have spent many anniversaries and I have raised my children coming to the beach and staying at this hotel. We have made many new friends that we now call them part of our family. We stay there at least two to three times a year and I recommend it highly to anybody that is considering a beachfront romantic or family vacation. The entire staff is extremely courteous and accommodating and always greets me with a warm smile. If you can say that there's a heaven on earth, I would say.... this is it! I love you Pacific Edge...
Love, Your favorite and best customer!
Craig and Marie Tomao

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marietomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We have to admit -- reading your story brought a tear to our eye! It's such an honor to know that you've not only made many childhood memories here, but also that you and your husband have formed new ones with your own family. What a beautiful tradition, Marie! Thanks for sharing that with us, and please let us know if there's anything else we can do to make all your visits special!

All the best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Joie de Vivre never lets me down on my birthday -- this summer, I had a good room upgrade with partial view of the ocean. Traveling light, I declined bellhop services in checking in but was pleased to tip the valet parking attendant for helping me check out. A regret -- the former Beach House restaurant next door no longer serves breakfast during the week, but a small restaurant nearby was satisfactory.

Room Tip: Best way to get a preferred room is to become a Joy of Life Club member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CineasteHollywood_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Sounds like you had a fabulous stay! Thanks for celebrating your big day with us -- we can't think of a better way to ring in another year. :) See you next time you need a little time away from it all!

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a weekend here after searching for a true ocean front property. Wet did get our wish, sliding doors open, wonderful sound of the ocean. Otherwise, a very strange hotel layout (really an old motel fixed up). Room was quaint, but small. Loud AC old fashioned wall units. Luckily is was cool in the evenings..1st room they assigned us was right next to the outdoor shower and 3 stairwells, including the one that comes up from the beach. A big NO thanks on that one. They did move us, with lots of begging.. Lots of rust and weathering on the railings and a little run down. Great overall concept for the place, but for $500+ per night, we would have rather stayed up the hill at the Ritz for the same price..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenninDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I'm sorry if you felt you had to fight for a different room. That shouldn't have been the case, so I'm going to look into this right away. Despite that, it sounds like you enjoyed most of your stay, and I hope you'll give us a chance to show you an even better time once our renovations are complete. I know you'll love it!

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Property: Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing