We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't find a better location for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed 30 March 2009

I recently stayed at the Pacific Edge for our week long family vacation. The access to the beach and other Laguna attractions was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful as well. The convenience of the grocery store across the street was also a plus. I would recommend staying at the Pacific Edge to anyone who is looking for a nice relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utahtravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

I love this hotel, it is my new favorite in Laguna Beach. We stayed in room 118 in the reef building, it is the lowest floor, closest to the sand. This building is the closest to the surf available, the only downside is that there is no elevator in this building. Between walking through the hills of town and up and down the stairs, I was worn out <smile> They offer an array of pillows to choose from, delivered to your room. The room has goose down pillows in the room (which gave me a raging allergy headache the first night, so if you have allergies, ask for a different pillow right off) Room service would be nice, but without a restaurant on the premises, that would be difficult. The beach house restaurant is only steps away from your room though and serves breakfast lunch and dinner. The only other thing this hotel could use is a continental breakfast. Otherwise, my stay was glorious and I will be coming back for sure. I also want to mention that we told them that it was our anniversary and they booked us the best room and also had champagne delivered to the room! We didn't swim in the pool but it was very cold outside when we came (a cold front blew through on our trip) and there was still kids swimming, so it must have been warm. They have a large hot tub and a recreation room. Overall it is a great place to stay, the staff is EXTRA friendly and the bed was comfy. The sound of the waves lull you to sleep and you get to see sea creatures constantly right at your balcony. (seals and dolphins) tidepools are right outside the hotel too. It was a great stay, thank you Pacific Edge, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Our friends and family have Vacationed in Laguna many times over the past 30 years.
We have stayed in Vacation Village, which is now Pacific Edge. My children now come here to vacation. The hotel is clean, the management is terrific and it is an excellent value. It is the "the best time ever"

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past. It used to be called Vacation Village (I think that's the name) and has recently been updated and renamed the Pacific Edge. The updates are refreshing with new decor. The location is fanatastic! There are many other hotels right on the beach but the Pacific Edge offers a terrific value as the rates are much lower than the others. The staff is friendly and helpful (especially Cindy and Michael at the front desk). The manager, Paul, is very responsive to any concerns you may have and they all seem to go above and beyond. These are older buildings so the walls tend to be thin, but travelers should bring some earplugs or the hotel has them too. We had an ocean view room in the building closest to the street and still could hear the beautiful ocean waves. There are fancier, more upscale hotels for sure, but for the excellent value at the Pacific Edge, it will always be my choice!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wnjskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The view says it all. We never closed our back door. Heard the ocean all night. Could have thrown the hotel pen in the ocean; that is how close the room is. Great place. Will go back again. Only down fall is parking is tough.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neomrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I had a room that opened to the highway, which was much too noisy. If you can get a room blocked from the road noise, the stay would have been excellent! Great location, very accomodating service, and love the local flavor.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The hotel is old. The room has funky smell. It's very noisy. On Saturday night, actions from the street were on until well past 2 AM.

Parking is terrible. It's very difficult to park an SUV. It certainly is not a "luxury" hotel as advertised on the hotel' web site.

We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moodang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: £107 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing